You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2017

Testimonials 2017

Reviewed January 12, 2017

We booked the Bran Castle, Peles Castle and Rasnov Fortress. I'm sure no matter who took the tour we would have been captured by the by both the raw and polished beauty that these three landmarks had to offer, but it was made so much more enjoyable by having Charlie as our guide. He was entertaining and knowledgable. He had the perfect mix of a great personality, educated and well versed with the area and allowed us to talk amongst ourselves to wonder over the ruins or majesty we found.
One of the best experiences ive ever had with a tour guide.
Highly recommended. No matter who you are or what you are after this has to hit the mark!"

Visited January 2017
 
Reviewed January 15, 2017

"la nostra guida Kartsi Balasz, è stata una piacevolissima sorpresa! professionale,disponibile per ogni necessità.ci ha fatto gustare in pieno la visita ai castelli.
sicuramente ci ritorneremo!!!"

Visited January 2017
 
Reviewed January 23, 2017
 
"Ended having a private tour to the above sites and was amazing. Andras was a great guide, very professional and knowledgeable. Will book more tours when I'm back in beautiful Romania. Thanks again for making my Trip all the more worthwhile."
 
Reviewed January 29, 2017

"Great tour! My friend and I were fortunate enough to be the only ones on the tour at the time so made it feel much more personalised. Balazs showed us great spots to get photos of both the castle and the fortress and during the drive gave us some great facts about the history of both and Romania in general. Highly recommend it."

Visited January 2017
 
Reviewed February 2, 2017

"Hablamos desde España con active travel y quedamos en el día y la hora de la visita. Nuestro guía fue Nacho que nos recogió en nuestro alojamiento y nos mostró toda la ciudad contándonos toda su historia. Muchas gracias, todo perfecto."

Visited February 2017
 
Reviewed February 15, 2017

"We booked to see Bran Castle, Peles Castle and Rasnov Fortress. The trip took the whole day and was wonderful. We were picked up from the square in Brasov at 9am (In February in thick snow!) and dropped back there at around 6pm. Our tour guide Charlie was wonderful - welcoming, informative, knowledgeable and helpful through the day, so much so we booked another tour with him that week. The best day of our whole trip, Charlie not only told us the history relevant to the day but history about Brasov, Romania and anything we asked. I'd highly recommend booking this tour, it is not one to be undertaken without a guide as all sites are a distance apart."

Visited February 2017
 
Reviewed February 25, 2017

"Me and mother got a tour with Charlie, he was really nice and a very good guide, he shows us the castles and tell about the legends, about local history and Dracula!!! He was very attentious with us, so I recommend the tour to people who come ti Brasov. We went 1 day to the castles tour and in the 2 day we went to Sighisoara. It was a very pleasant tour!"

Visited February 2017
 
Reviewed February 26, 2017

"We booked a trip to all the castles available - 1. Peles & Pelisor, 2. Bran Castle, 3. Rasnov Citadel, we loved it all the way! Our guide Dan knew a lot about the areas he drove us through and told us about the story of them all. He stopped couple of times for pictures as well, I will have some great images to show my family! We couldn't get enough of the places we visited, and Dan made everything better by doing karaoke in the car :D Also he showed us a gypsy village in the plains, and advised what else to see, and how to arrange it. Definitely worth every penny! 100 stars!"

Visited February 2017
 
Reviewed March 15, 2017

"My adult children and I toured Peles Castle, Bran Castle, and Rasnov Fortress today. We had an excellent guide, Dan, who was knowledgeable in all facets of the tour whether it was history or where to take the most incredible pictures. We enjoyed the day immensely and recommend Dan to all who would see these sites with an expert guide."

Reviewed March 19, 2017

"My tour was soooo special. I experienced feeling like I was in Game of Thrones + a Brothers Grimm fairytale book + An inside view into Prince Charles' mind + Animal farm. My guide Balazs Karoly Andras was a history teacher, buddy for the day, and a gentleman as he held my umbrella in the rain so I could finagle good pics. He also took great pics of me for me. He drove to ensure the beauty of the country side could be enjoyed and all tour stops had adequate viewing time. This tour has made me fall deeply in love with Romania."

Reviewed March 25, 2017

"Had a great tour today to Peles Castle , Brans Castle and Rasnov Fortress . There was me and another couple on this tour . Our tour guide was Mihai Craciun and he really made this tour great ! During the drive he pointed out different points of interest that I never would have known about otherwise . He went out of his way to make this tour an unforgettable one . I really have to say one more time that this is a great tour."

Visited March 2017
 
Reviewed April 4, 2017

"We booked this £40pp tour and were taken around by Mihai who was very polite, friendly and attentive to us during the day. However, I thought he would add more to the guides of the castles and fortress and felt a little short changed by the whole experience. We still had to pay entrance fees and do not feel as if he gave us any extra 'facts' or historical background to the castles than what we already knew from the tour.
On a positive another note, it was very good to be taken hassle free from location to location but honestly think we could have saved half by just making our own way there by coach or bus."

Visited March 2017
 
Reviewed April 4, 2017

"We had great time with Dan, very recommended. Wide knowledge and great spirit. Any one should take him !"

Reviewed April 5, 2017

"I booked this tour as a birthday surprise for my partner who didn't know we were coming to Romania. I emailed the company and they were really prompt getting back to me and arranged a private tour for us so it was extra special. Our guide was charlie and he was an absolute gentleman, and extremely knowledgeable on all the history of Romania. We really felt like he went out of his way to make us feel special and took us to a fab authentic romanian restaurant for a pitt stop lunch! He was very tentative to our needs and went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed. I would highly recommend the company and tours to anyone coming to the area as they were very professional yet friendly. We have fallen in love with it here!!!!"

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 8, 2017

"This trip was booked for me by my partner as a surprise and we visited 3 castles. The tour guide Charlie was nothing less than excellent. Even though he had been doing these tours for over 10 years it felt like he enjoyed it as if it was his first. Very professional, kind, friendly and full of knowledge, he even took us to a local restaurant for lunch. I would highly recommend and would love to do a tour again someday."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 9, 2017

"We chose "Day tour in Romanian mountain villages" . And it turned out to be a great choice, because Marian offered us more exciting hiking during which we saw not only the Romanian villages, but also a fabulous mountain scenery. But it is not only a hiking, but guided excursion!
Marian asked us about our plans for next days. And it saved us. We had planned to go to the Bucegi mountains, look at the famous Sphinx, but the Busteni lift did not work, since our plans could break down unless Marian and Mihai not be offered an excellent proposal: Mihai was our companion on the next day to the Peles castle and hike in Bucegi mountains.Thank you Marian and Mihai!"

Visited March 2017
 
Reviewed April 9, 2017

"We selected this tour company among several tour companies we made inquiries to because of how proactive and service oriented they were. They immediately asked questions about our travels and made some valuable suggestions that we really appreciated being unfamiliar with the region. They ended up adjusting our tour for us and making it more efficient without additional cost. This was highly appreciated as we were tight on time, but wanted to get the most of our trip.

Our guide Mihai was great. We were travelling as a family of 4 and he was patient with us,warm and friendly and had a great rapport with the kids. He was informative and went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our tour. We definitely recommend him."

Visited March 2017
 
Reviewed April 10, 2017

"We did a half day trek at 7 ladders with activetravel. Our guide is Christian who had picked us up from our accommodation. Though the fee of 29 euro was abit pricy, we felt that Christian have done a good job. During the trek, due to the snow from the previous days, the ground very very slippery. Things were made worse at places where there are slopes. Our sports shoes weren't meant for these kind of terrain and Christian had provided alot of assistance when encountered with these terrains. While trekking, Christian has also assisted us in recording the process while climbing the ladder. It was no easy feat cos this guy was just climbing with one hand on a slippery and cold ladder! He must have been really experienced to do so! From what Christian shared, he had officially started guiding since 2009! One last thing we like abt Christian was his sense of humour! It was fun having a conversation with him. :)"

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 11, 2017
 
"reservamos un tour que aunque era un poco antes de lo normal (principios de abril) pudimos ver dos osos y 4 zorros en plena naturaleza. muy recomendable si eres amante de la naturaleza.

el guardia forestal Alex muy atento y organizado."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed March 26, 2017

"Had a great tour today to Peles Castle , Brans Castle and Rasnov Fortress . There was me and another couple on this tour . Our tour guide was Mihai Craciun and he really made this tour great ! During the drive he pointed out different points of interest that I never would have known about otherwise . He went out of his way to make this tour an unforgettable one . I really have to say one more time that this is a great tour ."

Visited March 2017
 
Reviewed April 14, 2017

"Let me say that a good guide is worth every penny and Dan from activetravel was perfect. This guy was funny, knowledgeable and the very definition of a perfect tour guide.
In between the three major attractions we made a few stops, learned a ton of history and exchanged some differences and similarities between our countries. There are many ways to see these places on your own, but trust me when I say that it's worth your money when you have a guy like Dan leading your day. 10/10 would do again."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 17, 2017

"Karol Andras, thanks for your excellent guidness around Carpats mounts , Brasov, Sinaia. The tour is beautiful , with nice landscapes and castles."

Reviewed April 19, 2017

"One of the tour guides, Kartsi Balázs, drove me and my friends around to many different places in Romania on our 3rd day and explained all the history along the way! He was very friendly and patient with us, offering to take photos of us against the wonderful scenery and historical places! He was very down to earth, open minded and had a great sense of humor. He instantly made us feel comfortable being our crazy selves around him and we just couldn't stop laughing! We had a blast!

I would definitely recommend booking a tour with these guys as they are really passionate about their jobs and they really know what they're doing. It was such a wonderful experience for us with this agency and we would definitely book with them again! Thank you for making our holiday a bit more special :)"

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 20, 2017

"Thank you, Kartsi Balazs for a great tour. Me and my mom enjoyed our day in Brasov, Kartsi was really friendly and explained in detail Romanian History. He was kind enough to show us some additional spots around the castle so we could appreciate beautiful Romanian landscapes. He even was willing to try with me axe throwing in Rasnov Fortress.
I cant recommend this tours enough and will definitely take them again in the future."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 20, 2017

"I went on the Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress and Pele's Castle tour with Charlie from Active Travel and I have to say this was one of the best experiences I've had in my travels. He was funny, really knowledgeable and informative about Brasov and every place we went on. He answered all our questions and did not got tired on the request of taking pictures, and even tho Charlie have been doing this for years, it felt like it was the first time!
I had the luck of having snow during my tour, which fascinated me so much, I will never forget this day.
If you are visiting Brasov, I strongly encourage you to book with active travel, they definetely know what they're doing! Thanks again to Charlie and the Active Travel team for everything."

Visited April 2017

Reviewed April 22, 2017

"Mr. Karoly Andras is an excellent tour guide. He is friendly and very knowledgeable of Romanian History. We are fond of travelling with him as he can spark our interest in in learning about the history of the three castles. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone interest in exploring the Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress and Peles Castle."

Reviewed April 29, 2017

"I took a day trip to Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress and Peles Castle from Brasov. There was only one other participant so it almost felt like a private tour. Our guide was Andras who was very knowledgeable of the history as well as interesting side stories of the places we visited, and a very fun guy with a great sense of humor. The weather was not the best that day, but we still had a lot of fun. And the icing on the cake was that it was started snowing when we got to Peles Castle, and the view was breathtaking. I recommend everyone visiting Brasov to take this day trip with Active Travel."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed April 30, 2017

"We went to Bran and Rasnov with Charlie. He was great. Not only did was he an excellent guide but also really great company. Thank you for hanging out with us today!"

Reviewed April 2, 2017

"This was the highlight of our trip across Romania! We arranged it in advance and received really good communication from Marian, who worked around our limited dates in Brasov. We were met spot on time at the agreed place by the ranger and driven out to meet the other people, we were a party of 10. We walked at a good pace for about 20-30 minutes up through the forest. It's a little steep in places and rough ground so not suitable for those with mobility problems. At one point the ranger stooped down and placed his hand inside a paw print on the ground. Yikes, it's for real! We arrived at the hide and settled down as quietly as we could, and after just a few minutes a female bear wandered into the clearing. They put out bread to encourage them to come, and they know you're there but are not a threat. After a while the bear wandered off and there was then quite a wait until 3 male bears came to join the party. One of these was really large! We were absolutely fascinated to see these beautiful creatures in the wild and frankly quite surprised at how big they are. You certainly wouldn't want to be chased by one. During the wait we learned quite a lot about their behaviour from the ranger and were told that they can run much faster than humans, up to 50km/hr. But mostly they try to stay away from humans, so this was a real privilege to see them. They were probably about 50m away (it's tricky to judge), but with our telephoto lens we got some great photos. We absolutely recommend this activity for adults who want something a bit different, and we felt this company were well-organised and gave us a great experience. Thank you!"

Visited April 2017

Reviewed April 6, 2017

"This trip was awesome! Mihai was an excellent guide - his passion for nature and the environment really came through and made us appreciate the incredible beauty of the areas we visited and hiked through even more. We saw some amazing scenery and learned a lot about the area from Mihai. We're so glad we took this tour and I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks Mihai! :)"

Visited May 2017
Reviewed May 8, 2017

"This was the best tour ever! , we planned the tour with marian online and he was super nice and helpful. Also charlie was so fun and with a great sense of humor which made our adventure to Transylvania one to remember. Both of them took us on wild adventures full of fun and spectacular views! . I would highly recommend this company to anyone who wants to see the best parts of Transylvania. Thanks for making this holiday one of the best and we will keep ur in our thoughts every time we think of romania <3."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed May 12, 2017

"Together with my 11 year old son I visited Brasov and we wanted to experience nature and rural live. Marian really understood what I was looking for. We did an excellent visit to the bear hide one evening with Alex, a very nice guide. For us it was an extraordinary experience, to see the beauty of these wild animals in safety with a guide. Beautifull! We also made a 2 day trekking in Pietra Craiului with guide Bogdan (an excellent history teacher as well!). Also an excellent adventure. We stayed in Curmatura Hut and passed the villages of Pestera and Magura. The program was adapted to our needs and we have the greatest memories of Romanian wildlife and nature. If you want to experience rural life, without getting lost, get in touch with Active Travel."

Visited April 2017
 
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Full day trip to see the Transfagarasan Highway, Balea Lake & a hike up to see the glorious waterfall of Balea Falls. Great view from the cable car up the mountain.
Mihai picked us up from our rental apartment & was very knowledge, friendly, plus an expert mountain guide.
He also stopped off at a monestry & other sites to break up the trip.

Visited May 2017

Reviewed May 20, 2017

"My husband and I took the three castle tour with Charlie, and I cannot say more good things about it. Charlie was an absolutely perfect tour guide! There wasn't a question we asked that he didn't know the answer to, and he did so with a fun and upbeat personality. We had both been to Bran Castle one time before, but got so much more out of it going with the tour. The other two castles were new to us, and we're so happy we chose to add on the additional Peles trip. On top of his knowledge, Charlie also seemed to know everyone! He introduced us to a museum owner inside Rasnov fortress who had an incredible collection, and was eager to show us his appearance in the Scorpion King 4 movie.

tl;dr: If you're looking for a tour company in Brasov, this is the one to choose!"

Visited May 2017
 
Reviewed May 24, 2017

"We all had a great time with Charlie! He looked after each and every one. We had an elderly and Charlie always helped him when going up and down the steps. Offered them alternatives. He's very knowledgeable (literally a walking guidebook) and full of stories - makes the tour much more interesting and educational. We all had a delicious lunch, a nice coffee break in a village. The trip was well organised. It was a great day! Thank you!"

Visited May 2017
 
Amazing guide! Fabulous day trip!
Reviewed May 30, 2017

Our guide Balazs Andras was amazing!! The day tour to the castles and fortress was awesome! Couldn't have been any better!!

Reviewed May 30, 2017

"This was one of the best tours I've been on. We had a small group which was nice. The tour guide was fantastic, fun, very informative and made sure that we made it back to the train on time. Peles castle is incredible, Bran castle was great to visit - especially as fans of Dracula. The fort has amazing views of Rasnov. This is well worth the money and visit. Highly recommend."

Visited May 2017
 
Reviewed May 31, 2017

"We did the castles tour in Brasov which included transportation and a guide. Our guide Kartsi was awesome and professional! It felt more like a friend showing us the sights with him. He knew so much about romanian history. The tour was done at a relaxing pace and there was no rush to get to the next destination. 5 stars and thanks Kartsi!"

Reviewed May 31, 2017

"Our guide Charlie was exceptional. We couldn't have asked for a better one, and there probably isn't a better one. He knew so much, was so helpful and very good company. I think that a tour of someone's empty wine cellar would be worth a visit if Charlie were the guide! And i'm not joking. At the time i said to him that his tour was 11 out of 10, i wasn't joking about that either. Phill."

Reviewed June 2, 2017

"Great company, very well organised and friendly. We were impressed how they listened to what we wanted to do and adapted everything to suit us. Amazing country for walking, fantastic nature and adventure and everyone was so welcoming."

Reviewed June 3, 2017

"We had and excellent guide, Mihai Cracuin, he knows history and folklore and the land of Brasov. We had a whole day of castles, fortresses and excellent views. I also had a beer. The scenery is the best; especially in May. Hire one or several day trips. Ask for Mihai."

Reviewed June 6, 2017

"Ho fatto l'escursione serale per vedere gli orsi, l'organizzazione è stata rapida, puntuale e professionale, ho visto due orsi e diverse volpi, da consigliare a tutti gli amanti della natura!"

Reviewed June 7, 2017

"I cannot praise our guide more.Dan Negoescu was a fountain of Knowledge .Not only on Romania history but on the flora and fauna ,geograpical features of his country.He was welcoming and amusing and even sang for us.My daughter and I and Tien a Chinese guy who joined us had a fabulous day .Cheers Dan .Kath and Jenny"

Reviewed June 12, 2017

"Vi åkte för att titta på björnar tillsammans med Alexandru och Jiga som hämtade upp oss på vårt hotell. De var väldigt informativa och proffsiga. Under tiden vi satt i byggnaden såg vi först en liten räv och sedan sju björnar i olika omgångar. Enligt Alexandru hade de lagt i tre kilo choklad i varje trälåda för att locka fram björnarna. Det var lite läskigt att gå tillbaka i skogen med vetskapen om hur många björnar det finns där.

Tack för en riktigt bra upplevelse, det var verkligen mycket värde för pengarna och vi kommer definitivt att rekommendera alla som besöker Rumänien att göra detta!"

Best Birthday Ever!
Reviewed June 18, 2017

"Carol Balazs was my tour guide for the day, he made the tour fun while also educating myself and the other woman on the tour. He made sure we stayed safe (it was raining so the ground was slippery at times). Carol took us to an excellent restaurant and secretly let the staff know it was my birthday, they came out with a nice piece cake and sang to me. His driving was excellent as well as his sense of humor. The length of the tour is perfect, and there was no feeling of being rushed. It was very cool seeing so many castles in one day. There were tons of opportunities to learn not only history but cool random facts too. Even on a rainy day, the castles are amazing. I highly recommend taking this tour, and if you do, ask for Carol. And definitely, bring a camera and some good walking shoes! The tour I went on started at 9 am and ended around 6 pm, so set aside the whole day if you plan on taking this tour!"

Castles & Romanian History
Reviewed June 18, 2017

"Mihai Cracuin is very professional and knowledgeable. Our family of 4 spent a day with him to visit Peles Castle, Pelisor Castle, Bran Castle, and Rasnov Fortress.
Through Mihai, we learned about the history of these magnificent places and also recent history of Romania. We highly recommend him to anyone visiting Brasov area."

"I highly recommend requesting Dan Negoescu for your guide to the castles-I did the combination of Peles, Bran and Rasnov, and it was a comfortable, fun, and tremendously informative day! Not only is Dan an expert in Romanian history (amongst other topics!), he also brings a considerable amount of energy, enthusiasm and humor to the tour. Aside from history, we talked a lot about culture and other topics of interest. He cares about the work that he does, it is clear, and was always mindful of my needs. He even has a hidden talent for singing! :)

The tour was extremely reasonably priced for a 9-6ish tour, and I am glad that I had the opportunity to explore Transylvania in a different way and learned so much! Thanks, Dan!"

Great experience!
Reviewed June 24, 2017

"I have booked for a small group (family and friends visiting Romania) a day trip to see Transfagarasan and Balea Lac. My contact person was at the start Marian, with whom I had a great communication prior to our departure. He answered very quickly to all of our concerns, he was very flexible and helpful.
On the trip itself, Charlie was our guide. He is just an amazing person! very knowledgeable, friendly and fun. He puts so much soul in what he does! He shared many interesting stories and showed us great spots. We had an excellent time with him and would fully recommend this tour!"

Bears in the wild
Reviewed June 24, 2017

"Great trip to see bears in the wild, amazing opportunity for those who love nature and the environment. Something really different to share with friends and would make a great experience for families. The staff very informative and helpful and made the experience even more memorable."

Reviewed July 1, 2017

"The most wonderful guide I've ever encountered. A one day tour to Peles castle, Bran Castle and the Rasnov Fort. Mumbai had extensive knowledge of the history of his country and has a passion for sharing it. His commentary on all areas visited really meant a lot of new learning for us and nothing was a problem for him. He was happy to go out of his way to provide options for great photos and tips for traveling. I would recommend this agency and Mihai without hesitation."

Reviewed July 4, 2017

"After 5 days in Brasov I have to admit I was enchanted by the charm of Transylvania mountains, people and their way of life…

First day I did half day trip - climb up 7 Canyon Ladders and hiking with Bogdan Moise, great experience to climb up those ladders and hiking all the way down with very experience mountain guide. In the evening I had an opportunity to see Brown Bear in the Wild – it is great to experience the real thing watching 8-9 bears in the actual forest.

Second day I joined full day trip to Peles Castle, Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Our guide, Balazs Karoly, is a subject matter expert in Romania history and he knows the roads every well!

The third day was the highlight of the trip I took Transfagarasan Road Trip and Poienari Fortress. This is a must do trip to experience the Transfagarasan road and the 1480 steps to the Poienari Fortress including visit the Vidraru Dam and Balea Lake.

The last day I decided to explore more of Transylvania I went to another town call Medieval Sighisoara and visited Viscri and Rupea Fortress along the way including Saxon Village. The overall experience was great and strongly recommended if you have a chance to visit Romania."

Reviewed July 7, 2017

"Marian gave us a lot of help planning and putting together our itinerary. He was friendly, easy to deal with and emails were always answered promptly. We had a week in Romania and he put together a fascinating, interesting and varied programme.

Our guide Charlie was everything you could hope for. He was friendly, funny, extremely knowledgeable and gave us a wonderful history of Romania and all the places we visited. Nothing was too much trouble.

We arrived to unexpected torrential rain and he happily stopped off at a shopping mall so we could buy rain macs. We visited the Transfăgărășan highway and because of the weather could not appreciate it's scale nor get good photos. Charlie happily took us back again the next day after our scheduled sightseeing to get another look (which involved him doing several hours of extra driving). Just a couple of examples of how he went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our trip was a success.

He also happily added a trip to the bear sanctuary into our itinerary when he learned we were all animal lovers.

He booked restaurants for us, got us to the front of the line at busy attractions and generally looked after us. I can't recommend him or the company highly enough.

The mini van was comfortable and air conditioned.

Romania is a remarkable country, thanks to Charlie & Marian for bringing it to life for us."

Reviewed July 8, 2017

"We had an interesting. very enjoyable and challenging trip, we met everything that the Carpathians have to offer, rain, sun accents, descents and even bears. Although the trip was planned in advance, the adjustments made during the trip show that Marian and Christian understood the spirit and physical capabilities of the group very well."

Reviewed July 12, 2017

"We went bear watching yesterday evening and saw two brown bears and a wild boar! They was a really exciting experience, would highly recommend. The tour office was really helpful and friendly, we were a late booking but they still managed to accommodate us.
We want to recommend our guide Charlie. He was friendly, funny and genuinely interested in all the wildlife and nature of the forest. He spoke perfect English. We really enjoyed his company. Thanks so much Charlie! Plus he recommended a fantastic Romanian restaurant for dinner afterwards.... The papanasi was delicious!"

Reviewed July 13, 2017

"The day with Mihai was great! We visited the castles Peles, Bran and Rasnov - all of which are beautiful in their way! Great were also the many extras he showed us - like a charming mountain village with a fabulous view! This trip is highly recommended!"

Reviewed July 14, 2017

"We cannot rate this small group day hiking trip highly enough. We were picked up by Bogdan (there were only 2 of us that day) and driven to the start of the hiking trail. A small national park admission fee is payable (please have some spare leu). As the weather was excellent and sunny that day, we took the trail from Zarnesti Gorge to Cabina Cumatura and then onwards to Piatra Mica (ie the Little Rock). It was strenous at some parts but is not a technical hike although the climb through the ridges towards the peak of Piatra Mica required some scrambling on all fours and the use of cables. This hike is very interesting and scenic as it goes through various different landscapes within a few hours: you go through limestone gorges, moss covered forests and streams, meadows with grazing cows, exposed craggy ridges with scrubland plants etc. and we got to enjoy gorgeous panaromic viewpoints. I took some pictures but the pictures cannot truly convey the beauty and scale of the landscapes. We had a lunch break at Cabina Cumatura and the soups were delicious. We only saw one other hiker and a local family whilst on the trail so it seems to be relatively untouristy (or maybe we went on a weekday). Bogdan has a very interesting background and was a friendly and enthusiastic guide - you can tell that he really enjoys his job! In all, this was easily the greatest highlight of our week in Romania. We were quite glad we went with a guide - we didn't have to spend time checking maps/GPS and making sure we were going the right way! Take it from me: don't spend all your time on castles, old villages and fortresses in Transylvania, after a while it is repetitive and they all look the same - do this hiking trip!"

Reviewed July 16, 2017

"I had a great trip together with my girlfriend, two other friendly travelers and our guide Kartsi/Charlie. Charlie was very knowledgeable about the history of Romania and all the places we visited. He even went out of his way to show us a beautiful village at the top of a mountain with a great view! He also seemed to have a genuine interest in his work and making it enjoyable and interesting for all of us in the group. The woman we booked the tickets from was also very nice and helpful and even stayed with us after the office closed to book our trip. I would highly recommend using this company. It was a spectacular trip and a great way to see the castles Bran, Peles an Rasnov and the area around Brasov."

Reviewed July 19, 2017

"All we can say is that if it wasn't for Dan Negoescu our experience in Brasov wouldn't have been the same! We had a rough start getting to Romania, but it all changed when we hoped into Dans car.

Dan was a fantastic guide, full of life knowledgeable, respectful and genuine. Not to mention he has an awesome singing voice! It felt like we were taking around parts of Romania by a family member! Will be coming back to Romania and catching up with our mate Dan the Man!! Dan also took extra time to show us parts of Brasov and surrounds that weren't in the tour. It really felt that he cared about his country and who he was showing it to!

Active travel was great also, due to our flights being cancelled to get to Romania, we had missed our original tour booking. Being completely flustered I had booked another tour but for the day after which was mistake on my behalf.
We walked into Active travel in Brasov and the gentleman was able to make the changes we needed with great customer service!

Highly recommend the travel agency and especially Dan!"

Reviewed July 23, 2017

"I was travelling with my two sons (14 & 16 years). We booked the day hike in Piatra Craiului National Park, visit to Bran and Rasnov and bear walk with Active Travel. Excellent stuff! The guides were great. Hike was so nice. Bran castle was a bit of a disapoinment (too many people), Rasnov was great. At bear hike we saw 9 bears, also mom with cubs."

Reviewed July 27, 2017

"Excelente visita. Nuestro guía Dan fue muy cálido y atento. Nos dio una buena clase de historia rumana y de Transilvania muy recomendable. Ademas, abierto a hablar de todos los temas que quieran siempre con un clima de cordialidad y respeto. Se lo recomiendo a mis amigos, así que no dudar de contratarlos!!! Saludos"

Reviewed July 29, 2017

"He was wonderful, friendly, very well informed and accommodating. He took the time to show us around and never rushed us. He payed attention to our interests and played to those so all the facts were relative and fun. Even picked me up at my hotel and dropped me off after the tour. I even got some personal restaurant recommendations that were outside the tour. Thanks Charlie!"

Reviewed July 30, 2017

"I highly recommend this tour to anyone who comes to Romania ! Our tour guide Balazs Karoly ( aka Charlie) was just amazing , his vast knowledge of the areas and his own special brand of humour was outstanding , he went over and beyond our tour by taking us to a place high in the mountains to view the beautiful rolling mountains and also
A few stops to get a different view point to take more pics ! There was only 3 of us and we all got on famously ! Definitely a five star tour ! Huge day with some awesome people and the magical sights of Brasov Romania ! Thank you active tours and especially Charlie !"

Reviewed July 30, 2017

"Active Travel is a very good company to visit castles in Brasov. We booked the tour and were picked up by an excellent guide, Dan Negoescu, in a private car. We shared the tour with another couple so it was almost private. Dan did everything to make us feel comfortable and meet our tastes and needs. We had a great time together and learned a lot from his active explanations! In a place where we were badly ill-treated by taxi drivers, it was a pleasure to visit places with such a nice person like him. Highly recommended company!!"

Reviewed August 1, 2017

"So we booked this wonderful day trip and we were so looking forward. I am Romanian but my husband is Swedish and I wanted to show him the beautiful landscapes from Transilvania. Mihai our guide was amazing , he answered every question my husband had about Romania , history and everything else. We had a traditional lunch at the Pensiune and I loved the cheese tasting the most. It is a trip that requires a lot of walking and a bit of climbing but if you can do it you'll not regretted. Multumim Mihai, multumim Active Travel."

Reviewed August 2, 2017

"Good little tour this - very small group i.e. myself and my wife (good that they obviously didn't have a minimum group size). There was a bit of a mix up to start, with the guide coming to our hotel instead of the pick up place (2 mins walk away) and the girl at the company was a bit 'off' to my wife on the phone, when we had called to see where the guide was, suggesting that it was our fault (our fault we had gone to the designated pick up point at the designated time?). This meant we started 15 mins later than advertised. This had the knock-on effect that we didn't go round the Black Church as the guide stuck religiously to our 3hr time slot. That aside this was really interesting and informative. I have been to Brasov 3 times before but I learned more about the city and its history on this tour than all the other times put together."

Reviewed August 2, 2017

"My 19-year-old daughter and I went on the tour of Pelye palace and Bran castle (and the citadel) with a wonderful tour guide, Dan Negoescu. There was one other couple on the tour, so only 4 of us in total, so we really got a lot of individualized attention. I had tons of questions and Dan patiently answered all of them! Dan had fascinating books and pictures with him, which he shared with us in the process of telling us the stories and historical context that surround these places. The day was very full and rewarding and Dan is truly a knowledgeable, dedicated, hardworking guide. We went in his private car and he drove safely and attentively throughout. I highly recommend this tour and tour guide to all interested persons!"

Visita Peles, Bran y Rasov
Reviewed August 9, 2017

"Nuestro guía Karoly fue excelente, atento y amable, nos dio una clase sobre la historia de Rumanía y Transilvania, así como todos los datos relacionados a la arquitecta y función de los castillos, respondiendo todas nuestras preguntas y dándonos tiempo para recorrer y sacar fotografías. Lo recomiendo un 100%"

Reviewed August 15, 2017

"We had 2 excellent trips with Active Travel

First the Bear watching - we saw 6 bears and quite a few foxes - the adults and teenagers were all very happy. The guides were great and really friendly.

Then the next day to Bran Castle - picked up by Charlie who was excellent - a really friendly guide with superb knowledge again we all enjoyed and learnt lots about the history of the castle and Romania.

Thank you"

Reviewed August 16, 2017

"Charlie is an excellent guide. He knows everything about all the places we went, and he speaks English very well. The day we went it was just my wife and me, so we had a private tour. He also told us a lot about Romania as we were driving from place to place. He had funny stories to share. It was a really enjoyable day. It was one of the highlights of our month-long trip to Eastern Europe."

Reviewed August 17, 2017

"We had an excellent trip with our guide Andras Balazs,who spoke fluently in English and showed us the picturesque views of Transfagarasian road and its wherabouts including Poienari castle and Balea Lac. The most important thing was that we shared the same sense of humour."

חוויה בלתי נשכחת עם - Active travel

Reviewed August 19, 2017

הצטרפתי כמלווה לקבוצה שמנתה 24 מטיילים מתוכם 8 בעלי לקות ראיה/עיוורון. 7 ימים של טיולי שטח בברשוב בנופים עוצרי נשימה, בהדרכתם של מריאן וכריסטיאן המדהימים. ההדרכה היתה מקצועית ביותר,יחס אדיב, המסלול נבחר בקפידה והתאים לכל הקבוצה. אמינות ושרות ברמה מעולה !!! ממליצה לא לפספס, אין ספק שאחזור !!!

Reviewed August 21, 2017

"Big thank you to Karoly today, fantastic tour guide and good fun. We had a terrific day out with him, and learned a lot about the area and it's rich heritage. Much appreciated mate! Julie & Richard"

Reviewed August 23, 2017

"We spent the all day vising the castles and the fortress with our super guide, Dan Negoescu, who speaks english fluently and knows a lot about his country history. By the way, he is also a very good singer, we enjoyed the day very much in his company."

Bear tour with Karoly!
Reviewed August 25, 2017

"Had the pleasure to be on this tour with Karoly, fluent english and a very nice person who loves his job, thank you Karoly! We were really lucky with the amount of bears(15 ish) and even 2 foxes. Ive never seen these fantastic animals in the wild so it felt special."

Reviewed August 28, 2017

We took two tours, both with a chap called Mihai from Active Travel. Absolutely excellent and good value for money. The first was to Bran Castle and other locations to the south of Brasov, we learned a great deal about local history, were taken to some extra locations, somehow managed to skip straight to the front of the enormous queue at Bran Castle (warning - it is very crowded), really enjoyed Rasnov fortress, and had great conversations with Mihai about life In Romania including in the communist era (he spoke excellent English).The second day was a whole day trip to Sighisoara, including the awesome fortified church and village at Viscri (only really accessible by 4x4 due to very poor road access), castle at Rupea and many other locations. Mihai really went the extra mile and knew exactly what we were looking for. The whole experience was outstanding. Active Tours were recommended in our guide books, so we booked before arrival in Romania, the whole process was simple, the pick up in central Brasov was perfect. We'd recommend these sorts of personalised tours if you want to get local insight and don't want the hassle of too much self-driving, but don't want to be part of a large coach party."

Reviewed August 29, 2017

"We had a very fun and informative day out with Charlie, it was great. We got to experience the local tourist attractions and bars - Charlie was very knowledgeable and accommodating about all. All in all, a perfect day trip from Brasov. We much preferred this as compared to the other option we were entertaining, which was a train from Brasov to Sighisoara then down to Bucarest. Train times weren't as agreeable from Sighisoara and we would have missed so much without Charlie's guidance."

Reviewed September 2, 2017

"Hello! We made the tour with Kartsi Balázs. We really enjoyed our day. Relaxing sunny day in a friendly company, we sure want repeat in other tour trips. Sighisoara is a small but charming place full of history. We had a great guide for the city. Viscri I found it as an authentic Romanian village. Silent and with a hidden beauty, boring for this century but same as gold for old souls and those who search for inside peace. Thank you and see you next time! Best regards, Adina S."

Reviewed September 2, 2017

"Mihai speaks good English, and his good fitness level, plus his extensive knowledge of the terrain and local customs, made him the perfect guide for taking us on a half-day hike through hills and valleys, and past local houses and farms. He even negotiated with a local farm owner to obtain some fresh sheep cheese for us. We definitely want to return!"

Amazing Transylvania
Reviewed September 7, 2017

"A group of 4 met Carlie in Brasov and did the Sishisora and Viscry. It was a highlight of our Viking Cruise to Eastern Europe. We contracted with him privately. A comfortable van - he was an excellent driver - especially the very bad roads to Viscry. He claims they don't fix them because they don't want a lot of tourists. Both towns were an absolute delight. A must is to climb the many steps of the covered staircase to the church on the hill. It costs a little - but you see the restoration of the Messerschmitt foundation in recovering the ancient frescoes and you see an amazing crypt. It was a beautiful day with full sun and visiting the cemetery behind the church was fascinating.

A remarkable day with a very personable and knowledgable guide. He helped us get train tickets for our next day train to Bucharest."

Reviewed September 7, 2017

"I joined a group on the second day of their 4 day trip. We were delighted to have Mihai as our guide - he was knowledgeable, good English and all-round nice guy. We were based at a lovely guesthouse in the mountains and undertook day walks from there. This was perfect as it allowed us to leave all our gear at the guest house for the day. We had hot showers and excellent meals each day. We were relatively fit and he helped us choose good challenging day walks a couple of days. On the other days we had relatively easy walks, including a trip to Bran Castle and zip-lining - I recommend both. All in all, a great adventure with sound guide, good communications when booking and amazing walks."

Reviewed September 19, 2017

"This was an amazing trip and I really can't fault it.

Alex and his Dad conceived of the idea and then made it a reality and what a reality it is!

Alex picked us up in a 4 x 4 at our hotel, we drove through Brasov to pick up another couple and then we traveled through the beautiful Romanian countryside to the forested hills in search of bears.

En route we passed through the village where Alex still lives and then another where his grandparents live and so we got a sense of how connected to this land and its' nature Alex is. His enthusiasm is infectious and his knowledge second to none.

As we drove into the foothills, the path became rough and narrow, and it felt like we'd left the world of modern man far behind. "To our right", Alex called, and there was a deer perched on a rocky outcrop. We stopped and watched in silence for a while.

On we went for a few more minutes and then pulled over to the side of the rocky path. Alex's uncle was waiting for us, a rifle strapped over his shoulder and a welcoming smile on his face. And then we were off. No-one mentioned the rifle!

It's a short hike, up a steep incline through trees and along a narrow path. The climb is aided by guy ropes but it is steep and good footwear is recommended. Both Alex and his uncle were on hand to help if needed. At all times you must be as silent, and there is a realization that this is very real as twigs snap noisily underfoot and we cast anxious glances into the trees, looking for those great creatures we have come to see.

Ahead we see a wooded structure built into the hill and overlooking an open area below. This is the hide and Alex signs us to an even greater silence as he picks his footsteps carefully, painstakingly towards the door into the hide. One by one we creep towards that door, slip inside and then take our positions on 4 stools, looking down onto the forest floor below.

And then we wait, and hope and finally we see. Bears, one, then two and then a fox which tries it's luck in grabbing some of that food, but fails and then there's two more bears and finally we have seen six in all, two of whom engage in a fight, and two more who take an opposite view of life as they enjoy an amorous embrace.

Our recommendation? Go because it's an adventure and something you'll never forget. Alex can't guarantee bears but there is a high probability you'll see them and if you don't, you'll still have had an adventure and some great company."

Reviewed September 26, 2017

"I will never forget this experience. We saw 5 bears! Koleen and Alex were great, both very knowledgeable. The excursion was very well organised, you should not miss the opportunity to take this tour!"

Reviewed September 30, 2017

"Balazs Karoly Andras is born and bred in Brasov and provided a wonderful day trip to Bran Castle and the Fortress from Brasov. It was well worth the price. He spoke excellent English and freely told historical info and Fables throughout the trip. Without his guidance we would have had a poor understanding of what we were seeing. He answered all our questions and pointed out things we wouldn't have known had historical significance. Absolutely recommend this trip and this guide!"

Reviewed October 02, 2017

"Balazs Karoly Andras (preferred to be called Charlie) is the best!! He spoke excellent English, very accommodating, knowledgeable and very passionate about Transylvania. It's like he's breathing for Transylvania! The tour started on time, Charlie picked me up from my hotel and supposedly i'm alone in the castle tour, in a big, white, comfy van but he got me some company from another group (im suprised that Active travel would still go ahead with the tour even with just one traveller, others would cancel or charge me extra for it). We first went to Peles, stunning castle! Then to Bran, where we had our lunch in a very good resto. Charlie has suggested for me to try Tochitură with polenta as i don't fancy eating veges and it does not disappoint. It was scrumptious! After lunch we toured Bran castle, beatiful, imposing castle! Then we head off to Rasnov, beautiful ruins and even more beautiful view from the top. The trip was excellent, very relaxed and laid-back tour (it's like travelling with friends really) and Charlie was outstanding!! Thank you Charlie and Active travel!! More power!!"

Reviewed October 03, 2017

"With limited time in Brasov we took 2 tours in one day. Charlie was our first guide who took us to Bran and Rasnov, and later in the day we went to the bear hide with Alex. Both of the guys where very passionate and educated in their fields of expertise and provided fact filled excursions, but with very much a sense of pride. With only 2 of us on the tours we very much felt that our experience was very personal. Especially the rabbits, Charlie ;) !!! Good luck with your studies Alex. Thank you both and I could not recommend Active Travel any more highly."

Reviewed October 04, 2017

"Our guide Dan Negoescu was amazing. Incredibly knowledgeable about Romanian history and the sights we visited. It just so happened that there was an annual harvest festival happening next to Bran castle. He asked us if we would like to go to the festival. This spontaneous addition to our tour was the highlight for me! Lots of booths with traditional food and drink, live music and folk dancing. And it was all local people enjoying their cultural traditions. In fact, I think we were the only foreign tourists there, which made it all the more special. Dan had us sample several of the traditional foods there. He was so kind and generous with his time. It was a real pleasure being in his group!"

Reviewed October 05, 2017

"We had the most wonderful time exploring three villages, with Sighisoara being a highlight! Charlie was fantastic and knowledgable and even laughed at our bad jokes. We were very lucky to have just the two of us on the tour so it was more personable and felt like a friend taking us around. Would highly recommend especially if you only have a limited time in the region. P.S thanks Charlie for the added free food tour, it was nuts! :P"

Reviewed October 11, 2017

"We booked the full day trip to Bran Castle, Peles Castle & Rasnov Fortress on Saturday 7th October. Dan picked us up from our accomodation & dropped us off there at the end of the day - this was great as it rained most of the day. He reversed the order of the day as there was a festival planned near Peles Castle & he wanted to avoid possible busyness later in the day. He was able to avoid queuing at the castles which saved a lot of time. He also took us to a local restaurant near Bran Castle that served Romanian food for a late lunch which was a relaxing break. He gave us all the information needed for our tours & did not overwhelm us with too much detail. Highly recommend Active Travel & tour guide Dan."

Reviewed October 29, 2017

"très intéressent a faire, un conseil consultez bien les horaires d'ouverture avant de vous y rendre et prenez un guide car les informations durant la visites sont très intéressante"

Reviewed October 30, 2017

"So glad we did this excursion as the experience was fantastic. The ranger was very knowledge and reassuring and after a short briefing on what we could expect, he was very open to any questions. We were lucky enough to see 3 bears (2 male & 1 female), 2 foxes, an owl and 2 deer. The bears were close enough yet at a safe distance. Brilliant experience and well worth the money. Thank you again"

Reviewed November 07, 2017

"Such a beautiful experience with our guide Charlie!! It has been one of my best tour ever. Bran castle is amazing the rooms are so lavishly decorated you cannot take everything in there is so much to see. It was good to have a guide to explain the history and point out various pieces within the castle, Charlie was very knowledgeable.
At the end of this tour the group was a big family and this was made only because the warm welcome of Charlie.
In fact he would picked up us at our Hotel but we met him at our meeting point in the city center, Charlie shows and tell more of what we can imagine about his wonderful country. His kindness and enthusiastic about his country and ensuring everyone in the tour was comfortable and happy. He made more than my expectation and we will keep in our memories this gorgeous visit, in fact time passed so fast. WARM RECOMENDED!"

Reviewed December 04, 2017

"All the arrangements and reservations made by them were exactly as described. Next time I'll make the same choice, for sure."

"O tour e visita ao castelo de Bran e à fortaleza de Rasnov vale por si só a deslocação mas o que tornou aquela visita memorável foi toda a personalidade do Karoly , conhecedor, atento, prestável e de grande simpatia. E não te leva para lojas de souvenirs. No final do dia foi como fizéssemos um passeio de amigos. Altamente recomendável. Obrigado!"

"Uma tour espetacular.
Estou muitíssimo satisfeito com o serviço prestado pelo Karoly.
Conhecedoer da história e sempre bem disposto.
Recomendo vivamente a active tours. Aliás as opiniões aqui no tripadvisor refletem a qualidade da AT.
OBRIGADO"

Reviewed December 19, 2017

"Our day trip was amazing! Karol the tour guide was so great. He has perfect English, is very very nice and had so much knowledge that he shared with us, and it was fascinating! The trip is very diverse and combines interesting history, culture and stunning views. There is some walking but it's not difficult so it suits everybody. Everything was well organized and super professional, alongside a friendly and warm atmosphere.
Highly recommended!!"

"I took a tour to Bran Castle, Rasnow and Peles Castle. It was a very nice day trip; everything was well organized, I was met very punctual, it was a very good and clean car and Karoly the driver and guide was driving well and carefully and also knows a lot about history, which he shared in very good English. I learned a lot, got many new informations and was very happy to have taken this tour; a very big plus: he did not rush us through everywhere and also gave me/us time to explore things by ourselves...he always considered the tour members wishes and needs.... it was just a perfect tour, and I can only recommend it."

Reviewed December 28, 2017

"Wonderful day with Mihai in mountain village tour and with Karci at Transfagarasan. We enjoyed our days a lot. And now some months later this trip is stillin our hearts. Thank you a lot. I will recommend Romania and your tours to my friend. Lot of cool trips to you for the new year!"

"We had a great time with our guide Charlie, he was not just informative and explained to us everything that there is to know about the castles, but also made the trip truly fun and enjoyable! Also, I would highly recommend the Peles Castle option as it is truly a jewel that no one should miss out on!"

"The tour was excellent! We met Charlie at Council Square and drove to Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress. Charlie guided us through each site and shared many interesting facts as we walked around. Charlie also drove us to different areas where we could take nice photos of the Castle and Fortress as well as Brasov. Very friendly and professional!"

"Thank you Andras, for the wonderful tour.
Me and my husband did the tour on the 31st of December and we loved it.
Andras picked us from our hotel, what was great, because it was so cold, everything on time.
Andras is a really nice guy, very funny and with answers for all the questions he got. It was a really pleasant trip even between destinations, everyone was talking all the way, it was a really good group also, so the tour was really fun and informative.
Once again thank you Andras and Active Travel.
Happy new Year."

Castillo de Bran, Rasnov, Brasov
Reviewed January 20, 2018

"Somos una pareja de Argentina. Estuvimos en Brasov en noviembre de 2017 y recorrimos el Castillo de Bran, Rasnov y Brasov. Nuestro guía fue Nacho. Todo muy bien!!!
Carlos y Marcela"

Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners