You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2019

Testimonials 2019

Fantastic Private Tour!
Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Entrance Fees Included - Optional Peles Castle...
Reviewed January 6, 2019

"This tour in the winter time was absolutely spectacular, having a private tour and transfer with a group of 6 of my friends and I was very convenient, and each stop was fantastic! Huge thanks to our tour guide Alex, he was so awesome in every regard, whether it be explaining the information and history of each location or just casual conversation at lunch, such a well spoken and interesting person that enhanced the experience heaps!"

Alex Mitu best tour guide in Romania
Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Entrance Fees Included - Optional Peles Castle...
Reviewed January 6, 2019

"Alex was an awesome guide from start to finish of the day tour. Even though we were late for the tour in the morning (entirely our fault) Alex went out of his way to come and pick us all up from where we were staying. He is super friendly, made us all feel very comfortable, his English was flawless, and he was just a good guy to be around and talk to. He made the tour around Transylvania very enjoyable and worth while."

A perfect day

 

Reviewed January 10, 2019

 

"We started off the day as the first visitors at Rasnov Fortress and had the place all to ourselves. We followed it up by visiting the famous Bran Castle. Those were both great experiences but the best part of the day was when Marian took us into the Carpathian Mountains to see the traditional villages. The scenery was beyond beautiful. It was peaceful and serene and an all around amazing experience. We visited a bat cave and had a traditional lunch at the oldest guest house in Romania with possibly the best cheese we've ever tried.
It is no surprise that Active Travel is #1 with Trip Advisor. We couldn't imagine a more knowledgeable guide and more perfect day than what Marian gave us. He customized the day to what we most wanted to see and to our hiking abilities. We will always remember this incredible experience. We will be back to see the bears, we hope in September, and we will for sure be contacting Active Travel."

Amazing tour with Alex!

"We had an awesome time at Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Alex was such a great tour guide with bundles of information for us! Highly recommend visit these places if your ever in Brasov."

Reviewed January 14, 2019

"Bran Castle has always been on my list of places to visit, so on our fist visit to Romania wee chose to base our stay in Brasov. We booked our trip to Rasnov & Bran with active travel online. We were met promptly at 8am by Charlie our guide for the day and as it turned out we were his only 2 customers for the trip. We boarded our transport for the day, a spacious well maintained VW transporter and set off for Rasnov. The hilltop fortress wasn’t something we had planned on visiting but I’m glad we did as the views you are rewarded with from the highest point of the citadel are breathtaking. Charlie is very knowledgeable about Romania and being a local he gave us a good in-depth history on the places we visited. After Rasnov we took the short journey onwards to Bran and the Castle, this did not disappoint and again Charlie was able to furnish us with all the history and legends associated with the place.
I would highly recommend this tour guide and the company. Charlie was a superb guide, knowledgeable with a fantastic command of English and above all super friendly, it felt like travelling with a friend. I’m so glad that we booked this tour and only wish we had more time to spend in Romania as I would definitely be booking some of the other tours that they have on offer.
Thanks for the fantastic day!!"

Reviewed January 20, 2019

"Did a days with Balazs Karoly Andreas (known as Karoly - Active Travel. Collection point is from the museum in the main square Brasnov 9am (till 6). Karoly takes small groups out which makes the tour more personal. He is a fountain of knowledge and a real people person, putting the group at ease. All 3 places were absolutely astounding for different reasons.
Firstly Peles Castle (royal palace), Brans Castle (Dracula’s) (where all the action happened) and the Fortress (in times of siege for the town of Rasnov) beautiful views. Highly recommend."

"Charlie (tour guide) met us at 9am as promised, outside the History Museum in Brasov. It was just us and 2 other girls - they only book small groups which we really appreciated as it made it much more intimate and easy to interact etc. We started with Peles castle which was stunning - Charlie was an excellent tour guide who spoke fantastic English and gave brilliant history overviews as we walked around. He was also more than happy to take photos of us throughout the day. We then stopped for lunch before going in to Bran Castle. This was a local restaurant with lovely food - Charlie even organized a little surprise birthday cake for me as it was my birthday! We then went on to Bran Castle, and finished with Rasnov Fort. All in all a really wonderful day :)"

Reviewed February 8, 2019

"Our guide Dan was very kind and friendly. Trip to Sinaia, Bran and Rasnov was enjoyable. Finally he came with me to the train station and help me to buy my train ticket. Thanks for all Dan :)"

Reviewed February 17, 2019

"Fab trip out to Bran Castle and Rasnov. In addition to seeing the castles we had some great photo stops on route which were an added bonus.

Charlie, our guide, was amazing throughout the trip - he showed us all the things that we wouldn't have seen doing this on our own and made sure we had a really enjoyable day. He is an asset to the company :-)"

Reviewed February 18, 2019

"We had a 4-hours tour with Alex Mitu which we enjoyed very much. Alex was very friendly and has a great knowledge about the area and history where we had exciting discussions and amazing tour."

Reviewed February 20, 2019

"Bran Castle was beautiful and Raznov breath taking. We were 8 Canadians on the trip and each and everyone enjoyed the tour. Our guide did a fantastic job of explaining to us the history of the area, he also gave us extra by showing us a fortified church. We all loved it.
I definitly reccomend this tour to others. It is to be a memorable time for years to come.

From 8 Highly Satisfied Canadians, Thank you"

Reviewed February 23, 2019

"Worth it is the least I can say! Dan, my private guide for the whole day was great. Got to know a LOT about Brasov and the country, the history, the myths. He treats a piece of himself as well and that is just beyond expectation. Felt like I was guided by a friend :)"

Reviewed March 3, 2019

"We had an wonderful tour of Bran Castle and the fortress at Raznov. The castle was beautiful and the views from both were breath taking. Our guide Dan was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable on the history of both sites. He gave an interesting and fabulous tour that we enjoyed very much and highly recommend."

Reviewed March 3, 2019

"Несколько дней назад мы: я, моя мама и подруга вернулись из Румынии. У «Аctivetravel» мы приобрели экскурсию — замки Румынии : Пелеш, Друкула и Рышнов. Нас сопровождал экскурсовод Чарли. Экскурсия проходила на английской языке. Обширные знания по теме , эмоциональный рассказ, прекрасное владение языком. Помимо всего, доброжелательность и отзывчивость, внимание к каждому члену нашей команды. Мы прекрасно провели время и получили позитивные впечатления. Спасибо большое Чарли и «Аctivetravel»."

Reviewed March 4, 2019

"Our guide was Charlie, he picked us up on time in a mini-bus. There were two other couples in the bus, but this made the journey even more fun. We left Brasov around 9AM and arrived back around 6PM.We started with Peles Castle, then Bran and Rasnov. We stopped at a very nice restaurant and had lunch. The atmosphere through out the journey was great and we had a good laugh too. Charlie was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot from this trip. Glad that we did it, we took lots of photos and discovered new things about beautiful Romania. Highly recommended. Ps. Wear walking shoes or at least comfortable ones, no heels."

We booked two tours,on two different days - Brasov/Peles/Bran/Rasnov and Brasov/Rupea/Viscri/Sighisoara and we were lucky to get Karoly (or Charlie for english speaking tourists) as our guide.I was hoping we would get him because after reading the reviews we were sure that he is the best and indeed he did not disappoint.We found out a lot of interesting facts,he told us stories and he really knew the history of the places.We experienced a nice ride and wonderful places where we had lunch,in addition to the actual attractions.He is a very pleasant,friendly person and he made us feel really comfortable.I wholeheartedly recommend him.Thank you for a wonderful experience!"

Reviewed April 11, 2019

"We had a blast. Thank you so much Tudor for this nice morning. Although the weather wasn't on our side, we had a very good time on the path of romanian history. Tudor was very well informed and he had an answer for every question. Thank you so much, we learned a lot and take a lot of new impressions back home."

"Vi hadde to fantastiske dager sammen med familien. Dette var pga en fantastisk guide, Charlie. Han var kunnskapsrik om de plassene vi besøkte, og veldig fleksibel. Anbefales."

''Il tour al Castello di Bran e alla fortezza di Rasnov è stato molto interessante e l'inglese della guida Dan è molto comprensibile.
Metto 4 stelle e non 5 perché sul sito (e sulla prenotazione) l'orario dell' APPUNTAMENTO era alle 9 ma la sera prima sono stata avvisata che la PARTENZA sarebbe stata alle 8:30! Non proprio comodo per me dato che la colazione presso la struttura dove stavo iniziava alle 8:10.''

Reviewed April 19, 2019

"Did you know that bears eat chocolate? If not, then this tour is a MUST! We had an astonishing view at 4 bears, only a few meters from the observation hut. The tour was organized and guided by three very friendly and humorous guides (as well as professional:) ) We totally recommend the Bear Watching trip for everyone. We had a kid with us and it was one of her highlights during our stay in Romania. Thank you Alex and Marian for this unfogettable experience!"

''We decided to do this tour with Peles castle to give us all an overview of the historical context of Romania before going off on our own. The tour didn’t disappoint. The guide (young guy with beard) was really knowledgable, kind and approachable. My teenage son, a curious historian, really enjoyed intros on Communism as well as the castles and palace. Would really recommend."

"This was a great option to see all three of these places in one day! Our guide Dan was not only knowledgeable and gave us great tours of all three places showing and telling us things we wouldn’t have seen or learned about without him pointing them out, but he was overall a very nice, personable and interesting person. He also drove us to a couple of extra locations just to show us around and brought us to an amazing local restaurant for lunch, which we really appreciated. It was a 10/10 tour!"

A great tour to see the beauty of the local mountains

"This tour was exceptional thanks to our guide Mihai. He is very knowledgeable about local mountains, flora/fauna, history and traditions. Not only we had a great hike in the heart of Piatra Craiului park but also got to know a lot about Romania. The hike itself is not so strenuous and you'll be rewarded by the amazing views of the alpine meadows and the snowy peaks."

Reviewed April 24, 2019

''For those looking for an AMAZING adventure, using a travel company, book through Active Travel. From the start, working with Marian, the owner of Active Travel was easy. I told him what I was interested in seeing in Romania, as well as asking him for suggestions and Marian came up with a phenomenal itinerary!! It was nice to be picked up and dropped off at the airport. My guide was Mihai.. He was EXCEPTIONAL!! He showed me many beautiful castles and churches, as well as taking me on some breathtaking hikes. Mihai was very knowledgeable and organized. He was also very kind and friendly. One would be very fortunate to have him as a guide. I also enjoyed viewing the brown bears in their natural element. I would definitely suggest going to see the bears.''

Reviewed April 29, 2019

"Fantastic trip with a great guide Charlie. Very well organised trip with a great knowledgeable guide. He went out of his way to make sure our group was happy the whole time and we really appreciated the little extra things he did like driving us up to a mountain village to see the view and buying two ladies on our trip a snack when they said they were hungry. Thanks for a really great day out!"

Reviewed May 1, 2019

"Altought the canyon was closed, the guide took is on a detour. That was more difficult and more exciting. This was why I spent my money for! Excellent guide. René and Marc van der Heijden"

Reviewed May 3, 2019

''La visite etait vraiment bien cetait interessant. Le guide Karol etait aussi super gentil et souriant."

Reviewed May 9, 2019

"My partner and I went to visit Transylvania in April.
We booked 3 tours with Active Travel and couldn't have made a better choice!
Brasov walking tour - our guide Alex gave us a quick history lesson of the country which was really useful especially for us first timers in Romania. We then went inside the Black Church (entrance fee not included) and had a stroll around the city where he showed us the city and gave us suggestions on what we could do after the tour as well (such as going up the Tampa Mountain). Alex, was very friendly and made us feel welcome in the city!

Peles, Bran and Rasnov tour- our guide on this day was Charlie (or Karoly in Romanian), an amazing guide with many years guiding experience. Charlie was extremely knowledgeable not just about arts and traditions but also about food and nature. Admission fees to places were not included but Active Tours gave us free admission to Bran Castle!!! That was a great Easter gift! The day was a full on day, there were many tourist but we managed to skipped the line thanks to Charlie knowing everyone!

Rupea, Viscri and Sighisoara Tour - we had Charlie again. The tour was more relaxed than the castles one as we visited those places with less tourist and more locals. As it was a Monday, the Clock Tower in Sighisoara was closed. We had time to sit down for a lovely Romanian lunch.

The tours are all for small groups and if you are lucky enough you can also be the only client of the day and have the guide for yourself (which we did for two of the tours)!

Admissions to the different historical sites are not included, if you have a student card don't forget to bring it!!! I would definitely love to travel with them again in the future!

Date of experience: April 2019"

''Vous fuyez les lieux emplis de touristes, vous n'aimez ni les zoos ni les cirques. Vous adorez l'authenticité, la nature et savez être patients ? Alors vous saurez apprécier cette excursion exceptionnelle et unique avec l'expérience d'un guide passionné''

Reviewed May 11, 2019

"My son and I were fortunate enough to book Active Travel for a private tour. Best decision ever because we truly did get to see the best of the Transylvania region, castles, palaces, fortresses, etc. Active Travel fulfilled all of their promises and provided lovely hotel accommodations in the center of Brasov. We can’t praise our tour guide, Tudor, enough. His knowledge, love of history, pride and enthusiasm for our cultural discovery made this trip unforgettable. We had so much fun with him and laughed so much that it felt like he was another family member. We really appreciated that each time we arrived at a very busy place, Tudor was able to do his magic and get us right in with no wait. It is very apparent that he loves what he does and does not consider it a job, very special in a young person.
Just when we thought our tour could not get any better, Tudor invited us to his family house. Here we were given the tour of his farm and his family fed us with their own livestock and homemade brandy. They were so gracious and hospitable to us and we could see that this fine young man came from such a beautiful loving family. We came away from this trip loving the people of Romania and already discussing our wish to return. Thanks Tudor and Active Travel for making this vacation so wonderful."

"Es war wirklich das Highlight unserer Reise. Der Ranger Tibirius war ein sehr guter Guide der uns alles über die Bären erklärt hat. Wir mussten im Unterstand ein bisschen Geduld haben aber dann kamen auch schon 2 Bären :) ein rundum gelungener Ausflug."

"This excursion is probably one of tje best things to do if you are in the area, you have to be patient if you want to see something and you are not sure to see a lot of bears (depending on their mood when you come, there is no bear specific agenda) but what you can see is amazing and the real thing! Our guide Tiberius was very friendly and professional (safety measures etc.) And provided us with very interesting comments about what we saw and romanian forests in general."

Reviewed May 12, 2019

"We booked the Braşov & Rasnov tour with an extra to the bear sanctuary. Marian was really helpful in the office - lovely man! - and sorted it all by helping us make up our minds. Charlie was our guide for the day & absolutely made it for us. We learnt so much, he answered all our questions, was courteous and so much fun. We laughed a lot! He is definitely a great advertisement for the company, a real asset. The tour was comprehensive, not rushed at all - the pace was dictated by us - and we would highly recommend visiting all 3 sites. This travel company is the only one to use - nothing is too much trouble, they are helpful, polite and the prices are reasonable."

"We had a lovely tour with Karoly. He is very well informed and has a good sense of humor! Highly recommend doing a trip with active travel."

"Viscri is not to be missed! A wonderful place, rustic Romania, with fantastic scenery. Our guide Dan #thesingingminstel kept us entertained from start to finish. The pace was dictated by us and we never felt rushed. A delightful unscheduled stop to an Orthodox Church, illustrates how flexible the tour guides/company is to make sure you get the best of your day. We would highly recommend this company, you shouldn’t use anyone else in our opinion. And Dans rendition of Ave Maria in the church at Viscri will never be forgotten!!"

Reviewed May 12, 2019

"We booked a hiking tour at Piatra Craiului mountain from Brasov. Mihai was the tour guide who liaise with me… he was very patience to explain my questions and pick us up from the accommodation. During the hike, he always ensure for our safety, teaching us the different things of the nature and even explained to us the history of Romania, Peles Castle, bran castle, etc.
It was definitely our best decision to go on tour… worry and hassle free!"

"I had my guide Charles (Andras Karoly) all for myself on this Rasnov fortress and Bran Castle tour. He was very knowledgeable of Romania's history all the way to a thousand years ago. He answered every question I had about the monuments we were visiting and also about Romania : language, politics, communist era, and so on. He made special stops to show me amazing views of the mountains and of the castle and the fortress. He really went out of his way to make this tour memorable. Chsrles even offered to take pictures of me in front of the monuments, as I am a solo traveller. He shared legends and spooky stories about Vlad the Impaler and other historical figures. I highly recommend Active Travel for their professionnalism, enthusiasm and knowledge of Romania."

"This is a great day trip from Brasov. The reason you book of course is to visit Dracula's (Bran) Castle which is great and in a perfect location but the best part of the trip is the tour around the incredible Peles Castle, the summer residence of the Romanian Royal family (when they were still about). We took this day trip with the excellent Tudor who enhanced the day with his knowledge of history and he added a quick drive through of a ski resort near Brasov and a great viewpoint over Brasov."

Reviewed May 15, 2019

"What a wonderful afternoon exploring Brasov and it’s beautiful surrounds including Bran castle, the Carpathian Mountains and the fortress. Our guide Tudor was outstanding and we highly recommend him for his excellent knowledge, graciousness and willingness to make our day memorable. Don’t lose this guy. Overall a wonderful afternoon."

Best day in Romania!

"What a fantastic day! We started with Peles and then traveled back in history to catch Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Charlie was fabulous! He remembered our names and actively engaged all of us to ensure our comfort, safety, and enjoyment. His knowledge of the places we visited and the routes to get there was immense and entertaining. He is a seasoned professional and all the location staff were delighted to see him. I purchased the version of this tour that included the entrance fees, but there were still some additional optional charges, so be sure to ask about that and bring enough cash. The scenery was absolutely gorgeous, and Charlie included stops at the best viewpoints for amazing pictures and was even happy to fill in as photographer! Lunch was at a lovely chalet in an idyllic spot with views of the mountains and Bran Castle with scrumptious traditional foods and an attentive, friendly staff. I had thought about trying to do this trip on my own, but the logistics of transportation alone would have been a nightmare. Charlie not only made the day efficient and stress-free, but he also made the trip an unforgettable experience."

"Took the Bran Castle and Ranskov Fortress tour with Tudor as our tour guide. What a great trip made even better with Tudor as our guide. He has the most pleasant nature, knowledgeable and passionate style. Top guide

"Could not have asked for a better guide. I was traveling Romania alone so it was nice to be with a small group on this tour. Our guide was fantastic. Not just informative about Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress, and Peles Palace but about the history of his country. He was very personable and made the trip that much more interesting and fun. Excellent tour!"

"Amazing tour with Tudor! I chose the extended Bran/Rasnov/Pele option and am so glad I did. The sites are incredible to see but made better by tour guide. Tudor knows what's he's talking about and loves what he does. It's quite clear. He was incredibly accomdatiig  and respectful. Excellent tour, would 10/10 recommend."

Reviewed June 02, 2019

"Muy bien todo ,bien organizado y la gente muy agradable , como guía excelente ,merece vivir semejantes experiencias. Son unicas Gracias Marian y también Carmen"

Reviewed June 03, 2019

"We booked direct online with Active Travel who were great from the outset. Acknowledged our booking right away and provided meeting instructions in advance.
Tiberius was our driver and guide for our tour we got picked up at 5.30pm by the main square. He was on time and we ended up having a private trip.
He was a safe driver and the vehicle was comfortable. He was very welcoming and has great knowledge of bears and there habits etc.. he's obviously also very passionate about what he does.
I spotted a bear footprint just as we got out the car. The walk to the hide is nice. Quite steep and a little muddy in places wear good shoes. It's a nice walk there and the hide is clean and comfortable.
Totally happy to answer any questions you might have and is very patient.
We felt safe and happy. Unfortunately we didn't see as much bear activity that we would've hoped for but we did see 1 bear, a female 8 years old. And when she first appeared out of the dark depths of the forest it was such an amazing sight. Something I won't forget.
She was beautiful and so very big. Unfortunately she seemed very spooked out and whilst she would usually stay around and eat, she simply grabbed the food and took it away... several minutes later she returned and did the same.
Tiberius let us wait for as long as it was safe, but sadly we didn't see another bear. It's a shame but at least we were lucky enough to see one bear twice.
I'd highly recommend this trip and feel privileged to have been able to see the beautiful brown bear in its natural habitat. Cost for 2 people EUR90.00."

"Daniel is a highly professional and competent mountain guide. He is a ski instructor during the winter months, and he shared stories of being assigned to trail maintenance during his days in the Communist army.
He has a great sense of humor, and made our day trip to the Seven Ladders very memorable.
Highly recommended!!"

Reviewed June 04, 2019

"We loved our tour of these castles and the guidance and knowledge of Charlie, our guide. He went out of his way to show us these beautiful sites, including the fortress church. Seeing the backroads of Brasnov and the other towns were also lovely.
It was a rainy, cloudy day but it did capture the beauty of these castles and surrounds.
We were fortunate to have just the 2 of us which gave us a personal experience. Charlie was respectful, kind and extremely knowledgeable - gave us enough of the history without talking incessantly.
We would highly recommend this company -thanks so much!"

"Tudor was an amazing tour guide, with lots of knowledge on the history of Transylvania and the areas we visited. I learned a lot about the area, and had great conversation. Tudor was very attentive and had an awesome personality. Amazing experience!"

"Rave review!

We toured Bran Castle, Rasnov Citadel, some of the mountainous areas near Brasov, and a local farmers’ market in Brasov with our guide Veris. Our experience was absolutely fantastic. Veris provided us with an overview of the history of the region around Brasov and the territories comprising Romania from ancient times to the present. His intellect and knowledge gave us a new insights into Romania and the character of its people. During a rainy day, Veris offered a helping and very supportive arm to one of us who had a recent knee operation.
We had our best day in Romania thanks to Veris. Highly recommended and we hope to have another tour with him when we return to Romania in the future!"

Reviewed June 06, 2019

"Firstly, Tudor is a superb guide and a thoroughly nice guy, very easy to talk to, courteous and very knowledgable. Lots of laughs were had and we visited some beautiful castles and the breathtaking countryside of Transylvania. Everything went very smoothly, including Tudor collecting us from the train station on time and he is a very careful driver. Highly recommended!!"

"I had a perfect day! Did the 3 castle trip Peles, Bran and Rasnov. Excellent tour' great company' and an amazing guide. Ty Charlie"

"The experience from the time Tudor (tour guide) picked me up at Piata Sfatului (Brasov) was amazing. I didn't even feel like I was on a tour - it's like having a road trip with a friend visiting these stunning sites. Tudor was very informative - you can ask questions anytime you like and he's quite experienced on what he do. He helped me take photos as well - nice photos by the way. This tour is highly recommended - you can ask Todur as your tour guide (maybe) if he's not busy. It was a wonderful trip!"

Reviewed June 09, 2019

"We had a wonderful tour experience from Mr Tudor Georoceanu. He was a fantastic company and very informative. We saw the Castle in a different light and had a great end to a perfect family holiday. Thank you!"

Amazing!!
Reviewed June 09, 2019

"This is a must do trip whilst in Brasov.
Tiberius picked us up at 5;30 in the main square. After a short drive we arrived at the reserve where we had a pleasant walk to the observation hut. our guide Tiberius was extremely knowledgable and made us feel safe at all times.
We sat patiently for around an hour, i was just giving up the will to live when a big brown bear made an appearance, it has to be one of the most amazing experiences i have ever had. We saw a total of 3 different bears 2 big males and a female, which kept coming and going . I would highly recommend this trip and am hoping to take my daughters for their 21st and 18th birthdays."

"Our guide for the day was Charles. He was amazing . I opted for Bran and Rasnov castles, he is very informative and had a fun journey . He also bought us some wild strawberries. Thank you, would recommend to others."

"Amazing trip, exceeded our expectations and would completely recommend this to anyone. Our guide Bogdan is what really made our experience great and rememberable."

Peles Castle, Rasnov Fortress and Bran Castle with Dan Negoescu

"Dan Negoescu was my guide for Peles Castle, Rasnov Fortress and Bran Castle. His English was excellent. His car was modern, clean and comfortable. As a guide he was very friendly, attentive, passionate, knowledgeable, informative and professional. When visiting each of the locations with Dan I could see that he was well connected with and respected by the workers. Dan was a fantastic tour guide and I highly recommend him. Thank you very much Dan!"

"Small-group is exactly what we got with only the two of us met by cheerful and knowledgable guide Tudor Georoceanu. The walk is short drive from Brasov. Avoid weekends as this is a favourite spot for locals and it took us a while to find parking. Also, lots of people on the track which is rough underfoot and difficult to overtake in places. You pay just below the ladders and enter the canyon (have the right change...or small notes). The canyon can be a bit of a bottleneck especially if there are people ahead not so happy with heights and taking their time ascending. The ladders are well made but not enclosed so heed the warnings when it comes to kids etc. Highly recommended otherwise. Also, all credit to our guide Tudor who got us off the main trail to see the Bear Wall climbing spot. Spectacular forest walk and not a soul to be seen....until you re-join the main track."

Reviewed June 16, 2019

"We got picked up promptly and was taken to the forest. After a safety talk we headed a short distance to the hide. We were shown massive paw prints on the way. Then the wait... We only saw 1 young bear a couple of times but it was worth it. She came up really close."

"After years of wanting to visit this castle I finally managed to do it. The castle is amazing, its architecture and all. Wish I could have stayed logner than two hours which was the ammount we were given on the tour we took. Down side was that the castle was crowded with tourists, and I was not even here during peak season, so I can't imagine how crowded it will be then.
Still, this is a must see castle if visiting Romania."

Reviewed June 18, 2019

"My wife & I were very keen to visit the beautiful Romanian villages during our stay in Brasov. We chose Active Travel to plan a private guided tour for us & were very glad we chose them. We visited the gorgeous villages 'Magura' & 'Pestera'& were lucky the weather stayed good. We loved the interaction with the local villagers & enjoyed a traditional lunch at their house. Overall a memorable experience. In fact we were very glad that Marion himself decided to take us for this tour. He is actually a very competent & highly trained mountain guide but his knowledge about the local villages & their culture was impeccable. I would highly recommend Active Travel Tour Company for various day (single or mutiple) tour options, especially if you are keen to trek & explore the glorious mountains that Romania is blessed with. Active Travel has a team of well trained & talented guides, who are locals & hence know the terrain etc. very well. My wife & i found Active Travel to be very professional & they took utmost care to ensure that our day trip was lot of fun & we were well taken care of. I wish Marian all the best for the future & i look foward to exploring the beautiful mountains with him,during my next trip to mesmerising Romania."

Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners