You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2020

Testimonials 2020

What a fantastic day!
Review of Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Optional Peles Castle Visit

Reviewed January 05, 2020

"We had the best day possible!
Charlie our guide was simply amazing!
Picked us up at 8:40am and dropped us back at 4:30pm after a very complete day.
Anyone visiting Brasov this is a MUST DO experience!
We cannot put it into words that would do it justice it was that good.
The history and scenery.... simply amazing!
And Charlie the best guide ever so courteous, accommodating, patient and ever so knowledgeable.
Would definitely highly recommend!"

Amazing Tour! Amazing Guide

"This was absolutely an amazing tour with an amazing tour guide. Charlie was a fantastic tour guide - friendly and knowledgeable. I can’t recommend this tour enough. The castles were beautiful and the company was great."

"I utterly enjoyed my day touring Bran Castle and Rasnov fortress with Dan. The other guests had to cancel and I was treated to deluxe private tour at no extra charge! I very much appreciate both Dan and Active Tours for not cancelling me under the circumstances. We went to Bran Castle first after a bonus stop at a fortified church. Bran is important to me because of the history with Queen Marie and not so much with all the Dracula hysteria.

Dan is a gifted educator, who brought visual aids along to help me understand the history behind these wonderful monuments of Romanian heritage. We even had a small statue of Ion Cuza! When we weren't chatting away merrily with information-packed discussions of the sites, Dan was singing with his skillful baritone. Dan recommended books for further reading and showed me maps and other supportive documentation for my deeper understanding of the history of Transylvania.

I have already downloaded and begun to read the marvelous book he recommended, "Between Woods and the Water," by the footloose British wanderer Patrick Leigh Fermor, who wrote of his travels in Romania in the 1930's.

It was a wonderful day. We had an excellent lunch at a restaurant that he recommended, and every minute was full of fascinating information tailored to my stated interest in history in general and Regina Maria / Mama Rănițilorn in particular. We found additional topics of shared interest and I was delighted to see his fascination with textile arts when we visited the textile crafts display at Rașnov.

I came home having enjoyed plenty of moderate exercise in the bracing mountain air and a rousing day of conversation, song and camaraderie with what felt like an old friend.

The tour company is much appreciated for making my day so memorable. I had a wonderful time in these deeply historic locations thanks to a generous, intelligent and fun guide, Dan."

Reviewed January 16, 2020

"I've been on two tours provided by Active Travel and both experiences and guides were great.
I'm a solo traveler and while most companies turned me down or cancel the tours because there wasn't a group formed Active Travel made sure the tours would be running for me and offering a great service.
Definitely recommend it!"

Reviewed January 19, 2020

"A ótima experiência começou há no Brasil, quando Marian, o proprietário da Active Travel foi incansável em me auxiliar com todos os detalhes de nosso day tour privado à Peles Castel, Bran Castel e Fortaleza de Rasnov
Pontualemnte, Carl, nosso querido guia, nos buscou em nosso Hotel em Brasov para um dia inesquecível, com muita cultura, histórias, comidas típicas e simpatia!
Nosso day tour começou no Castelo das Peles, no qual chegamos cedo, exatamente no momento em que o o local tem menos turistas. Passeamos pelo jardim belíssimo, tiramos muitas fotos e entramos, sem enfrentar nenhuma fila. Carl nos contou detalhes do Castelo, informações que não teríamos se não tivéssemos contratado o day tour. Tivemos acesso a todos os andares desse Castelo, que pata nós é um dos mais lindos e conservados da Europa (e nos conhecemos MUITOS castelos!). Na saída, Carl nos levou ao café do Castelo e fez questão de nos oferecer o doc e típico dessa região da Romênia.
Continuando o passeio, Carl dirigiu (muito bem!) Até Bran e mais uma vez fomos surpreendidos pelo ótimo serviço do seu tour, com acesso sem filas, muitas histórias desse Castelo imperdível e ao final, nos levou a uma feira típica pata experimentarmos comidas maravilhosas dessa região da Romênia.
Ainda conseguimos conhecer a Fortaleza de Rasnov,cujo acesso é feito por um trenzinho e lá soubemos de mais histórias e vimos um por do sol inesquecível!
Carl ainda nos levou até um parador para vermos as neves eternas, pois vibtamos que amamos neve!
Durante todo o passeio Carl foi contextualizando os locais e suas histórias.
Ao final do dia, nos cobduzoi até nosso Hotel, em Sighisoara
Foi um dia incrível, com MUITAS histórias, vistas incríveis, lugares que estão registrados na nossas memória e no nosso coração!
Super indicamos os serviços da ACTIVE TRAVEL e do Carl!"

"By far the best day of our holiday, if you have the option to add Peles castle on to your day then definitely do it! I'm so happy that we got to experience it with the best guide Kartsi (Charlie) it felt like we were on a day trip with an old friend. He was so friendly, knowledgebale and fitted the tour around us and stopped at some lovely places for photos etc. I can't say enough of what a wonderful day we had, from start to finish we were made to feel very welcome. Even on a cold winters day it was so beautiful! We can't wait to come back to Romania again in spring or summer and see it all again. Love Shauna & Gordon"

Reviewed January 23, 2020

"An absolutely fantastic tour on a short notice. We hadn’t scheduled it in advance but it was very kind of taking us on the tour. It was enchanting!

Our guide was very knowledgeable polite, friendly and with a great sense of humor. It was like having a good friend showing us around.

Thank you for this wonderful experience Charlie!
If you find yourself from our places don’t be a stranger. It would be our pleasure to see you again."

"Magnifique journée, la visite étais très enrichissante, le guide Marian est juste super, il nous a raconté l'histoire de la région, l'histoire de de la Roumanie, une vrai mine d'or. Il a été d'une gentillesse exemplaire. et a mis une superbe ambiance, nous nous sommes vraiment amusé mon frère et moi. Merci infiniment à lui."

Best tour guide ever!
Reviewed February 03, 2020

"My friend and I were very lucky to have Charlie from ActiveTravel as our guide on a fantastic tour of Castle Bran and Râşnov Castle in the second half of November 2019. Charlie was a brilliant guide, speaking excellent English, and had a very entertaining and friendly but never over the top sense of humour which made the whole day with him real fun as well as very enjoyable. He is full of real knowledge and interesting information about both Castles and also knows quite a bit about English history too as we found out.

Certainly he made the visit to Castle Bran considerably more interesting than it would ever have been had we attempted it by ourselves with just a guide book as our guide. He and the superb tour service provided by ActiveTravel was the real highlight of our two day stay in Braşov.

He never once hurried us and was a very safe and considerate driver. I would whole-heartedly recommend Charlie as your guide and ActiveTravel as your local tour company!"

"Hicimos nuestro tour el día 26 de enero y fue perfecto! Nuestro guía se llamaba Charlie (Balazs Karoly ANDRAS) y fue encantador, puntual, simpático, todo el día contándonos datos super interesantes de los sitios que visitábamos y de la historia de Rumanía y respondiendo a todas nuestras preguntas. Es una persona que ama su trabajo y su tierra y contagia ese sentimiento al grupo. Son tours de grupos reducidos y en nuestro caso solo fuimos 3, para nosotros perfecto. Lo recomendaría a todo aquel que quiera visitar estos tres castillos y conocer su historia a fondo. MUCHÍSIMAS GRACIAS POR HACERNOS PASAR UN DÍA TAN ESPECIAL.

We did our tour on January 26 and it was perfect! Our guide was called Charlie (Balazs Karoly ANDRAS) and he was charming, punctual, friendly, all day telling us super interesting facts about the places we visited and the history of Romania and answering all our questions. He is a person who loves his work and his land and spreads that feeling to the group. They organized small group tours and in our case we were only 3, for us it was perfect. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit these three castles and know their history in depth. Thank you so much for making us spend such an special day."

Reviewed February 10, 2020

"loved this day tour just me and my husband, and tour guide George from active travel. George really made this day for us nothing was too much trouble for him. about a 2 hour trek which was at an easy pace with out standing scenery on route. was lovely to see the local village and how they live . also stopped at a inn for some lunch which was included in trip very tasty! so glad we done this trip it was highlight of our holiday, and George you absolutely made it a memorable day for and especially the bat cave".

Reviewed February 16, 2020

"Done 2 excursions with active travel one to the Romanian village in the mountains and another to bran castle , our tour guide for the castle was Dan , great guy with a good sense of humour and very knowlegeable. He really did make our trip memorable. Glad we done it through active travel as we wouldn't of seen so much if we done the tour yourself it's nice to meet other ppl in the group as well . And dan if your reading this your welcome to and visit us in cornwall anytime."

"Yesterday we had a wonderful day exploring Rasnov Fortress, Bran Castle, and Peles Castle. Charlie was our tour guide and we couldn’t have asked for anyone better. He was very knowledgeable, kind, he answered all our questions, and we had great conversation during the drive. We traveled with small children (2 years, 5 years, and 7 years) and not only did Charlie put up with their whining but he also helped them get up and down the stairs at the castles. He also recommended some Romanian cuisine for lunch, all of which was delicious. We highly recommend this tour and especially Charlie as a guide."

"This was a small tour with just myself and one other couple, which was intimate and ensured a good experience. The price was reasonable and the guide (George) was extremely well-informed. I was able to make the reservation online the night before and met the guide in the main square of Brasov at 8:30. We first went to Bran Castle, which opened at 9, and we were able to beat the crowds and have a very interesting tour. From there we went to Rasov Fortress which was closed due to renovation, but was still an interesting and worthwhile visit. Overall, I was happy with the quality and length of the tour, 2 stops was plenty and we were back in Brasov by noon."

Date of experience: February 2020

"We went to the Piatra Craiului National Park with Bogdan, our guide. The weather it wasn't the best... windy, snowing and raining. It was an amaizing expirience because we felt the real Transilvanya. Although our guide is a professional in that area and about mountain life. Yoy feel safety all the time and we enjoy a lot his company. It was incredible.
So an excelnt trip to discover the essence of Transilvanya. We can't go away from here with out doing this tour."

Date of experience: February 2020

"We loved the tour with Charlie as our guide.We had fun ,we exchanged facts about our countries and we felt like going on a walk with a savvy friend.Thank you so much for the wonderful day!"

Date of experience: February 2020

"We have spent a excellent day visiting Peles, Bran and Rasnov. Tiberius has introduced us in the Transilvanian culture. He is not only a very nice person but also he has an incredible knowledge about historical facts of Romenia.
Thank you so much for that worderful day!
It has been a trip that we will remember all of our lives!"

Date of experience: February 2020

"It's better to visit them with a tour, so you will hear information about the history and not just checking around. Thanks our tour guide Andras, for that nice experience of touring around bran."

Date of experience: February 2020
 
Visita que no puedes perderte

"Despues de estar en bucarest llegue a Brasov para conocer la historia de los castillos de sus alrededores, la chica que nos acompaño para el tour solo hablaba ingles, que para quienes entienden poco fue un mal dia. Lo salvo el tour a Bran con gran expectativa de conocer su historia y el interior del castillo. La ciudad de Bran vive del comercio generado por su leyenda, no en vano es el segundo castillo mas visitado en Rumania. El castillo conserva rasgos de su antiguedad, pero fue remodelado por la esposa de Carol rey de Rumania y perdio el encanto terrorífico. Ne desiluciono al ver que no es el castillo que aparece en las películas (se encuentra como a dos horas de este), Rasnov tiene una vista invcreible sobre la ciudad, pero se encuentra muy descuidado. No dejen de visitar el castillo de Sinaia es hermoso, hogar del rey."

Date of experience: August 2019

Karoly (Charlie) is an excllent guide!!!

"Small tour, but big experience!!! Karoly is a really expert about the Castle of Bran, and a nice person. Thanks!"

Date of experience: March 2020

"Thank you to Dan from Active Travel! A wonderful, personalized day visiting these beautiful tourist attractions (and more!). Dan is very kind, a great driver, and excellent guide. I’d thoroughly recommend this day trip. Thank you!!"

Date of experience: March 2020
 

"Without having many expectations for our journey into and around the Carpathian Mountains, Karol Balazs ensured we had a day we will never forget.
Our trip visiting Transylvania's famous castles was only as amazing as it was due to our great tour guide and his friendly personal experience that made the day so easy to enjoy.
Whether ensuring we were comfortable, informed or simply causing us to laugh, Karol made our time in Central Romania a day we will continue to talk about. Extremely fairly priced for the quality of the tour and by the end of the day we felt we were not leaving a tour guide behind, but a new friend.
Thank you activetravel and in particular your staff member, Karol Balazs.
The best tour guide experience we have ever done, hands down."

Date of experience: March 2020

Reviewed April 2020
My daughter (9) and I went on a hike in the National park with Marian. After having a chat with Marian, I was happy to learn that he hiked all over Romania for the best part of his life , so he knows all the hikes and ensures that they are geared up for your fitness level. We had no difficulty completing the hike and at the end of it, there was a welcoming lunch in a local guesthouse, a great way to replenish our strength. Marian's company is promoting slow travel and supports local businesses, which is a big tick in my book.

The hike gave us an opportunity to enjoy fresh air, nature and meet friendly locals. It was such a different experience from the usual sightseeing or city walking. While Active Travel Romania can organise a variety of day tours, they also can plan a longer hiking trips for several days , where you can either go camping or stay in local guesthouses. When my son is older and can walk better, I am seriously thinking of coming back to Romania to do a longer hiking trip with Active Travel Romania

Communication was also great, we used whatsapp to arrange our meeting point and firm up the plans a few days before the trip. The trip run on time and all organisational moments were very well thought of. I would hesitate to recommend them to my family and friends if they are travelling to Romania in future.

Date of experience: February 2020

Reviewed June 27, 2020
Spectacular view of Piatra Craiului Massif, vlilages with houses spread on green meadows, relaxing atmosphere. Mihai, the guide, offered ia o lot of information and local legends. I recommend Active Travel agency for excelent services !

Date of experience: June 2020

Reviewed June 27, 2020
Mihai Craciun is a very well trained guide. And a very good company. Me and my friends had a very pleasant experience today. I strongly recommend this guy to everyone!
Mircea

Date of experience: June 2020

Reviewed June 30, 2020
Karoly (Charlie) was my tour guide on this trip. It was a wonderful trip filled with great conversations, facts and details. Even though we had to make considerations for pandemic (face masks, etc) it was still a great day. Charlie really is passionate about the job and his love for his country shows. Easy to talk he really went out of his way to make sure I had a good time.

Date of experience: June 2020

Reviewed July 3, 2020
When trying to find a gift for someone's birthday like I did, consider booking a trip and you'll be remembered! If you're looking for quiet, yet active day in the middle of nature, let yourself guided by the professionals and you'll find out legends, facts and enjoy less known tracks while feeling perfectly safe all the time! All levels of physical condition are OK and I for one felt so happy in the end!

Date of experience: June 2020

Reviewed July 9, 2020
I don’t even know where to start! The guide was amazing, he was explaining everything very well on both languages: English and in Romanian, making jokes and overall making the trip sooo much better. Imagine a perfect trip to the Bran Castle and Rasnov, now double it - that’s how it was!
 
Reviewed July 19, 2020
We had a wonderful time during our day trip with Mihai. He's very knowledgeable and a great companion for mountain trekking. He helped us decide what hiking tour to chose by describing the options thoroughly and we were very happy with our choice. He knows the area inside out and can make a lot of useful recommendations. You can walk at your own pace and stop for quick snacks, take photos, take rests as needed.

We opted for the Prapastii - Curmatura route. It's an easy one, with the first part walking through a gorge that is wide enough to fit a car. Then it continues through the forest and provides spectacular views of the Piatra Craiului cliffs. We reached Curmatura mountain lodge where we had a quick lunch and continued through the forest to complete the circuit and reach the point where we started. Expect this route to take about 5 hours if you walk at a normal-low pace.
 

Date of experience: July 2020

Reviewed July 21, 2020
Last Saturday I went on a hike in the Piatra Craiului National Park with Mihai. We chose together the route and it was a beautiful one (Plaiul Foii - Refugiul Șpirlea - Umerii Pietrei Craiului - Marele Grohotiș).
Mihai is very friendly and a really nice company. I enjoyed talking with him.
The view is breathtaking and it's worth all the effort.

Date of experience: July 2020

Reviewed July 21, 2020
Two days to remember! The central point of the trip was Transalpina, but on the way, we have seen many other wonderful places: Cumpăna Monastery, Jina, Polovragi Monastery and cave, Arnota Monastery.
Bogdan was an amazing guide and proved very flexible and keen to offer us an un unforgettable experience. And he succeded!

Date of experience: July 2020

Reviewed July 31, 2020
We had amazing experiance to see one of the best roads in the world with our guide Charlie. His great driving skills helped us to get to the place fast and safe, so we had enough time to have a look on the most beautiful part of the road before it vanished completly in clouds. We could stop anywhere we wanted to have some pictures and glimps to this out of the world place. Eventhough that road itself was truly magnificent part of the trip, beautiful llandscapes havent finished after it. We could see splendid dam or true Vlad Tepes castle hiden in the mountains.

Date of experience: July 2020

Reviewed August 6, 2020
Arrived in Brasov and only had one day here. Called up the office last minute and they managed to get a guide set up to pick us up in 20 minutes (impressive). Even more impressive, it was a really cool guy calling himself 'Dan the Romanian Man'. When Dan wasn't showing us the incredible sights of Bran and Peles Castles, he was singing along in his car to his favourite songs! We had a full day of this and loved every minute. Book your tour with Active Travel, you will have a great time in this quirky corner of Europe!
 
Date of experience: August 2020
 
Reviewed August 26, 2020
I have benefitted from the professional experience of my guide, Bogdan. I have climbed the mountain and completed my hike with seemingly no effort, for which I am very gratefull!
 
Date of experience: August 2020
 
Reviewed August 28, 2020
We wanted to spot the famous brown bear in its natural environment. This is the perfect place to do it. The ride from Brasov is not to long, the walk is short and really easy and the hide is confy ans perfect to watch the wild animals. Plus our guide Charlie and Alex the ranger are really nice people. Thanks a lot.
 
Reviewed August 31, 2020
Last Sunday me and my family have decided to take the tour advertized by the company. We wanted something to do outdoors away from the busy streets of the city, where we could ride our bikes safely and not be surrounded by trafic. The tour started in the village of Bod and after riding a few km we reached the nearby hills. Going uphills made us feel a little tired but the views from there were amazing. I did not even know how wonderful this area is, the landscape was just wonderful. We were lucky to pe accompanied by two tourguides Marian and Charlie, both knowledgeble, entuziastic and helpful.
Overall I would highly recommend this tour if you are looking for something fun, something active and outdoors.
 
Reviewed September 03, 2020
Hello. I was in a 6 hour hiking on Piatra Craiului and it was amazing. The guide, Mihai, was very helpfull with informations and suggestions. Surely i will come back, everything was better then expected.
 
Date of experience: September 2020
 
Reviewed September 09, 2020
Charlie was an amazing guide, he made our trip to Brasov the best experience we could ever expect! It was like a short trip with a friend that knows all about the history of the place that you are visiting. We would certainly recommend it to anyone that has any doubt about booking this guided tour. Thanks again for it all!

Date of experience: September 2020

Reviewed September 17, 2020
I had an amazing time, the guide Charlie is a very pleasant and informative guide.We stopped often for photos along this beautiful road.I highly recommend this tour
 
Reviewed September 24, 2020
Mihai is a great guide. The tour was difficult but impressive and in the end it was totally worth it!


Date of experience: September 2020

Reviewed September 29, 2020
Alex did a very personalized tour and gave us valuable insights in Romanian wildlife. And we saw one male brownbear.
 
Date of experience: September 2020
 
Reviewed October 11, 2020
A perfect day with our guide Karoly aka Charlie seeing Transylvania's castles (Peles, Bran and Rasnov) amd learning from him about these places.
Seeing the beautiful village of Pestera and taking in the sights adound the heart of Transylvania : Brasov.
Thank you Active Travel and Karoly for a beautiful day.
Will be seeing you again soon and recommending your agency with all confidence.
Alina and Maria from Cluj.

Date of experience: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends

Reviewed October 13, 2020
Great day în guided tour în Brașov, Scheii Brașovului and Râșnov. Our guide, Charlie, have been patient with me to take a lot of pictures.

Date of experience: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family

Reviewed October 15, 2020
Adorei o guia da excursão o sr Charlie. Com a minha dificuldade no inglês conseguimos comunicar . Ele se esforçou para que percebesse. Aprendo muito com a intervenção do guia Charlie. Estou muito satisfeito. Obrigado sr Charlie.
 
Reviewed October 15, 2020
Charlie (Karoly) was an extremely helpful and knowledgable tour guide! He caters small groups to their needs and can show you whatever you find interesting. If you can, help this self employed guy in these times!
 
Date of experience: October 2020
 
Reviewed November 2, 2020
 
Je recommande ce guide à 100%, il est passionné par ce qu'il fait et il est très gentil !
Circuit adapté à notre groupe et fait sur mesure pour nous, merci Marian pour cette extraordinaire journée sur Piatra Craiuli !
Début avec les couleurs d'automne, ensuite de la neige puis repas chez un local et dégustation d'un plateau de fromage fait maison, pour ensuite finir dans de magnifiques vallées.. incroyable !!

Date of experience: November 2020

Reviewed November 8, 2020
We did a day trip to the Bucegi Mountains with our guide Marian. The views were breathtaking and our guide was truly passionate and interesting ! Thanks for everything, and I hope to do an other trip with Active travel really soon.

Date of experience: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends

Reviewed November 9, 2020
We did a day trip to Piatra Craiului with our guide Marian. The views were just wonderful and our guide was passionate and interesting ! Thanks a lot Marian for your kindness and for sharing your passion !

Date of experience: November 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends

Reviewed November 15, 2020
Mariane is a very nice, helpful guide who knows his region well by heart which allows him to tell you about the history of the country and the region. He speaks very good English which is very appreciated for tourists like us.
I recommend at 100% !
 
Reviewed December 31, 2020
Wir haben uns last minute für ein Tagestour in der nähe von Brasov (Poiana Märului) entschieden. Karcsi und Marian haben uns durch wunderbare Landschaften, unberührte Dörfer geführt. Wir hatten das Glück, die erste "Gruppe" bei dieser neue Route zu sein. Wir empfehlen wärmst die 1-TAG Tour Poiana Märului für Touristen, die Natur und Dörfer in ihrem natürlichen, unberührten Zustand sehen Wollen. Hier ist nichts gestellt für Touristen, hier ist reality in seinem unbezahlbaren echten ursprünglichen Zustand. Zum Glück ist das Leben in Poiana Märului stehen geblieben und wir durften uns über diese ein Einblick verschaffen.
Jegliche Fragen und Wünschen sind von Karcsi und Marian erfüllt, weswegen bleiben am ende des Tages keine Wünsche übrig.
Wir wünschen Karcsi und Marian viele gute :) Touristen, die diese Wertvolle Erlebnisse schätzen können!
Wir Sehen uns in 2021!
O. & Th.
Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners