Testimonials 2024

  • Testimonials 2024

Amazing!

Jan 2024 • Family

We had a very happy and fulfilling time. Dan is very responsible, polite, knowledgeable and very kind person! We will definitely recomend the tour to all our friends.

 

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written January 3, 2024

 

Giornata favolosa!

Jan 2024 • Couples

 

Ho prenotato questo tour insieme al mio compagno e non avremmo potuto fare una scelta migliore! La nostra guida Dan è una persona incredibilmente gentile, preparata, attenta e disponibile. Dan ci ha fatto trascorrere una bellissima giornata ricca di visite rendendo il nostro viaggio in Romania ancora più bello e interessante.

 

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written January 2, 2024

 

Highly recommended tour.

Jan 2024 • Solo

This tour was magnificent. I loved the countryside, the drive through little villages along the way. It was made possible due to my tour guide Charlie.
He was professional, knowledgeable, patient. At no time was I rushed. It was a relaxed tour. I highly recommend not only this magical tour, but Charlie as well!

 

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written January 5, 2024

 

Just incredible

Jan 2024 • Couples

Just amazing, the guide was awesome, the price is perfect and they have treated us better than everything.
Thank you for a great day and for letting us take back home one more great memory.

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written January 14, 2024

 

Highly recommended

We went with Charlie. From the beginning everything was clear and simple. Was on time. It was an unforgettable day!!! And it wouldn’t have been without Charlie. He is a welcoming, friendly, funny, knows what he’s talking about and an amazing man. We could get another tour just for the sake of meeting him again.

Regarding the events itself, highly recommended for everyone visiting Romania. The peles castle is not like anything we have seen before. Bran castle has a different aesthetic and amazing details. And don’t miss the view at the fortress.

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written January 17, 2024

 

Nice tour

Jan 2024 • Solo

The tour was really nice I enjoyed it. Tiberiu has a lot of experience and explained the history very well. It ended around noon so it went a bit quick and therefore a bit expensive

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

 

Interesting and well-organised

My guide, Dan, was punctual, knowledgeable and super helpful. He taught me a lot about the history of Braşov and even shared his personal experiences growing up here. I loved the tour and learnt a lot from Dan.

 

Review of: Brasov Old Town Small-Group Walking Tour

 

Recommend

Feb 2024 • Solo

I’m glad that I picked this tour of a small group, during the tour I knew a lot from our tour guide Tiberiu who has a deep knowledge of history and culture of Romania. Of course, the landscape is gorgeous, and the castles are very beautiful.

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 2, 2024

 

Small group trip

Feb 2024 • Solo

I made a trip to Peles Castle, Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Our guide Tibiu was amazing! He explains everything about those monuments but also the history from Romania, the life before and after communism.... Just do this trip with Tibiu! You ' re going to enjoy!

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 3, 2024

 

Living the magnificence of Peles & Bran’s Castle mystery

Jan 2024 • Solo

It was very good! The guide was knowledgeable of the places, history … food… etc! Provided recommendations and answers to all questions! Dan was a great company … and as a bonus … he is a great photographer!!! Thanks Dan!

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 4, 2024

 

Peles Castle Bran Castle

This was the best experience! Our travel guide Dan was the real deal. He was so knowledgeable about not only the history of all the castles, but also the history of Romanian life under communism. He was personable and even serenaded us. We made a friend for life and recommend this trip to anyone. Dan might do hundreds of these tours but I feel like he won’t forget us and we won’t ever forget him and this experience.

 

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 12, 2024

 

Friendly, experienced and sincere guide

Tiberiu is the best guide ever. He is very experienced, sincere and friendly. He even took me to buy hiking shoes because mine was not good for the hiking. He takes wonderful pictures also. I’ll give him a 10 out of 10.

 

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip in Romanian Authentic Mountain Villages from Brasov

Written February 12, 2024

 

A medieval Transylvanian experience not to be missed...

Feb 2024 • Family

A highly recommended tour if you are not planning on renting a car, it is definitely worth seeing these three Transylvanian gems...Our guide Charlie, who spoke excellent English, was very friendly, told us a lot of information during the tour and made our day very memorable....

 

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written February 16, 2024

 

Wonderful trip through the Carpathians

Feb 2024 • Solo

A wonderful trip with a great guide. I had Dan. He was well informed and interesting - a pleasure to spend the day with. He was very helpful and one of the best guides I’ve had. I’ll definitely be recommending him and your company to others in the future

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 17, 2024

 

Excellent trip

Feb 2024 • Solo

I had a wonderful experience visiting Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress, and then a fortified church on the way back to Braşov. Our guide, Charlie, was thoughtful and funny. I enjoyed hearing about the folklore he learned from his grandmother as a child; it helped you see how much these stories are still part of the local culture. Easy pickup, comfortable car, and lots of good conversation. I don’t usually take tours but I’m glad I did this one, since I met some really nice people and saved myself the stress of multiple public bus transfers. I felt very comfortable as a solo woman traveler, too.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written February 25, 2024

 

Amazing trip, perfect tour guide

Mar 2024 • Family

Amazing trip, could not have been luckier with Dan as our tour guide. He was very professional and made everything interesting and fun. Would highly recommend. If we would change anything we would maybe skip Cantacuzino castle, but everything else was very interesting to see.

Review of: Peles and Cantacuzino Castles Small Group Day Tour from Brasov

Written March 8, 2024

 

Good stuff

Went with a friend. They picked us up and dropped us off in Brasov. Had a good time - we had a good amount of time in the hide, we saw bears and foxes. Lovely hide location, anfd the staff were friendly and experienced.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written March 11, 2024

 

Fantastic day

Mar 2024 • Couples

Activity Tour did a fantastic tour for us! Charlie our guide is so knowledgeable and has a great sense of humor he made it all enjoyable! We had some issues with our booking and they worked it all for us. I highly recommend this tour we learned so much!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written March 14, 2024

 

Highly recommend!

Mar 2024 • Family

Our trip with Charlie was wonderful. He was very educated on the history of the area and let us go at our pace for the tour. It was a great day and I highly recommend.

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written March 16, 2024

 

Highly recommend this wonderful day out in Transylvania

Had a wonderful day exploring the Transylvanian countryside and learning the fascinating history of the peasant castle of Rupea, the fortified church of Viscri and the lovely little town of Sighisoara. Our guide Charlie was fantastic - showing us around, pointing out little details, patiently answering all our questions, and making the experience feel like a fun day out with a friend. Highly recommend this tour!

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written March 23, 2024

 

Trekking in the Carpathian mountain's

I booked a day trekking trip for myself and my son to see the beauty of the Carpathians  mountains.
We certainly were not disappointed, our guide Mihai was first class in every way and gave us a detailed safety talk before we commenced then pointed out the amazing flora and forna along the way.
All in all probably the highlight of our trip to Brasov

Review of: Piatra Craiului National Park Private Hiking Tour from Brasov

Written March 27, 2024

 

Very knowledgeable, excellent experience

Mar 2024 • Solo

My tour guide was Tiberiu. He was extremely knowledgeable, I learned a lot both about the attractions and about the local history, including my own roots (my parents left Romania at the end of Ceausescu's regime, so I had a lot of questions about the country and its ethnicities which I'm also a mix of).

I opted to only go to Bran castle and Rasnov fortress, the latter of which was closed, but it was still cool to see from the outside and learn about old military strategies and history. Then we still got back to Brasov with plenty of time for me to work at my remote job :)

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written March 28, 2024

 

Recommendable

Visiting the wilderness to see bears in their natural habitat was an great experience, especially so close to Brasov! Our guide was not only knowledgeable, providing a wealth of information about these magnificent creatures, but also ensured our safety and comfort throughout. It was truly awesome to observe the bears up close, in the wild, where they belong.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written March 29, 2024

 

A must do!

I had the most wonderful time! My guide Charlie was super knowledgeable and easy to be around! Even though I was the only one who booked the tour that particular day I felt incredibly comfortable and learned so much about the castles and the local history. I would recommend this experience to everybody! It’s incredible value for the money! Thank you so much Charlie for such a lovely day! Hope to come back in the future to book one of the other tours that the company offers.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written March 30, 2024

 

Perfect tour to explore rural sights

Mar 2024 • Solo

Great tour with Charlie as guide, very informative, great English. Most important didn’t felt rushed at all and Charlie explained sights & spots perfectly.

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written March 30, 2024

 

Highly recommended

Apr 2024 • Solo

Very happy with the tour and my guide Tiberiu. I was the only one on this tour today which was a nice surprise. Castle Bran felt a little sanitised and Disneyish but that is my fault for not researching and expecting a monument to impalements and Transylvanian wilderness.

The Saxon fortified churches were amazing, I've never seen anything like them and probably never will again, wonderfully preserved pieces of cultural heritage. While Castle Bran was quite busy these churches were almost deserted.

Tiberiu provided a great deal of information and had the patience and knowledge to answer all 1000 of my questions. This is the only tour I splurged on in 10 weeks backpacking Europe and it was money well spent.

Review of: Experience the History of Bran Castle and Saxon Fortifications in Burzenland

Written April 2, 2024

 

A great vacation

This was a wonderful tour. We had a small group and all had a wonderful time. Our driver was also our guide. He was very professional but also very personal with the group. He gave a great tour with lots of information. We have time for pictures too.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 3, 2024

 

Magical.

What an experience! We were met at the pickup point by Alin, our guide, who then drove us to the Forrest, about 50 minutes away.

Alin stopped off at a point just before our final stop for a toilet break, we then drove up a track for around 10 minutes, stopped and walked for about 10 to 15 minutes to the hide.

Chairs are provided in the hide, so you're relatively comfortable and you basically keep very quiet and observe the ground in front of you.

After an hour and twenty minutes some ravens suddenly took off, this was followed almost instantly by a big Brown Bear, utterly amazing. A few minutes later another one turned up. We watched them for a good while before heading back.

These bears are completely in the wild, which makes this tour absolutely fantastic and Alin, our guide is very knowledgeable and obviously passionate about what he does. I would definitely recommend it.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 4, 2024

 

Great tour

Apr 2024 • Solo

The tour was great, starting early enough to visit the Bran Castle as soon as it opened and with no people nor queue.
Charlie was great and very nice. We visited Bran Castle and Rasnov fortress, not the Peles castle because it was closed on that day.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 7, 2024

 

What an amazing day !

Apr 2024 • Couples

This tour is fantastic!. We visited Bran Castle and Peles Castle, both were truly magical. I had never heard of Peles Castle before, but I can honestly say it was one of the best historical houses I have ever visited in the world. Charlie (Karoly)our guide from Active Travel was fabulous, his knowledge was brilliant. He spoke English perfectly and had a great sense of humour! I would recommend this tour.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 7, 2024

 

100% Recommend Active Travel Romania

Apr 2024 • Couples

We did three trips with Active Travel Romania (Bran+Rasnov+Peles, The private hike, Tour of Sighișoara) and every one of them was absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend booking with this agency - Charlie in particular made our trip to Romania funny and memorable, thank you! I will forever remember how to correctly ask for a coke with lemon...

Would absolutely recommend booking with these guys.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 8, 2024

 

Best experience!

Apr 2024 • Couples

Fabulous! Saw 6 bears in the wild. It was a truly amazing experience and the reason for our trip to Romania. Loved every minute. !

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 8, 2024

 

Magical experience seeing wild animals in their natural habitat

Apr 2024 • Couples

This is a fantastic experience which we would really recommend.

Alin, our guide, was very knowledgeable and interesting explaining all about the bears in Romania and how they live, as well as the people's relationship with them.

The hide is comfortable with seating and some binoculars provided.

We were warned before the experience that they cannot guarantee a sighting - these are wild animals after all! - but we were extremely lucky as there was already a bear waiting for us when we arrived and there was lots of bear activity for most of the time we were at the hide.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 12, 2024

 

Great day full of history

Apr 2024 • Couples

We booked the full day tour with the visit to Peles.

This was a fantastic day visiting three of the maim sights in the area, which are all very different showing different aspects of Transylvania's history.

Our guide Charlie was extremely knowledgeable and informative about all of the sights and obviously really enjoyed sharing his knowledge. He also stopped off at the Sinaia monastery on the way so he could show us more! Charlie was great fun and very entertaining.

We would recommend this as a great way to see as much of the area as possible in a day, thank you Charlie.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 12, 2024

 

Fantastic day in the beautiful landscapes of Transylvania

Nice tour with beautiful landscapes and an excellent guide☀️. Our guide Alina picked us up from our hotel in Braşov and we went straight in to the Königstein ( Piatra Craiulu) national park. After arrival we started our 3 hours hike through the beautiful landscapes of the park. We saw traditional houses on our way. The hike was medium level. After we got back to Hermanns beautiful guest house we had a good lunch with local cheese, bread and a local dish. From there we went to castle Bran known as the Bram Stokers Dracula castle, which for us was on the to do list and we were not disappointed. What a beautiful castle with lots of history. By the time we got back to Braşov it was almost dinner time. We had a fabulous day with Alina our fantastic tour guide , who provided us with so much information about the country and its people . Thank you so much for the great day we had in Transylvania 😍

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip in Romanian Authentic Mountain Villages from Brasov

Written April 16, 2024

 

Gut organisiertes Naturerlebnis 🐻

Uns hat der Ausflug sehr gut gefallen. Der Fahrer war sehr freundlich und lustig und hat uns pünktlich am Treffpunkt eingesammelt und auch anschließend zu einem Ziel in unserer Wahl in Brasov gefahren.

Alex, der Guide für die Bärenbeobachtung sprach gutes Englisch und war auch sehr freundlich.
Das Beobachtungshaus war gepflegt, und man hatte einen tollen Blick auf die Bären.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 16, 2024

 

Amazing nature experience with bears!

Apr 2024 • Friends

Small group of 4 of us travelled with Alex to a remote hide, to wait for bears. Sure enough, 5 separate bears came along, over a couple of hours, and at one time, were all together less than 200 meters from our hide! An amazing experience. Thank you Alex. Couldn't recommend more highly! In fact, it was so good, we went two evenings in a row whilst we were in Brasov!

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 18, 2024

 

Lovely experience

Apr 2024 • Friends

An interesting tour of 2 very different castles with a friendly guide, Dan. Dan had a lot of info about the places we visited but also Romania more generally and some great suggestions for how to spend our time in Braşov. Its a long day that includes a lot of driving, but it was full of good music and good vibes. Thanks, Dan and for the luck with keeping the rain away until we got home!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 25, 2024

 

Amazing evening experience

We were picked up on time by a really friendly gentleman (unfortunately, I didn't catch his name). I expectations were managed in a professional manner. Once at the hide, it was explained that we must keep as quiet as possible and await to see if we spotted any bears. We were very lucky, and after approximately an hour, two young bears came into sight. They stayed in view for about 15 minutes. It was incredible to see them in the wild.
If you are going to book this with children/young adults, please consider if you believe they can sit still and quiet for 2+ hours.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 28, 2024

 

100 out of 5 stars!

We were contacted the day before the trip with all the details we would need of our guide (Charlie), the vehicle type colour, registration number, pick up point and time, etc.
Charlie was on time, and his vehicle was immaculately clean. The drive to the castles was filled with Charlie explaining about things on the landscape. He was extremely knowledgeable and delivered this mixed with suitable humour.
Charlie was our guide for the castles and fortress, able to answer all questions and delivering the details in an interesting and understandable manner.
I would highly recommend this tour and encourage you to definitely do Peles Castle, too.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 28, 2024

 

Amazing experience

Apr 2024 • Friends

Amazing experience. The guide was very well informed and could answer all my questions. Very pleasant experience. We saw like 5 bears it was amazing to see them reacting to each other.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 28, 2024

 

No bears but a great experience if you get to see them!

Apr 2024 • Couples

All that was missing was the bears!
That’s nature, nothing is guaranteed but at least we got to see two rathe excited young (and huge) boar at the end of the session!
You are a distance from the clearing so if you have access to binoculars I’d take them, we went armed with smartphones and with the dimming light would probably have struggled for any good photos so go prepared!
We weren’t sure what to wear but you’re not really outside for too long but decent/grippy footwear is a must. Once in the lodge your sheltered but can be chilly. Our guide was great and kept us there for as long as possible but unfortunately wasn’t to be, he was very apologetic and offered to take our group again the following day if we were still around which was fantastic - unfortunately we were due back in Bucharest the next night.
Would definitely give it another whirl if I’m Brasov again!

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written April 28, 2024

 

Amazing trip, made our holiday - thank you Dan!

Apr 2024 • Couples

Wow.
Absolute must, our tour/holiday was made by the excellent Dan - what an absolute A+ gentleman. My wife and I were the only ones on his tour and as soon as he started singing in the car we knew it would be a great day - he kept the songs/karaoke and Romanian knowledge coming throughout the day and we both had a brilliant time. We learnt so much about the places we visited and people of Romania and can still recall most of it now - he really should have been a teacher!
The tour itself was excellent, Peles castle was stunning and eclectic on the inside and without Dan we would likely have not queued so long to enter - this was early and we can only imagine how busy is was later!
We had a bonus stop at another castle where they filmed the Netflix series Wednesday en route to Bran, my 12yo was jealous of the pics we sent!
Bran castle was surprisingly a lot quieter in the afternoon and the views of the surrounding area were amazing. The final stop was Rasnov fortress which unfortunately has been closed internally for some time but we still got to tour outside and Dan as ever was on hand to fill in the blanks!
Having a local tour guide multiplied this trip tenfold and was invaluable - we got loads more out of the 7-8 hours we were on the road than expected and can’t thank Dan enough!!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 28, 2024

 

A delightful day on the outskirts of Brasov

Apr 2024 • Friends

Having one free day in Brasov prior to a hiking adventure i was fortunate to join another couple on this fabulous tour. Our guide Dan was both entertaining and very knowledgeable highlighting endless historical data as we ventured thru the medieval fortress, a fortified church in Viscri and finally the amazing town of Sighisoara. It was a long day but joyful and informative. Thank you Dan.

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written April 28, 2024

 

A very enjoyable day to the Castles with a professional and friendly guide!

Apr 2024 • Solo

it was an amazing day. Charlie is a wonderful guide , one of the 5 best I have experienced in my traveling to 66 countries so far. He is like , taking his own family and friends out on a drive, that kind of care and treatment. Very polite, excellent English, great knowledge about the places visited and goes above and beyond the call of duty. He also offered to drop me at the station. So, its not like , you paid X amount, I pick you, drive you, drop you back, good bye. He knows how to engage with customers and build relationships. Overall excellent customer experience and a jolly good time with ACTIVE TRAVEL, including you, helping me change the day.

Keep up the extraordinary customer experience.

Read more

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written April 29, 2024

 

A must when you come to Brasov!

Apr 2024 • Couples

We had a wonderful time! The wait was absolutely worth it, we saw a total of 5 bears of different sizes and a fox. Our guide Allan had a lot of interesting things to tell us. A unique experience here in Europe!

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 1, 2024

 

Brasov area castle tour.

May 2024 • Couples

Wonderful day visiting Peles castle, Bran Castle and Rasnov fortress. Our tour guide Charlie was very knowledgeable and very friendly and personable. We were able to see all the key areas with a great running commentary on the history and with priority access. We would definitely recommend this tour over trying to go it alone. Great job Charlie and Active Travel.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written May 5, 2024

 

Brilliant, informative and fun.

May 2024 • Couples

What a brilliant experience. Dan our guide was informative, friendly, entertaining and really brought the whole experience to life. We were mesmerised by his storytelling and were in awe at his knowledge. His car was comfortable, he had great music and singing (this was great) and we loved sharing his favourite pastry store. A fantastic wonderful experience of Bran Castle and the fortress and would highly recommend Dan and this company.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Entrance Fees Included - Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written May 7, 2024

 

Interesting day trip to Bran/Rasnov

May 2024 • Family

The guide Tiberiu was very knowledgeable about the history of Transylvania and told a lot of interesting facts about Bran and Rasnov.
There were no unnecessary stops on the way, only important and interesting things.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written May 8, 2024

 

Perfect

May 2024 • Solo

My tour was to Peles castle. Bran castle & Rasnov the bottom part
Our guid Dan was very punctual.
Called me a day before to be sure I'll be there on time.
He speaks English very well and explained us all in details
And even took us extra to see a professional ski jumping hill in Rasnov
Thank you very much.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written May 16, 2024

 

Great afternoon

May 2024 • Family

The guide/driver Alex was informative and punctual. We saw four bears. My kids had a great day and appreciate that my kids (aged 9 and 11) were even allowed to go as similar experiences in other countries they weren’t. I would recommend the experience.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 17, 2024

 

Fun Day!

Charlie was our tour guide. We had a great day despite some rain. He had a great upbeat personality and knew so much information on the locations we visited. He truly made the day so much fun. He was also a very safe driver!

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written May 17, 2024

 

Bucket list experience

May 2024 • Couples

As soon as we arrived we were super lucky to see 3 bears around the hideout. We witnessed lots of interaction between them, playfulness, competition, the bears scratching their backs against the trees and even a fox trying his luck. Once in a lifetime experience that I'm so grateful for. The guide was excellent, such great value for money too.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 18, 2024

 

Exciting tour

May 2024 • Solo

Highly recommended, Tiberiu was very personable, knowledgeable and responded to our needs and questions. He explained everything in detail and understandably.
Peles Castle is well worth seeing.

Google Translation

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written May 19, 2024

 

Informative, fun and friendly, fabulous experience.

Our guide was brilliant, knowledgeable, friendly and couldn’t be more helpful. We visited a wonderful selection of castles, medieval towns and villages and experienced authentic cuisine. It culminated in a glorious walk through the Transylvanian highlands and gorge.

Review of: Discover Medieval Transylvania Small Group Tour - 7 days

Written May 20, 2024

 

Perfect day of hiking in Bucegi Mountains

Mihai was my tour guide for a day of hiking to 2 peaks (8 hours) - Omu and Caraiman... To say that I had fantastic time doesn't really describe it fully. Mihai organised everything perfectly-the route, the introduction to the local wild life and flora, local history, explanation of details of hiking and just little chit chats... he was punctual and also flexible at the same time adding an element to the route after discussing with me. Mihai's advanced knowledge of English made our communication easy flowing. Finally, he's taken a few great pics (of me ☺️), so all above left me a very happy customer. I strongly recommend Mihai and this route for a day hike.

Review of: Hike in the Wild Private Photo Tour

Written May 20, 2024

 

A very successful evening

May 2024 • Family

After a sticky start, our booking said to meet at 4.30 but nobody came, managed to get in touch with the company though and it turned out that the pick-up time had changed on 1st May to 5.00 but nobody had told us!

We were indeed picked up at 5.00 along with three other people, making five of us in total. When we arrived, upon entering the hide it was immediately apparent that there was a young bear already there! From then on it just got better and better, there was rarely a moment when no bears were present! In the end we saw six different individuals with sometimes two and even three bears there at one time on occasions!

All in all then a very successful trip was had by all, although we were particularly fortunate how could I do anything other than heartily recommend this experience.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 22, 2024

 

Great tour.

May 2024 • Couples

The tour was excellent. It was well organised and seamless from pick up to drop off. We saw lots of bears and the host was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 22, 2024

 

A must do!

Alex was very friendly and helpful, particularly as my mum struggled, due to a health issue,with the short but steep walk to the hide (it's only about 10/15 from the road). He was really kind. Gave us all so much information about the bears and genuinely seemed to enjoy watching them himself. We saw bears for almost the whole 2 hours in the hide, from a large male to a youngster trying his luck! Plus a cheeky fox who stole fish from right under the bears nose! I can't recommend it enough.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 28, 2024

 

An accessible hike in an astonishing place

May 2024 • Couples

Mihaj was kind and hugely knowledgeable about the astonishing biodiverse environment in the National Park. We even had Romanian fairy tales along the way. This is not a Sunday afternoon walk, you need proper boots and water, but nor is it a hike for the super fit athlete. The Carpathian mountains are a truly spectacular happy place. Strongly recommended.

Review of: Piatra Craiului National Park Private Hiking Tour from Brasov

Written May 29, 2024

 

Highly recommend!

Great evening trip. We met as scheduled and headed out of town. On the way, we made a comfort stop next to a fish hatchery. While there, I watched a black stork and a white stork fly in and have supper! Another 5 minutes up the paved road we headed into the forest. A short walk takes you to the hide and within 5 minutes our first bear arrived. After he left, several hawks came in and I also observed several passerine bird species. Towards the end of our time there, another bear came in. So 2 for the evening. Alex, our guide, said many times they see more, but my wife and I were happy.

Alex was informative and patient. It was a great experience.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 30, 2024

 

Wonderful experience

May 2024 • Family

Alex met us exactly on time and we set off. Very friendly and informative.
We had a short walk to the hide which I struggled with but Alex was incredibly helpful and kind. We saw deer on the way and a couple in the group saw a bear in the distance. My daughter took a brilliant photo of her foot next to a bear print!
Once in the hide Alex gave us interesting facts about the nature of the forest. Within a few minutes our first bear arrived, over the next couple of hours we saw I think 3/4 bears arrive and go together with a cheeky fox.
A really excellent trip, thoroughly recommended

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written May 31, 2024

 

Beautiful views and plentiful food!

Our guide, Bogdan, was great. He was very knowledgeable of the area, the local food and is an avid outdoorsman. He knows the mountains surrounding Brasov very well. The hike was absolutely beautiful, the cave very interesting and the provided lunch very good! A great way to spend a day.

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip in Romanian Authentic Mountain Villages from Brasov

Written June 1, 2024

 

Bram, Raşnov, Peleş

Jun 2024 • Couples

We went on the full tour with Tiberiu. He was amazing! Very knowledgeable and super friendly. He took time to explain everything and made it interesting. He also offered advice about local hikes and other interesting facts on Romanian culture and food. He bought local treats for us to try. Would highly recommend him. We really enjoyed our tour with him!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 1, 2024

 

We strongly recommend

May 2024 • Business

We have arranged a tour at Peles Castle, Pelisor and Cantacuzino Castle four our partners visiting from abroad. They were delighted about the beauties that they have seen and also about what they've learned from the guide. We will certanly repeat this experience with other guest. Thank you Active Travel!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 5, 2024

 

Amazing experience

Jun 2024 • Friends

Just amazing. Our guide was incredible and when we arrived there was a bear already there. We only saw him but it was worth it!!! He was v close and was ambling around for 20 mins. Def recommend this company.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 5, 2024

 

Amazing experience

Jun 2024 • Couples

An amazing experience and the guide was very professional and ensured our safety. Lucky enough to see 5 different bears, would highly recommend.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 6, 2024

 

A wonderful, magical experience

Jun 2024 • Solo

I loved this tour. They were kind enough to let me join at the last minute and I'm so glad they did. The forest where you go to see the bears is so beautiful and full of so many different plants, trees, flowers, lush leaves, butterflies, bees, birds, and a little stream of water gently rushing along. It was so special to be there, and then we saw a beautiful healthy young bear with it's little fox friend, enjoying the afternoon sun. It's so moving to see bears in this beautiful part of the world when there are so few of them left in Europe. It was truly one of the most wonderful things to experience. I could have stayed and watched the bear and the fox and the gentle movement of the forest for days. It was so peaceful. Our lovely guide Lucian deserves a special mention too - he was such a wonderful person - so thoughtful and full of interesting information. He clearly has a deep bond with the forest and with the bears. You could feel how connected he is. Highly, highly recommend.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 7, 2024

 

Excellent Castle Tour

We had a fantastic time on this 1 day tour. Our guide Charlie was very knowledgeable as he guided us though the 3 main stops throughout the day. It was a small group and Charlie regularly checked in on everyone to check comfort and gain agreement whenever there were different options available. The minibus was spacious and comfortable. Unlike similar tours I have been on, it didn't feel like anything was rushed or drawn out and we arrived back to town at a suitable time to make the most of the evening. Would highly recommend!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 7, 2024

 

A wonderful experience

Jun 2024 • Couples

What a fantastic trip we had in search of seeing some bears. We were not disappointed. Our guide Lucian picked us up on time and we realised that only 2 of us were on the trip, an added bonus and a credit to the company that the trip still went ahead. After about a 50 minute drive including a comfort stop we made our way to the hide. It started to rain and we waited nearly an hour hearing the rain falling and enjoying the lush green scenery. First one and then a second bear appeared in the vegetation, at times poking their heads up and eventually both walking out to the track in full view. They stayed for around 50 minutes in total and we could watch their natural behaviour. Lucian was knowledgeable and as others have commented a man in love with nature and the bears. A magical experience and worth every penny. Sightings can of course not be guaranteed but what makes it special is everyone’s experience is different. The highlight of our holiday. Romania is a lovely country and well worth a visit. Brasov is a great place to stay. We received confirmation of the arrangements by email and by text from Active Travel. Just a shame there is no 6 stars!

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 10, 2024

 

Great experience, even better guide

Jun 2024 • Friends

Absolutely recommend our guide Dan! He spared no effort in sharing his vast knowledge of Brasov history and proved to be excellent, genuine company. All music fans should definitely book him too as you'll be sure to find yourself in great conversation and in aura of excellent tunes; thanks again for the great experience!

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 10, 2024

 

A trip worth seeing

Jun 2024 • Couples

Views were amazing, we didn't get to see the views from the top as it was foggy but no one can control the weather, views on way down made up for it, loved seeing a couple of bears as an extra. Guide very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to approach. Went back to book a different tour as first one was so amazing.

Review of: Small-Group Day trip Transfagarasan road and Poienari Fortress from Brasov

Written June 12, 2024

 

A wonderful day

Jun 2024 • Couples

Dan is a really friendly and easy going guide. We had a lovely day with him; he is knowledgeable and great to spend time with. He's very thoughtful, and always made sure we felt good and were enjoying our tour.

He took us around some wonderful, unforgettable countryside, and to a charming place for lunch, making sure our dietary needs were respected.
We felt really well looked after and his depth of understanding of the countryside meant we always felt completely safe.

We will certainly join him for more tours next time we visit Brasov, and recommend him for anyone who wants to see and learn about the surrounding area.

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip in Romanian Authentic Mountain Villages from Brasov

Written June 13, 2024

 

Wonderful Romania

May 2024 • Friends

I would strongly recommend this trip for a real insight into Romania. Active Travel's brilliant Tour Guide, Charlie Andras, drove us 1,800 kms round Transylvania - highlights were 10 kms walk through rural villages of Magura and Pestera, visiting Biertan, Rimetea, Sighisoara and Sibiu. So many extraordinary images from storks nesting on top of telegraph poles, horses and carts, forested hills, wildflowers and of course spectacular medieval castles.

Review of: Village life in Transylvanian Carpathian mountains - 8 days

Written June 14, 2024

 

Well organised evening bear trip

Jun 2024 • Family

Lucian was our guide & clear from the start that he is very keen to share his knowledge and love of the local bears with us. Collected on time in a minibus with a comfort break en route before we arrived at the hide. A female bear arrived quite soon and stayed for a little while before slowly walking off. Our patience was rewarded again when a much larger male arrived and spent quite a while foraging for food before he too walked away, but decided to come back for some more so giving us all a real chance to observe him from our hide.
Really enjoyed the trip and would recommend this company for a very good level of service and professionalism.
Thank you Lucian for your enthusiasm and answering all our questions.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 15, 2024

 

Old man revisiting his youth

May 2024 • Solo

I made the 4-day active tour as sole client with Bogdan as guide, who picked me up in his car and drove us to Magura. He also delivered me back at my hotel in Brasov at the end of the tour. . The routes followed tracks taking in the Curmatura and Grind huts and the rocky side of Piatra Craiului. I was very pleased with the routes we made although the tracks were often continuously steep in difficult forest trails, equally demanding on leg muscles both up and down. We typically made about 16 km and 600-800 m altitude in 5-7 hours. The weather was cool and occasionally damp. One day saw a strong wind from the valley with very low temperartures which caused us to change our jackets several times. The accommodation in the Montana guesthouse was very good, warm and clean, with breakfast, dinner and packed lunch provided in the neighbouring restaurant – the hosts were very friendly. Bogdan is an all round sportsman and was sensitive to my limitations. He was an excellent companion at mealtimes and over a beer at the end of the day, very jovial and well informed of Romanian history. The routes are marked but not always easy to follow. We met three pairs of trekkers who had lost their way and Bogdan was gracious enough to guide them and give detailed instructions. On the last day we also took in the more touristic area with Bran castle and Poiana Brasov.

I would readily use their services again and perhaps for winter sports, now that I have a better idea of the fitness level required. I would recommend these guided tours to anyone. They can accommodate all capabilities.

Review of: 4-Day Carpathian Trek: Bucegi Mountains and Piatra Craiului National Park

Written June 19, 2024

 

Sulle tracce degli orsi bruni

Incredibile poter osservare gli orsi nel loro ambiente naturale. Tutto è ben organizzato e sicuro. Partenza da Brasov, in 40 min di auto si arriva nella foresta a pochi passi dal capanno. Alin, molto preparato e innamorato del suo lavoro, ti accompagna come guida discreta nella conoscenza degli orsi. In un paio d'ore abbiamo avuto la fortuna di vedere 3 splendidi orsi e una volpe. Esperienza super consigliata.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 22, 2024

 

wonderful tour.

チャーリーと言うガイドが歴史やお城の詳細の知識も豊富で、全く飽きのこないツアーだった。
とても素晴らしいガイドでした。
一人でお城を観ることも可能だが、絶対にガイドがいたほうが良い。特にカンタクジノ城を組み込むなら超効率的だった。
お城のなんのための部屋とかどんな装飾がされているとか、聞いてるだけで興味が尽きなかった。
ペレス城だけで5〜60部屋回ったけど、全部細かく説明してくれた。
大人数で回るツアーもあったが、このツアーは少人数なのでほぼマンツーマンで質問できるし、お願い事を聞いてくれた。
ペリショール城に行きたいってアレンジをお願いしたら快く組み込んでくれた。
ブラショフに帰ってきた時間も15:30位で丁度よく、私が帰りに行きたいと言ったらそのままブラショフのロープウェイ乗り場まで連れてってくれた。

全て英語なので日本人でも英語が多少わかる人は絶対オススメ

Review of: Peles and Cantacuzino Castles Small Group Day Tour from Brasov

Written June 23, 2024

 

Incredible experience!

Incredible experience. Our guide, Tiberius, was very knowledgeable, friendly and respectful of the wildlife. He ensured the safety of the animals and of our group and we managed to see five bears! The trip was worth every penny and more. We would definitely recommend.

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written June 25, 2024

 

Great experience!

Jun 2024 • Couples

We are a couple and we had a private hiking tour under the Shepherd’s peak. The views were amazing! Our guide was very experienced giving us info for the area as well as hiking tips! I recommend this tour!!

Review of: Piatra Craiului National Park Private Hiking Tour from Brasov

Written June 25, 2024

 

Highly recommended day tour

Jun 2024 • Solo

Professionally-run well-organized tour. Never felt rushed. Charlie is a very knowledgeable, considerate, humorous guide and a skilled driver. The two castles are interesting contrasts to each other and very special in their own way. Nice to drive in and through a beautiful part of Romania.

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 26, 2024

 

Loved the tour

Dan was a fantastic tour guide and had interesting stories on the landmarks and surroundings. Its obvious he was quite passionate about sharing romanias history, and went above and beyond what a guide normally does (such as buying and sharing food)

Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Written June 28, 2024

 

7 Ladders

Jun 2024 • Solo

I did the 7 ladders hike with Charlie, an amazing guide and a better human being. He is knowledgeable, friendly and his English is spot on. The hike itself isn't overly challenging but as far as nature, views and beauty go its a must see! I highly recommend!

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip to the Epic 7 Ladders Canyon from Brasov

Written July 2, 2024

 

Great last minute 2 day hike

Jul 2024 • Solo

Marian organized a 2 day hike for me at the last minute. It was really really great. The hikes were beautiful, the guesthouses lovely and the guides really knew their stuff. Would highly recommend reaching out to Marian if you want to plan something similar. The Romanian countryside is picture perfect.

Review of: 2-Day Transylvania Culture Trek from Brasov - Small Group Tour

Written July 4, 2024

 

Best Tour Ever

Our tour and guide were fabulous! Although it was an overcast/misty day, we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, thoughtful, and so kind. We learned so much history and enjoyed beautiful sites.

Review of: Small Group Tour to Viscri Church Sighisoara Town Rupea Fortress

Written July 8, 2024

 

Hike to 7 ladders

I absolutely recommend booking tours through Active Travel. The experience was very smooth from the very beginning when I walked into the office in Braşov, where they welcomed in right away and helped me find the tour I was looking for. During the actual tour, the pick up was very organized and the vehicle very comfortable for travel. Shout out to Alex who was our tour guide. He made the whole trip very easy and accessible. Great conversations throughout the hike (if that’s what you’d like) and lots of history was shared. The blend of nice group interaction along with enjoyment of quiet nature made this hike feel seamless. If you’re in Braşov and looking to book tours and experiences, Active Travel is the way to go.

Review of: Small-Group Day Trip to the Epic 7 Ladders Canyon from Brasov

Written July 10, 2024

 

Worth the way to Trannssylvania

Jul 2024 • Family

It was a unique experience! We saw 3 bears and a few foxes. Marian has excellent knowledge of the Transylvanian wildlife and provided a lot of facts. Thank you Marian!

Review of: Small-Group Brown Bear-Watching Experience from Brasov

Written July 10, 2024

 

Super holiday

Jul 2024 • Family

I highly recommend Active Travel. It has been a pleasure from start to finish. They are very well organised, friendly and flexible. Charlie, our guide, could not have been nicer. We had a great time and lovely memories of Transylvania.

Written July 11, 2024