You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2019

Testimonials 2019

Fantastic Private Tour!
Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Entrance Fees Included - Optional Peles Castle...
Reviewed January 6, 2019

"This tour in the winter time was absolutely spectacular, having a private tour and transfer with a group of 6 of my friends and I was very convenient, and each stop was fantastic! Huge thanks to our tour guide Alex, he was so awesome in every regard, whether it be explaining the information and history of each location or just casual conversation at lunch, such a well spoken and interesting person that enhanced the experience heaps!"

Alex Mitu best tour guide in Romania
Review of: Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress Tour from Brasov with Entrance Fees Included - Optional Peles Castle...
Reviewed January 6, 2019

"Alex was an awesome guide from start to finish of the day tour. Even though we were late for the tour in the morning (entirely our fault) Alex went out of his way to come and pick us all up from where we were staying. He is super friendly, made us all feel very comfortable, his English was flawless, and he was just a good guy to be around and talk to. He made the tour around Transylvania very enjoyable and worth while."

A perfect day

 

Reviewed January 10, 2019

 

"We started off the day as the first visitors at Rasnov Fortress and had the place all to ourselves. We followed it up by visiting the famous Bran Castle. Those were both great experiences but the best part of the day was when Marian took us into the Carpathian Mountains to see the traditional villages. The scenery was beyond beautiful. It was peaceful and serene and an all around amazing experience. We visited a bat cave and had a traditional lunch at the oldest guest house in Romania with possibly the best cheese we've ever tried.
It is no surprise that Active Travel is #1 with Trip Advisor. We couldn't imagine a more knowledgeable guide and more perfect day than what Marian gave us. He customized the day to what we most wanted to see and to our hiking abilities. We will always remember this incredible experience. We will be back to see the bears, we hope in September, and we will for sure be contacting Active Travel."

Amazing tour with Alex!

"We had an awesome time at Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Alex was such a great tour guide with bundles of information for us! Highly recommend visit these places if your ever in Brasov."

Reviewed January 14, 2019

"Bran Castle has always been on my list of places to visit, so on our fist visit to Romania wee chose to base our stay in Brasov. We booked our trip to Rasnov & Bran with active travel online. We were met promptly at 8am by Charlie our guide for the day and as it turned out we were his only 2 customers for the trip. We boarded our transport for the day, a spacious well maintained VW transporter and set off for Rasnov. The hilltop fortress wasn’t something we had planned on visiting but I’m glad we did as the views you are rewarded with from the highest point of the citadel are breathtaking. Charlie is very knowledgeable about Romania and being a local he gave us a good in-depth history on the places we visited. After Rasnov we took the short journey onwards to Bran and the Castle, this did not disappoint and again Charlie was able to furnish us with all the history and legends associated with the place.
I would highly recommend this tour guide and the company. Charlie was a superb guide, knowledgeable with a fantastic command of English and above all super friendly, it felt like travelling with a friend. I’m so glad that we booked this tour and only wish we had more time to spend in Romania as I would definitely be booking some of the other tours that they have on offer.
Thanks for the fantastic day!!"

Reviewed January 20, 2019

"Did a days with Balazs Karoly Andreas (known as Karoly - Active Travel. Collection point is from the museum in the main square Brasnov 9am (till 6). Karoly takes small groups out which makes the tour more personal. He is a fountain of knowledge and a real people person, putting the group at ease. All 3 places were absolutely astounding for different reasons.
Firstly Peles Castle (royal palace), Brans Castle (Dracula’s) (where all the action happened) and the Fortress (in times of siege for the town of Rasnov) beautiful views. Highly recommend."

"Charlie (tour guide) met us at 9am as promised, outside the History Museum in Brasov. It was just us and 2 other girls - they only book small groups which we really appreciated as it made it much more intimate and easy to interact etc. We started with Peles castle which was stunning - Charlie was an excellent tour guide who spoke fantastic English and gave brilliant history overviews as we walked around. He was also more than happy to take photos of us throughout the day. We then stopped for lunch before going in to Bran Castle. This was a local restaurant with lovely food - Charlie even organized a little surprise birthday cake for me as it was my birthday! We then went on to Bran Castle, and finished with Rasnov Fort. All in all a really wonderful day :)"

Reviewed February 8, 2019

"Our guide Dan was very kind and friendly. Trip to Sinaia, Bran and Rasnov was enjoyable. Finally he came with me to the train station and help me to buy my train ticket. Thanks for all Dan :)"

Reviewed February 17, 2019

"Fab trip out to Bran Castle and Rasnov. In addition to seeing the castles we had some great photo stops on route which were an added bonus.

Charlie, our guide, was amazing throughout the trip - he showed us all the things that we wouldn't have seen doing this on our own and made sure we had a really enjoyable day. He is an asset to the company :-)"

Reviewed February 18, 2019

"We had a 4-hours tour with Alex Mitu which we enjoyed very much. Alex was very friendly and has a great knowledge about the area and history where we had exciting discussions and amazing tour."

Reviewed February 20, 2019

"Bran Castle was beautiful and Raznov breath taking. We were 8 Canadians on the trip and each and everyone enjoyed the tour. Our guide did a fantastic job of explaining to us the history of the area, he also gave us extra by showing us a fortified church. We all loved it.
I definitly reccomend this tour to others. It is to be a memorable time for years to come.

From 8 Highly Satisfied Canadians, Thank you"

Reviewed February 23, 2019

"Worth it is the least I can say! Dan, my private guide for the whole day was great. Got to know a LOT about Brasov and the country, the history, the myths. He treats a piece of himself as well and that is just beyond expectation. Felt like I was guided by a friend :)"

Reviewed March 3, 2019

"We had an wonderful tour of Bran Castle and the fortress at Raznov. The castle was beautiful and the views from both were breath taking. Our guide Dan was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable on the history of both sites. He gave an interesting and fabulous tour that we enjoyed very much and highly recommend."

Reviewed March 3, 2019

"Несколько дней назад мы: я, моя мама и подруга вернулись из Румынии. У «Аctivetravel» мы приобрели экскурсию — замки Румынии : Пелеш, Друкула и Рышнов. Нас сопровождал экскурсовод Чарли. Экскурсия проходила на английской языке. Обширные знания по теме , эмоциональный рассказ, прекрасное владение языком. Помимо всего, доброжелательность и отзывчивость, внимание к каждому члену нашей команды. Мы прекрасно провели время и получили позитивные впечатления. Спасибо большое Чарли и «Аctivetravel»."

Reviewed March 4, 2019

"Our guide was Charlie, he picked us up on time in a mini-bus. There were two other couples in the bus, but this made the journey even more fun. We left Brasov around 9AM and arrived back around 6PM.We started with Peles Castle, then Bran and Rasnov. We stopped at a very nice restaurant and had lunch. The atmosphere through out the journey was great and we had a good laugh too. Charlie was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot from this trip. Glad that we did it, we took lots of photos and discovered new things about beautiful Romania. Highly recommended. Ps. Wear walking shoes or at least comfortable ones, no heels."

Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners