You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2016

Testimonials 2016

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016

"Great experience , the tour guide was a very nice person, excellent service! It was such a great day! We highly recommend it to anyone who would like a tour to Rasnov and Bran."
 

Reviewed January 12 , 2016

"Meu marido e eu fizemos o passeio pelo castelo de Bran (Drácula) e pela Citadela de RaÅŸnov. O passeio superou as expectativas! O guia (Balazs) foi super pontual e, além de apresentar os lugares de forma natural e prazerosa, foi super atencioso nos acompanhando na compra dos nossos tickets de trem (para o dia seguinte). SUPER recomendo esta agência!!"

Visited January 2016

 

Reviewed January 13, 2016

"Thanks to Marian, our tour guide, I had a great hike just on my birthday. I booked a trekking tour in the Piatra Craiului National Park and I did have a wonderful time together with a nice couple of Americans. The hike started in Zarnesti Gorges where we had the chance to spot a chamois, lucky us. We climbed up to Curmatura hut where we had a good meal and then, as a bonus, Marian took us to Piatra Craiului saddle to enjoy an amazing view of the surroundings.The weather was just perfect and with Marian we were on good hands. He always has a nice joke or story to make our hike easier. The route is not too difficult but you need to be in good shape especially in winter when some paths can be icy. All in all I did have an active "party" as I was longing for. Thanks again, Marian, see you soon."

Visited January 2016
 
Reviewed January 22, 2016

"My husband and I booked an all day trek with Marian to Piatra Craiului National Park during our trip to Romania from the US. It was absolutely one of the most memorable parts of our trip. The views were incredible and something we could not have experienced anywhere else.

We were picked up from our hotel in the morning and taken to the trailhead by our guide. The weather was calling for rain and fog but the day turned out to the perfect, warm and clear. The hike was challenging but incredibly rewarding. I highly recommend this trip for anyone looking to get out and see something special. Marian was so knowledgable and professional. I loved talking with him about Romanian history and traditions in addition to the trek. Not to be missed!"

Visited January 2016
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

"We've had the MOST AMAZING tour in our life Guided by Marian from Active Travel. He knows evrything, showed us wondeful views and places (even some extra locations that were not included) and even pikced us up from Brasov. Highly recommended!"
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

"Marian was amazing!! Such a good hike and a highlight of our time in Romania. Marian's passion for what he does was so great to be around. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to the area."

Reviewed January 30, 2016

"I very highly recommend this tour.

It is a fantastic insight to the History, Architecture and culture of not only Brasov but Romania as well. Our tour guide was extremely friendly, informative and interesting, he provided a lovely day trip and allowed us to see the Romanian country side, in winter.


Thank you Active Travel Day Tours we will recommend all of our Australian friends to come and visit Romania!"

Visited January 2016
Reviewed February 2, 2016

"We`ve had an amazing day in Piatra Craiului, we`ve climbed up to Curmatura and got back on a different path. Amazing lanscapes, we were lucky to have excellent, sunny weather for January. Marian, the guide did an awesome job, he showed us all the hot spots around, he shared a lot of useful information and local stories about the place. He`s very passionate, he knows very well the mountain and that gives you confidence. Great guy! Amazing experience, can`t wait to go back for a new one :)"

Visited January 2016
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

"Amazing tour of castles. Our guide Cristian was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. One of best tour guides we have had."

Reviewed 19 February, 2016

"Our tour guide, Andras, picked us up from our hotel which was well out of Brasov and was punctual and very polite. He speaks fantastic English and knows a lot about not just Bran and Rasnov Fortress but was able to answer any questions we had about Romania in general, including recommendations on local food and attractions. The tour was fantastic and Andras made us feel like we had a friend showing us around as opposed to a tour guide which was really lovely. Both the castle and the fortress are worth a visit purely for the amazing scenery. Thank you so much Andras, we had an amazing time!!"

Visited February 2016
 
Reviewed February 21, 2016

"Our guide Karoly (aka Charlie) was amazing and we are very glad we booked with this company! Karoly went above and beyond at every opportunity he could. We received a personalized experience at every stop along the way. He was very polite, informative, and eager to please. We were very happy to learn that we would have Karoly as our tour guide for the next day for the tour we booked to Rupea Fortress, Village and Peles Castle. Again, very fun and adventurous day exploring Transylvanian countryside. Highly recommended! - Dory and Rachelle"

Visited February 2016
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

"The day tour to Bran Castle and Râsnov Fortress was GREAT. The guide, Karoly was informative, helpful and very kind. A "must-do"!"
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016

"Hiking in Piatra Craiului was a unique experience . Along with Marian I discovered wonderful places, it is a very good guide from whom I learned many interesting things. Recommend Active Travel."

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

"we went to the agency with the recommendation of trip advisor and the manager and the agents were very kind, pleasing and helpful. we gat a great tour with the best guide - Karoy. very recommend. enjoy u all."

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

"The agents in Active travel are very patient - it cost a bit more then other offers we got from taxi drivers but it's worth it... we got very good tips for traveling... Best of all we got the best tourguide in the world his name is Karoy ! ask for him."
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

"Our guide Charlie did a great job! We received a personalized, very informative and entertaining tour around the Brasov city. I totally recommend it! Thank you."
 

Reviewed March 29, 2016

"Everything was great in this trip, beginning with a fine weather, very balanced and pleasant hiking, fantastic view of mountains, sunny meadows filled with crocuses and snowdrops and finishing with very nice people in group, I felt gorgeous with them.

Marian is a wonderful guide, very friendly, very dynamic and enthusiastic and an excellent organizer. He shared with us a lot of interesting things and stories about these places, mountains and surrounding villages. He is a really encyclopedia,
I strongly recommend Marian Tirla and Active Travel."

Visited March 2016
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

"We had a great time!! Charlie is the best guide! He was very nice and he told us a lot of interesting things. The place where he took as to lunch it was great! I really recommend taking this tour if you visit Brasov 😊".
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

"The trip was wonderful. Beautiful scenery! Our guide Marian was awesome. the tour was very well organised. I'm looking forward for the next tour."

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

"I cannot rate this tour highly enough! Karoly was a wonderful guide who went above and beyond to make this a wonderful tour. I learned so much not only about the history of all the sites we visited but Romania in general. Well organised, fun and stress free. I would very highly recommend this tour!"
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

"I spent a few days in Bucegi area and had the time of my life! Great trip,wonderful friends and the best guide in the area! Thank you Marian ! We will be coming back for more!"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

"Probably the best tour of my life. Charly was very polite and friendly. He explained very well every single detail of the castles and the rest of the places that we visited. I really recommend this tour because it is very comfortable and the guide is an expert."
 

Reviewed April 11, 2016

"Our 12 people group had amazing trip in Piatra Craiului National Park just a 40minutes away from Brasov. Our tour guide Marian picked us up from our hostel in Brasov and we went to National Park with bus. We hiked altogether 14km and at the halfway we stopped nice mountain hut where we had a lunch. Our tour guide was very professional and helpful all the way from the beginning when we contact him first time. He told us lot of about National Park and Brasov and we also went to Bran's Castle after our hike even if it didn't included our plan! He also told us about the castle aswell and buy us local cheese from markets near castle! Keeping contact with them was really easy and fast (he replied emails with in 10minutes). I will definitely recommend this travel agency for everyone who want experience beautiful nature of Romania."

Visited April 2016

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

"Awesome experience! We had such a great 5 hours hike in Carpathians with our very sweet guide who took us also to Bran's castle! We are so coming again!!!"
 

Reviewed April 11, 2016

"We had an amazing time during our 5 hour hike. Our guide was really good at taking everyone into consideration & was very helpful with everything. He was also kind enough to take us to Bran Castle on our way back to Brasov - he even gave us our very own private tour! I can highly recommend the service to everyone!
Ps. The views were breathtaking!"

Visited April 2016

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

"Awesome day exploring these magnificent places. Although the weather wasn't great, our guide Charlie did all he could to ensure we had a great time. Would highly recommend Active Travel."
 

Reviewed April 25, 2016

"Absolutely beautiful hike through forest, mountains and a limestone gorge with experienced guide. I was also travelling alone and got a very good price for a 5 hour hike alone with the guide. Stopped for lunch at a little mountain hut with amazing views. Good hike for a beginner like me, with the option for making it longer/harder. Overall had a brilliant day and would strongly recommend."

Visited April 2016
Reviewed April 30, 2016

"Brasov was beautiful! Our tour guide met my boyfriend and I in the square at Piata Sfatului. He quickly switched to English, and our tour began as we drove to Castle Bran. He gave us some of the history of the area, and gave us a full tour of the castle (entrance to the castle was 12lei/person). He even took pictures for us! Next we walked a short distance to get another view of the castle. After a few pictures, we walked back to the van and drove to a resort area, where we were able to get a lovely view of the castle and the mountains. Another short drive and we were at Rasnov! We took the tram up (I think it cost 5lei), and walked around to the entrance. I believe there was another nominal fee to enter the fortress, but it was well worth it! Our tour guide led us through the crumbling walls, and up to the highest point. More pictures, and then back down, where we were able to meet the caretaker of Rasnov. He didn't speak a word of English, but he was exceedingly friendly and very proud of the history of the region. We then took the tram back down the mountain and returned to Brasov. We received hand-painted magnets and a map of Brasov, and went on our way.

I would recommend wearing good walking shoes, and dressing appropriately for the weather."

Visited April 2016

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

"We were guided by the enthousiastic Alexandru and his uncle Ion. Alex even took pictures with a 600 mm lens, using our memory card. We were very lucky: one for and 3 bears! Highly recommended!"
 

Reviewed May 2, 2016

"Foi uma das melhores escolhas na viagem para a Romênia.

O proprietário (Marian) é super atencioso e responde rapidamente aos e-mails e dá feedback pronto sobre as confirmações de reservas. Fechei com ele o transfer ida e volta do aeroporto de Bucareste até Brasov e 3 dias completos de paseios:

1) Dia completo em Sibiu
2) Dia completo em Sighisohara, Viscry e Rupea Fortress
3) dia completo em Bram Castle, Peles Castle e Rasnov Fortress

Todos os 3 dias foram incríveis. o nosso guai (KAROLY BALAZS) era sensacional: altamente simpático, agradável, educado e pronto para nso atender em tudo o que necessitávamos - tirava fotos, explicava os detalhes e parava mesmo no meio do caminho em locais diferente que davam boas fotos (até em locais que nós pedimos ou ele sugeriu, como Fagaras e outra igreja no caminho até Sighisohara). Recomendo que você peça que ele seja seu gui, pois vai adorar sua companhia. Também nos deixou à vontada em relação a tempos e coisas a fazer em cada local.

Sem a Active Travel minha viagem curta para a Romênia não teria sido tão agradável e tão bem aproveitada."

 

Reviewed May 8, 2016

"The trek was amazing, we walked up into the park and into a hide to watch the action. Our guide Charlie was perfect, really fun and knew a lot about the wildlife as well.

We saw around five bears, different sizes and some cubs with their mum but the most amazing thing was when a wolf came out of the forest and chased a male bear. We couldn't beleive it, then a few minutes later they came back together! It made our trip to Brasov!"

Visited May 2016
 
Reviewed May 17, 2016

"We met our guide in the main square of BraÅŸov. He was a super friendly and knowledgeable guide. It was just the two of us so he made it a very personal experience. We first walked to his van which was parked in the nearby lot and then he drove us to Peles Castle. The weather was quite grey in the morning but our guide gave us lots of information and insight into the country and areas we were seeing. He got us immediately into Peles and gave us a detailed tour. We then went to Bran castle and the same great knowledge and professionalism was applied. He even bought us both a quick lunch which was so nice of him. He took us to some other great photo locations of Bran. We then drove to Rasnov and took the tractor ride to the top and got some amazing views of the countryside now the weather had cleared. He took us on a senic route back to BraÅŸov and even dropped us right at our accommodation. We had such an excellent time. You would be remiss to not book with these great guys! Thank you so much for the experience!"

Visited May 2016
 
Reviewed May 23, 2016

"What an amazing experience. A personal local chauffeur/tour guide who knowledgeably, efficiently and comfortably showed the three of us Bran Castle, Rasnov fortress and some of the Romanian mountainside while providing (optionally) an extensive history of Romania on route. We were picked up and dropped off at our accommodations within 4 hours and left with personalized souvenirs, a restaurant recommendation, and loads of local insight. We would absolutely use him again on a return trip and will recommend to friends and family. Guests should be prepared that the admission costs for the attractions are not included in the cost of the tour; however we still thought the personalized and friendly experience was very much worth the money and much better than what we saw of the large group tours."

Visited May 2016
 
Reviewed May 27, 2016

"The trips I did with this company was great. Perfect in every way. My guide Bogdan Moise spoke perfect English, really knew his history, was enthusiastic, professional, friendly and very knowledgeable about the history of the region and in the mountains where he acted as my guide. I thoroughly recommend this company who will not disappoint if my guide is anything to go by! Do ask if you can do trips with others if you are alone as this will bring the cost down and the company are very accommodating about this."

Visited May 2016
 
Reviewed May 28, 2016

"I really enjoyed this trip and it was definitely one of the highlights of our time in Romania.

The guide was very friendly and picked us up directly from our hotel. We were driven to a forest just outside Brasov where we met the ranger and after a short drive, and a pleasant walk through the forest, we arrived at the bear hide.

The first bear arrived shortly after we got there and we saw 5 bears in total. The bears were there for quite some time so plenty of opportunity to get photographs. We spent about 2 hours in total at the hide."

Visited May 2016
 
Reviewed June 7, 2016

"Nuestro guía Dan fue muy cálido y profesional. Realmente sentimos que aprendimos de la historia y los lugares que visitamos en un ambiente cordial y de buen humor.
Pasamos una excelente experiencia en Bran y Rasnov! Nos encantaría volver algún dia!!! Muchas gracias."

Visited June 2016
 
Reviewed June 9, 2016

"We were a group of five person that picked the 4 days hiking program.
From the beginning Marian help and assist to adapt our expectations and tailored the program to our needs.
Christian was our guide which appeared to be one of his kind, eager to assist and please, with huge love to nature and man, Thanks you again Christian and Marian, it's not an obvious. Hope to see you again."

Visited June 2016
 
Reviewed June 10, 2016

"We were collected from the main square in Brasov and driven for about an hour so out in to the countryside, allowing us to see a more traditional side of Romania. Our guide could not have been kinder, more enthusiastic about his job or more helpful and informative. It was a long wait for the bears and you do have to be really quiet, but actually seeing the bears was just one part of a a very enjoyable and interesting experience."

Visited May 2016
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

"Our guide Charlie was excellent - very friendly Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and beautiful countryside Highly recommend."
 

Reviewed June 11, 2016

"I booked to go both on a bear watching tour with a friend and a tour of Sighisoara, Rupea and Visciri on my own.
We had an excellent and very knowledgeable guide Bogdan for our bear watching experience and it was fantastic. Saw so many bears and was so incredible to see them in their natural environment. We were completely safe the entire time and it was an unforgettable experience- very well run and professional - couldn't recommend it highly enough.
My second tour was with guide Charlie. Who once again was fantastic. As we took less time at places than expected he even drove me to another place at no extra cost. He was friendly and extremely knowledgable happily answering all my questions - was more like visiting with a friend.
Excellent company and two fantastic experiences. Perfect way to see such a wonderful and beautiful country!"

Visited June 2016

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

"Enjoyed tour guide Dan's detailed knowledge of local history when we visted Bran and Rasnov castles. Interesting stories about communist era to. Highly recommended. This option avoids the long queues at Bran castle to."
 

Reviewed June 14, 2016

"This was a really wonderful hike in the mountains. We started by walking through the Zarnesti Gorges and then climbed through the forest until we reached the Curmatura hut where we had lunch. Then we returned by a different route to the car. The hike took most of the day and a level of fitness was needed. But the scenery was beautiful, the forest was full of birds and the guide was a local who had spent his youth in the mountains. It was a great way to experience some of the natural beauty of the area."

Visited May 2016
Reviewed June 25, 2016

"I book two seperate hiking tours around Brasov and both were fantastic. The customer service from Marian was the best I have experienced. I booked my trips at late notice but he was able to organise everything for me and answered all my questions very quickly, even when I emailed at 10pm! Both hikes were with the same guide, Ciri, and he was the best. He never rushed me, took photos of me and for me, provided me with food and keep me motivated when it got tough in scorching heat. If I was ever in Brasov again I would definitely do more adventure tours with Active Travel."

Visited June 2016
 
Reviewed June 28,2016

"This tour was the highlight of my time in Romania. Marian was very helpful and emailed me back and forth for quite a while to help me decide which tour to do and to book the tour. I ended up being the only person on my tour, which was an amazing experience! My guide Charlie was incredible. We had 12 hours together driving through the mountains and exploring Poienari Fortress, by the end of the day he felt like an old friend. He answered all of my questions, told me a lot about Romania (both present day and history), and was constantly checking to make sure I was happy and comfortable. I would recommend Active Travel to anyone, and especially any trip with Charlie as a guide!"

Visited June 2016
Reviewed July 5, 2016

"We did a day tour to Peles and Bran Castles and Rasnov Fortress. Our driver Charlie was wonderful. He was very informative and moved us to the front of the queues at each place. He also recommended a very good restaurant for lunch. We had a great day. We can highly recommend Active Travel."

Reviewed July 5, 2016

"This company is amazingly professional and easy to deal with. Marian was responsive in helping me to organise a hiking day tour at short notice.

My lovely, knowledgeable hiking guide Bogdan picked me up promptly and we headed out to Piatra Craiului - a mountain range more frequented by Romanians than foreigners.

Bogdan told me about the history of Romanian, pointed out trees, plants and animals. He is also a highly skilled hiker and knows the mountains like the back of his hand. He was always checking on me and helped me through when I was getting tired. He also helped me with tips and tricks to improve my endurance and hiking technique.

Getting to go out hiking with such a lovely skilled guide has been one of the highlights of my trip. Thanks so much active travel and Bogdan!!"

Visited June 2016
 
Reviewed July 5, 2016

"I did two different tours with them: DAY1 - Peles, Bran Castles and Rasnov Fortress DAY2 Transfagarasan Highway The driver Charlie was easily one of the best guide I have ever met. Highly knowledgeable and super friendly. Everything was just perfect. Highly recommended."

Reviewed July 6, 2016

SUMMARY:
"I've never been one to actually sit down and write a review, however this more than merits the positive things im going to say abour our day out. Marian was fantastic and arranged the tour for us with great efficiency.

This tour is an absolute must. Ciri, our guide, was a fountain of knowledge, unbelievably fun and akin to the Romanian Bear Grylls. We have been travelling for a few weeks and this was hands down the most enjoyable, worthwhile and informative experience of our whole trip. Ciri had encylopedic knowledge of the flora, fauna and history of Romania, while at the same time being an incredibly nice and fun guide.

OUR DAY:
Ciri arrived at 9am at our hostel, as planned. Not according to plan, our group (three Irish lads) surfaced 15 minutes late, extremely hungover and overwhelmingly underprepared.

Ciri informed us that the weather forecast was for heavy rain for the entire morning. None of us had any jackets or appropriate footwear. Ciri drove us to his home and picked up his own gear for the entire group (what a king). On the drive to Piatra Craiului National Park he informed us of all the landmarks and industries we passed, including soviet era munitions factories and Rasnov Castle.

Before the hike began he brought us to a natural spring to fill our water bottles. Without going into unneccessary detail, throughout the hike he continued to inform us of all the flora and fauna in the area. One of the members of our group asked Ciri a number of historical queries, which Ciri had a wealth of knowledge. This knowledge, coupled with a number of stories and jokes shared on the hike made for an unforgettable day. It is clear he loves his job and it makes a difference.

The hike itself was mind-blowing, seeing countless beautiful sights (including the two Romanian princesses in working in the cabin at the top of the mountain). The views were insane.

If you want an unbelievable hike, with an unbelievable guide together with a memorable day out - This is for you!!!!

Thanks
Conor, Andrew & Emmet"

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed July 16, 2016

"Travelled to Brasov. For the wildlife and scenery and I was not let down , firstly the Bears I was not picked up as agreed but a call to the office and immediatkey the nice guy in the office came from home in his car and picked me up and took me to the hide ,We were spoiled. Mother and cub ,females and some big males we sat in the hide for 2 hours watching them pure joy. . We were all dropped of back at our hotels very happy. The next tour my guide Balazs met me in the town with a bottle of water we went to Bran, Rasnov then Peles what a great day. For me Peles was wonderful I cannot tell how I want to return so intresting the attention to detail second to none .Finally back to Brasov. Where I had tipi say a sad farewell to Balazs he was the kindest helpful and informative guide I've ever used. He also gave me a gift which now sits at home with me .Balazs Thankyou I'll be back !Active Travel Thanks Andy"

Visited July 2016
 
 Reviewed July 17, 2016

"Travelling to Romania? Want an adventure? Active Travel is the way to go….Marian loves Romania and is passionate about providing the guest with the best experience possible.
Marian and his associates are professional, knowledgeable and do a great job whether it involves accommodation, transportation and/or touring. I have trekked the country-side and enjoyed seeing parts of Romania only the locals know about.
Thank you, Active Travel! Will be back, Brad P. (USA)"

Visited June 2016
 
Reviewed July 18, 2016

"Charlie is an amazing tour guide! He offered an organized and interesting tour. The day was filled with relevant information a and fascinating stories. He was able to time the sites to avoid large crowds. I highly recommend this tour co and guide! Wonderful!"

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 19, 2016

"Went to Transfagarasan to celebrate my birthday, Active Travel made it even better! Fantastic service by the team, super friendly and knowledgeable guide! Thanks Marian & Charlie! Had a really awesome time. 100% will come back someday!"

Reviewed July 20, 2016

"Obviously, the Castles (Peles and Bran) and Rasnov Fortress were amazing. What really sold the experience was our guide, Dan. His historical knowledge and insights were incredible. We gained so much, but he didn't overload us with too much.

He gave us the option of picking the order of our trip, but I'm thankful we opted to let him choose. Dan was able to save some time by seeing Peles first, which actually gave us the chance to see two extra places that weren't originally on the trip: Pelisor and Poiana Brasov.

Thanks for making our first time to Brasov and Romania so memorable! Highly recommended!"

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed July 20, 2016

"I had a wonderful time on this trek. Everything that the description mentioned was met and the Marian was very friendly and helpful. The 7-ladders canyon is definitely an undiscovered gem and the hike up the Piatre Mare range was just the perfect cherry on top. A highly recommended tour."

A Honeymoon trip to remember
 Reviewed July 27, 2016

"We picked Transylvania as our honeymoon destination choosing 3 nights in Brasov. We booked our tour with Marian through email a few months before the trip as we wanted to be certain we did not miss out. The highlight of our whole honeymoon was probably trekking in the Piatra Crailului National Park. The trek was more difficult than we expected but it was good to be challenged while feeling safe. We hiked about 15km in 8hours, but up and down some very steep slopes, however we enjoyed the challenge. The views were stunning and well worth the effort. There are alternative routes for hikers of all abilities. Marian was very knowledgeable and helpful and we felt very safe in his hands. We had a great adventure and will have ever lasting memories of our honeymoon in the Carpathians."

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed July 27, 2016

"We spent the morning with Marian at Bran Castle first before heading to the hills for a long day trekking. We walked for about 6 or 7 hours and the scenery was beautiful. It was quite tough going in places but Marian kept pace with us and was very accommodating with our fitness levels! We had a very interesting atop off at a sheep farm where we definitely got our fill of polenta and cheese.

Overall, a great day out and I would definitely recommend Active Travel to anyone travelling in this part of Romania."

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed July 29, 2016

"Yesterday I was fortunate to join one of Active Travel day tours to Peles castle, Bran castle and the Rasnov fortress. Our guide, Charlie, was helpful, informative and fabulous company. The day passed so quickly as we learnt about some of the history of this amazing country, visited the sites and stopped for our lunch at a traditional restaurant. Thank you to Charlie and Active Travel for an amazing day in Romania."

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed July 31, 2016

"All I can say about this trip is - A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.!

Charlie, our driver and guide, was what made the tour. He arrived punctually and as soon as we met, my husband and I felt relaxed and at ease. Throughout the day Charlie was friendly, genuine and strived to ensure we were ok - which we very much were! We quickly fell into easy and natural conversation with him and conversed for most of the ten hours we were together. He's a confident and capable driver and we never felt anxious, despite some terrible road conditions and poor visibility at times.

The first stop was to view Balea Waterfall and take some great photos, something Charlie consistently ensured we had opportunities to do - for the duration of the tour. It was a stunning sight and got us excited for the rest of the tour. Travelling up and over mountains, along the winding Transgarasan Road and around hairpin bends, we felt exhilarated and calm at the same time. The views are simply breathtaking on this trip, including those at Balea Lac. Here Charlie even recommended and ordered us some lunch - typical Romanian sausage. Mmmm!

During the afternoon we visited Beaver Dam (impressively high!) and Poienari Fortress - quite a hike up the 1480 steps! Well worth it though once you get to the top. We didn't manage the climb in Charlie and his guests best time (22 minutes) but were happy enough with our half hour effort. It's certainly easier on the way down!

As others have said, at each point of interest Charlie was able to give us interesting and detailed information about the sites. That said, he didn't just produce a rehearsed spiel as he was able to answer all our questions - not just about the tourist attractions we saw but also about Romanian history, economy, culture, wildlife, landscapes etc. He was equally happy to engage in personal conversations and his tales and anecdotes really enabled us to get to know him and to understand what life is like as a Romanian, far better than if we'd visited museums or read guidebooks.

We were sad when the tour was over but pleased to have a souvenir from Charlie to remember the day by. I can't stress enough how wonderful a driver and guide Charlie is and how great this Active Travel tour is. Worth every penny!"

Visited July 2016

Reviewed August 1, 2016

"We spend for days with the same guide from Active Travel Day Tours named nicknamed Charlie. The most helpful and overal nice guy you could imagine.
The first day we did a tour to the Bear Sanctuary and the Bran castle. Really worthwhile and a certain must-do! The bear santuary in really an experience and it is great that by visiting it you also help to maintain the santuary. Before going in the santuary you get to see a video clip to see what it stands for and how the santuary came to be. Afterwards you get to see the bear in group.
The Bran Castle is one of those castles that really leaves an impression. The fact that there is a medieval market at the bottom only adds to the overal impression and atmosphere. The castle is really warm and still contains a lot of the original furniture inside. Also the great thing with having a guide with this company was that you don't have to stand in line. This was something we didn't knew before hand but it certainly came in handy, as there was a 2 hour waiting line. ANd we could just pass them all.
In the evening we also did the bearwatching in the wild with this company as it is one of the few that offers it. Basically you drive about 30 min out of Brasov and head into the woods. Don't worry there is a ranger with you who has a gun in case a bear gets close. You walk up to a viewing cabin and from there you look onto a feeding platform where the bears will appear. For the bears this is just a snack. We saw a lot like 8/9 bears only a few meters away from us truely magnificant!!! (we even a little one and it's mother)
The second day we went on to the Transgarasan Road. Charlie arrived on time and has done so the whole time we spend with him. It is a long drive to the Road but the sight is breathtaking! When you are at the very top of the road certainly try the sausages with mosterd in a little stand at the side of the road! It will be the best sausage you ever had. Also the castle we did afterwards called Poenari castle was a real task. 1480 stairs up towards the castle was a lot and your legs will hurt for sure but it gives a nice sight and the castle was a nice sight to although the Bran castle was wayyy more inpressive. Even when the climb was difficult Charlie didn't leave us behind but stayed with us and encouraged us to get to the top. Not every guide would do this.
The next day we did something that isn't really known or even requested. But this company made it happen en we got to see it thanks to them. Charlie took us to something called ' The Temple of Wishes' in English. It is a very special place where most of the Romanians like to go. And afterwards we also went to an old fashioned watermill. This was not planned but Charlie suggested it and it really was a lovely place and let's you see the real way that farmers live in Romania. Very intresting to see how everything works as well.
This company is really amazing! It would move mountains to please you and is very helpful. At one point I had to reseducle everything in our trip and they helped without problems. And as I mentioned before the guide was also very friendly and helpful. He even became a friend of ours.
If you plan of doing something like these day tours be certain you are in good hands with Active Travel!"

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed August 2, 2016

"My husband and I joined this tour over 2 weeks ago and were extremely pleased that we did.

The tour guide assigned to us was Charlie (see photo with my husband). And a big part of the reason the tour was such an enjoyable one was because of him. Charlie was very affable, pleasant, flexible and helpful. Besides being knowledgeable on the tour destinations, his service was also impeccable. He's one of those rare guides who goes that extra mile to please and delight his guests. He was professional, yet friendly. It felt like we were touring with a new friend from Brasov, rather than with some random guide.

It was truly a wonderful 6-hours of touring the pretty outskirts of Brasov!"

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed August 2, 2016

"We had a day trip in the Piatra Craiului mountains and it was just unbelievable. The views of the forest, meadows and mountains were simply spectacular.

Our guide, Cristian, picked us up from our hotel and drove us to the mountains through a very scenic route, whilst showing and explaining us about the surroundings.

During the trek itself he proved to be a very knowledgeable guide - he knew all of the rarely visited (and the more extraordinary and beautiful) routes that we wouldn't have found by ourselves.

Do note that it is not an easy trek, you do need to be in a reasonable shape and not be afraid of some steep climbs. But belive me, those are well worth it."

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 2, 2016

"I had a fantastic few days. Marian picked me up at my guest house and took me out to the bear hide, where we saw a magnificent male bear and two younger ones, really knowledgeable folk. Then lovely hikes round the mountain villages and visits to one or two tourist spots. Really excellent tour guides, couldn't recommend them highly enough."

Visited April 2016
 
Reviewed August 4, 2016

"We had a brilliant day with a wonderful guide who was very knowledgeable and a good laugh as well. We had opted for the Peles extension which had us stuck in traffic but it was well worth it. All 3 locations are worth visiting."

Visited July 2016
 
Reviewed August 13, 2016

"In October 2015 we took a 5 days tour with Active Travel, which was a combination of several day tours we grouped together with Marian, the manager, in his office. Since we didnt rent a car, this was a convenient and inexpensive way to visit the local attractions, plus the extra bonus of having a private guide/drive.

On the first day we went hiking with Christian to the mountains just outside of Brasov in Piatra Craiulu national park. The scenery was quite nice (although not spectacular) and we also got to meet a local shepherd in his farm, which was a nice bonus. In the evening we went with Christian to the bear hideout in the forest, and watched a group of wild bears coming to eat (and also a cute fox who joined them), which was a great experience!

In the next 4 days we travelled with another guide, nicknamed Charlie (real name - Kartsi) to some of the main attractions of Transylvania. On the first day with Charlie, we visited the local sights near Brasov - Bran and Peles castles (both were very crowded and not really interesting, in my opinion), and the more relaxed Rasnov fortress. On the second day we drove to Sighisoara beautiful old town, and visited Rupea fortress and Viscri church (in a rather remote, small traditional village) on our way. On the third day with Charlie we went further north to Sfanta Ana lake, and also visited a nearby swamp and sulphur cave. And on our final day we drove (on our way back to Bucharest) to the Transagarasan scenic road and also to the huge and rather scary Vidraru water dam - although the weather wasnt good (it was raining and cold), for me these were stunning and definitely the highlights of the tour.

Charlie was a terrific guide - he speaks good English and was very friendly, intelligent and knowledgeable (whether it be a cultural / historic site or a natural place), patient to our various requests and wishes, and generally an interesting person to talk with, during the long hours of driving. We bonded and kept in touch, and I would highly recommend him."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed August 16, 2016

"My friends and I made a day trip with Marian through the carpatian mountains. I really enjoy the day , we saw Transilvanian mountains in a very active way. Marian was the perfect guide. He picked up us at the hostel and guided us trought the mountains perfectly, adapting the tour to our level. He explained us lots of things and was never tired ( we asked about every doubt we had ). I strongly recommend this tour and this guide. He made our trip much better!!"

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 17, 2016

"We had a great morning visiting Bran and Rasnov, beating the crowds to both. Our guide, Charlie, went the extra mile to make sure we got great views of the castle from the outside, as well as being a genuinely friendly - and funny - guy.

In the evening Charlie and us went off to catch a glimpse of the European brown bear up the road from Brasov. Everything ran smoothly, professionally run, with a personal touch.

Also have to say a special thank you to Marian for being so patient in dealing with organising and rearranging our tour dates! Thank you!

Would definitely recommend!"

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 25, 2016

"Our contact at Active Travel was very helpful and responsive over email enabling us to make detailed arrangements once we had arrived in the country. We travelled in her car (a little bit cramped but fine) to the meeting point and other visitors arrived with rangers etc. There seemed to be some confusion around this initial part of the visit and we were left waiting for transport to the hide for about half an hour. When we finally caught up with the rest of the group they had already seen two bears which was disappointing. However our contact was very apologetic about this and in the long run it didn't really matter. We walked on to the Hide and then the evening really took off with a large number of bears seen including two mothers with cubs. The ranger provided really helpful insights and knowledge and clearly knew her stuff. Also had the chance to talk to a Forester on the walk back which for me was very interesting. Overall, a great chance to see amazing animals and learn more about the flora and fauna of Romania."

Visited August 2016
 
 Reviewed August 28, 2016

"We took the Bran Castle & Rosnov tour as well as the Transfăgărășan Toad trip with Active Travels and had Charlie as our host for both these days. A friendly and knowledgable person, he made our excursions interesting and informative. The day was paced to suit our needs; he introduced us to local food which we had not discovered in the commercial City Square area. Overall, a fab experience and I would any day recommend Marian's tours and specifically Charlie as your tour guide. Thanks for making it a memorable trip for us!!"

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 31, 2016

"Certamente l'immagine non può sostituire le sensazioni che si tentano quando affronti l'immensità della natura. Non so, forse succede solo a me, ma quanto più mi sento piccola in uno spazio naturale che lo attraverso passo dopo passo, ancora di più sento come cresce lo spirito all'interno, respirando l'aria pura, bevendo l'acqua di sorgente, ascoltando il rombo del vento. È magico quando si affollano all'improvviso tutti i colori e le forme perfette... sono sempre stata affascinata dalla perfetta geometria della natura, ed ho trovato questa oportunità di ammirare una delle forme più pure di che avevo bisogno ed è più di quanto si possa desiderare... e tutto questo sembrava impossibile senza Marian, la guida, a chi ringrazio di cuore per la gentilezza, l'ospitalità, accoglienza, per il sentimento di sicurezza, per le informazioni e la gioia contagiosa. Ho preso una piccola parte di lui con me, un po' di natura selvaggia e questi miracoli mi porteranno in futuro ad altri luoghi ed esperienze. E stata la scelta perfetta, sono contentissima di aver scelto Active Travel Day Tours! Sicuramente ritornerò."

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Wanderung im Kőnigsstein-Gebirge mit meiner Freundin Roxa und unserem Reiseführer Marian
Route ..."Curmatura" Hütte in Kőnigsstein Gebirge - Kamm des kleinen Steines - Gipfel des kleinen Steines - Heldenkreuz....
Ein Traumtag und ein Neustart wie eine Alternativtherapie für Geist und Gehirn und keine Sorge!
Die Reise mit Marian war wunderbar. Er hat mir geholfen, damit ich meine innere Grenzen überschreiten kann. Er weiß genau die richtige Route für jede Person und er hat sich unseren Wünschen, Hoffnungen und Motivationen perfekt angepasst. Die Reise mit ihm war voller Wärme, Ruhe und Ausgeglichenheit. Ich fühlte mich sicher auf dem Berggipfel mit Gebirgsschluchten umgeben, wo ich nur traumte zu erreichen.
Ich will es weiterempfehlen. R&R"

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed August 31, 2016

"Picked up from hotel and taken to the woods. Short walk to the hide. The hide is situated opposite a clearing where they leave food to attract the animals into view. Brindusa gave some good background information on the wildlife and the purpose of feeding them to minimise their need to forage near villages and towns to protect them. Waited an hour before we saw a family of boar, then 3 brown bears visited separately. Breathtaking and well worth it. Total of 2 hours."

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed September 1, 2016

"We took the Transfagarasan Tour via Viator - took about 12h - it was beautiful! The landscape reminded us a lot of Norway, we saw the original "Dracula" fortress, took some stunning pictures. Also, our guide Mihail was very patient and very kind, took us to lovely places and told us a lot about the sights. Highly recommended!"

Reviewed September 7, 2016

"I took the Bran Castle and Rasnov Fortress tour with Charlie, and despite the absence of my partner who was sick on the day, I had a fabulous time due to Charlie the guide. He was very informative and totally inclusive, and he made an already interesting tour even better. Our special thanks to Charlie, his company and Viator as he organised a refund for my partner on the day."

Visited September 2016
 
Reviewed September 11, 2016

"Reservamos un tour para la carretera Transfagarazan. Nuestro guía Carole es una persona muy amigable, espontáneo, atento y muy agradable, nos dio informaciones importantes de la zona que visitamos, e incluso nos llevó a tomar una excelentes fotos del castillo del Bran que obviamente no estaba incluido en el tour.. El viaje fue muy divertido y ameno. Pasamos muy bien mis amigas y yo.
Tomamos muchos tours durante nuestra estancia en el Brasov. Sin duda este fue el mejor tour. Solo me queda decir fue EXCELENTE. Muchas gracias " buen hombre"."

Visited September 2016
 
Reviewed September 19, 2016

"Charlie took my husband and I on a tour to Sighisora, Rupea Fortress and Viscri. We couldn't have asked for more. We learned so much and had such a good time. Thank you Charlie for your knowledge, your kindness, your good humor, and your willingness to let my husband take hundreds (if not thousands of photos:) By the end of the day, we felt like family. We will truly cherish this trip."

Visited September 2016
 
Reviewed September 19, 2016

"We booked through Viator online and had concerns about whether we would arrive on our train from Budapest on time for the tour. The tour provider arranged to have Dan waiting for us at the train station. He went above and beyond in touring us through Budapest, Bran's Castle and Pelles Castle. He was not only knowledgeable about the places we visited, but went into great detail about the history. You could tell the love that he had for Romania and for the monarchy and the proud heritage Romanians have. We had a great lunch of local cheeses, beers, breads, etc. and a great stop at a local ski resort. My favourite part of the whole trip though, was him singing during our trip during lulls in our conversation. We joined in and we had a great time. At the end of the tour, he gave me a CD of music that we had been singing to. All around, this was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Highly recommend and we will be using this tour company next time we are in Brasov for sure!"

Visited September 2016

Reviewed September 21, 2016

"This was my third trip with active travel after visiting Brasov 2 years ago. My previous trips were excellent and today's trip to Bran Castle & Rasnov were just as good. Charlie was such a kind, funny and knowledgeable guide who was beyond our expectations. I had a previous trip to these places and it was no where close to the experience we had with Charlie. Rates are good and I'd recommend Active Travel every time... Thanks for making our holiday."

Visited September 2016
 
 Reviewed September 26, 2016

"We did the Transfagarasan tour and the bran+rasnov+pelisor tour, and both were great.
The hike in the trasfagarasan mountains with Mihai was great: fantastic views, a bit of exercise, and the security of going with someone who really knows the mountains.
'Charly' was our guide for the castles' tour and was really good too: explaining about history, small details, and really friendly behaviour.
I would repeat the experience without hesitation!"

Visited September 2016
 
Reviewed September 28, 2016

"I did three trips with this company -- 1 Day Trekking in Piatra Craiului National Park, 1 Day Trekking in the Fagaras Mountains, and a 1 Day Castle tour (Bran Castle, Rasnov Fortress, Peles Castle & Pelisor Castle). Before I arrived in Brasov I was in contact with Marian, the owner, getting questions answered and his opinions on the different trips offered (he even advised me not to go on certain trips if the weather was poor). Unless he is busy guiding tours, he responds very quickly and keeps you up-to-date with information (i.e. if groups form so you don't have to pay extra as a solo traveler, weather conditions, etc.). He made booking tours very easy!

Both trekking tours were spectacular, with incredible views that I didn't want to walk away from! Don't forget your camera!! The guides were fantastic: great conversationalists; very informed on the areas, Romania, and Eastern Europe; and helpful if things got tough on the trek. They made sure to tailor the trek to meet experience levels and equipment/shoe hiking ability, and they took extra/special paths (with the group's approval of course) to make sure we got the most out of our experience -- So, bring good trekking shoes and clothes with you when you go! When I go back to Romania I will definitely go trekking with them again, but next time for longer than a day!

The castles tour I did as a solo traveler, so I had a private guide through every castle and I got to call the shots (i.e breaks, lunch, extra stops, etc.). My guide was Cristi (I also went trekking with him). He was very knowledgeable about all the locations and made sure to point out interesting and historically significant locations/items. Normally, tourists go through Bran and Rasnov on their own and through Peles Castle in castle tour groups; however, since I was alone he took me inside all the castles as a private guide, so we skipped the outrageously long lines and I had personal tours through the castles. This resulted in me actually getting to see things inside Peles Castle without a huge group standing in front of me, and take the time to learn about things inside Bran Castle, which I probably would have skipped on my own because there were too many people everywhere. We discussed history, modern Romania, politics, and so on, while also joking around -- he's a joker, so be ready to laugh! It was worth every cent, even the extra solo traveler fee.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this company to anyone and everyone. They are a phenomenal group of guides and their trips will enhance your experience in Romania, summer or winter!"

Visited August 2016
 
Reviewed October 2, 2016

"We booked this tour at the last minute but we're met on time by our wonderful guide Charlie. Everything went as planned and the castle and fortress more than lived up to my expectations. Our guide Charlie was so pleasant and attentive and he made the trip so much more enjoyable. The tour was great value and I would not hesitate to book with Viator and Activetravel again."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 3, 2016

"My friend and I booked in to do 2 tours with this company. The first was to Transfagassan highway and Vlad the Impalers fort and the second was to the 3 main castles around Brasov. These tours were fantastic! Our guide was enthusiastic and an amazing source of information. He knew about the history of each location as well as the interesting facts that were connected. The tour was carried out in a comfortable vehicle and was conducted in a friendly environment with consultation on photo opportunities available. Highly recommend their tours and will definitely be using them again when I return to Brasov!"

Visited September 2016
 
Reviewed October 6, 2016

"I have taken 2 trips with these guys this week. On both occasions it was just myself and Karoly (Charlie) He was brilliant and we had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble and Charlie also helped me to buy my train ticket back to Bucharest. I cannot fault them. Please use them if you want to have a brilliant tour whilst in Brasov. No danger of cancellation as they specialise in small groups or singles/couples and will tailor the tour to suit you. Excellent value for money too. I cannot recommend them highly enough."

Visited October 2016
 
5 of 5 starsReviewed October 8, 2016

"Just finished up this tour today...had Charlie as a tour guide. It was a great deal and he is an even better guide. Funny, polite, patient, just a stand up guy. He taught us alot about the places and we had a fantastic day with him...would recommend this guide to anybody travelling to this destination."

Reviewed October 10, 2016

"By far and away our best day in Romania. We booked a day trip to Sighișoara to help us make the most of our limited time in Transylvania and see this beautiful medieval city. Along the way we visited Viscri, and Rupea on the way back- Viscri in particular was a highlight of our trip. On it's own this would have been a very good trip; it was made that much better by our guide, Dan. He was incredibly knowledgeable, as well as extremely engaging, funny and friendly. The best tours I have been on have two things in common- amazing sites to see, and brilliant guides who love what they do and the places they take you to. Suffice to say, we got both with Active Travel."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 11, 2016

"We were lucky enough to have Dan as our guide for our day trip to Sighisoara, Viscri and Rupea. We got a great look at the real Romanian countryside, plus we were serenaded by Dan along the way. Viscri has an almost "other world " feeling about it.A village with old Germanic type houses that are still quite elegant, with dirt roads running through it..Sighisoara is an example of a beautiful Romanian town.It was a very long , but fruitful day, I will always remember.Thanks Dan."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 19, 20016

"This co offers quite a wide range of tours and I joined two of them. Price relatively reasonable. The guide / driver is friendly and the car condition is pretty good. My guide took a lot of photos for us and email us back which we appreciate it a lot. Yet, he didn't speak a lot about the history and not quite conscious on toilet / meal breaks during the day. So if you are very keen to learn history / stories, my guide may not live up to your expectation. But if u love photos, want to see things efficiently on your own, you can consider them."

Visited October 2016

Reviewed October 19, 2016

"Great, actuality amazing tour. Probably the best you can get from Brasov. This agency is definitely one of the best and totally worth the money. We had as a guide Balazs Andras aka Charlie and he definitely is the best. Very professional, patient, polite and helpful! Also explained to us a lot of the history and showed us really great places! We had another tour booked to Bran Castle with the same agency, different guide, but the other guide was too hasty and rushed us through the sights, so we couldn't enjoy it. But we know better and next time we'll ask directly for Charlie!"

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 19, 2016

"We went for the 4 hours option for the bat cave and the farm tour and it was one of the best experiences we had in Romania. Marian was very friendly and took time to explain the history and culture. If you happen to be in Brasov, you should definitely joint one of his tours!"

Visited September 2016
 
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed October 21, 2016

"I would highly recommend Active travel to any potential walker. There guides Marian and Bogdan were probably the best I ever have come across. They were so informative and made you feel so welcome. I had a wonderful experience with Active travel. Thank you so much. Regards Enda."

Reviewed Otober 24, 2016

"My husband and I had an awesome time with Dan Negoescu as our tour guide. Dan is very knowledgable and you can tell he loves his job! The pace of the tour was perfect for us. We would highly recommend Dan for anyone who wants to see the sites of Transylvania. We had an amazing day and that is all thanks to Dan."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 27, 2016

"Our tour guide was Charlie and we had the best day ever. Charlie can speak fluent English, he is very knowledgeable about the area and he is great fun to spend the day with. I can't recommend this tour enough. You drive out to the carparthian mountains where you can stop anywhere along the road to take photos of the most breathtaking scenery. You will see Balea lake and a man made dam before stopping for some lunch at a picturesque restaurant at the foot of Poienari Fortress. You then take the 1500 steps to the top to see the real Vlad Tepes home. Very interesting! You then drive a different way home making it a Round-trip with plenty of interesting places along the way to see. Will definately return and ask for Charlie as he does other tours also."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed October 27, 2016

"We booked the Bran, Rasnov and Peles Castle tour and it was only me, my sister and our amazing guide Caroly (Charlie) on the tour. Charlie was helpful, informative and funny and we had such a fun day together. The tour itself was great, plenty of time to see everything at our own pace and Charlie helped us with the language when it came time to buy lunch and local cheese! Overall, a truly fantastic day. Thanks Charlie!"

Visited October 2016
 

"This is one of the best tours I have ever been on. Our guide met us in Brasov (Mihai) and we went first to Peles castle. Our guide got us in without queuing for too long. He gave us a lot of information and it was a fantastic day! My friend and I enjoyed both castles and the fortress. It is well worth adding the tour to Peles castle as I think that was my favourite part. Mihai gave us a lot of history about everywhere we went and about Romania. We did the transfagarasan highway tour the next day with the same guide and this trip was even better! We will both remember these trips for the rest of our lives. Highly recommend!"

Visited October 2016
 
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed November 7, 2016

"Had a fantastic informative day with lots of giggles. Our guide was Balasz Andras he made it a really great relaxed tour. It lasted about 5 hr and went so fast. We paid a little extra for entrance to the Torture room in Bran it was worth it ( I think )?!?"

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed November 8, 2016

"We went to Bran Castle and after that we went hiking. Our guides were fantastic and funny. They told us very interesting facts about castle and also about nature and wildlife."

Reviewed November 20, 2016

"Wow my guide Cristian was brilliant. Firstly I organised this tour 11pm the night before! Prompt email reply and sorted everything out quickly.

My guide spoke very goood English, was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of Romania, geology and wildlife. He was so kind and helped me right off the start as I didn't have the correct text footwear so we went to decathlon and he helped me find a pair of good boots. He also gave me various options of things to do to let me decide what to do besides my initial itinerary. I came from bucharest so even till the end he helped me find the platform for the train I needed.

Really great guy! Thanks for the tour."

Visited November 2016
 
Reviewed November 30, 2016

"I had some days off and wanted to do a guided solo tour in the Carpathians! I found active travel. The communication was very professional and friendly at the same time. My guide Bogdan was calling me in advance to discuss the details and also stabilize the best day in regards to the weather. So prepared we had a brilliant, sunny tour to the Malaiesti-Hut and to the Hornul Mare. It was feeling more like a tour with a friend than a guided tour. Bogdan is very experienced and he will tell you also more about the Carpathians, the history., etc...
I can highly recommend Active Travel and Bogdan as a guide!"

Visited November 2016
 
Reviewed December 9, 2016

"We had the most incredible day with Marian. He tailored the hike to suit our preferences and fitness level, and took us on an exciting and interesting route through the National Park.

The landscape changed dramatically, from mist-shrouded pine forests to sun-drenched sheep farms boasting views of snow-capped glaciers. We stopped to enjoy delicious polenta and sheep-s cheese and Marian was very informative about Romanian history.

Highly recommended!"

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed December 11, 2016

"We had a hiking and bird watching trip with Active Travel In Bran area in October 2016 and were satisfied with provided service. The customized trip was organised by professional guides according our requests. Excursion was provided on a perfect English and the safety was on a high level. We absolutely can recommend this firm as an excellent day trips' organizer for groups or individual tourists."

Visited October 2016
 
Reviewed December 13, 2016

"We spent four days in Brasov, and two of those days we were out with a tour guide seeing castles, towers, fortified churches, and more. Our tour guide was AWESOME, and he quickly became like family. He was VERY helpful, kind, knowledgeable, and fun. We would HIGHLY recommend Charlie and give him 5 stars. We really enjoyed our time with him, and thank him for a wonderful experience."

Visited November 2016
 
Reviewed December 24, 2016

"My group and I booked two day trips with Active Travel and it was absolutely perfect. The tours were amazing and customizable which made it perfect to see exactly what we wanted to see. We were able to see castles, churches, fortresses and quaint beautiful towns. What made the experience even better was our guide Charlie. He was by far the best travel guide I have ever had! He was so personable, helpful, knowledgeable, and fun! It was like being on vacation with a good friend. It was sad to say goodbye to him after the two days. He made our trip to Romania one we will never forget and I cant thank him enough! I certainly recommend him, your company and the tours to anyone visiting Romania. If return to Romania (which I really hope to do!!) I will certainly be using Active Travel. Thank you so much!"

Visited December 2016
 
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed December 25, 2016

"Marian, Thank you for the amazing tour that you organised for us! All the moments were special, like in a fairy tale. Mountains in winter time are just beautiful. I have to go back definitely!"

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed December 26, 2016

"Excellent tour! We did this tour on Christmas and Marian did everything possible to ensure that it was memorable. We told him that we were going to visit Bran Castle the following day and he even contacted us after the tour to give us more information on visiting Bran Castle. Highly recommended!"

Reviewed December 27, 2016

"Hemos estado por navidad ahora en el 2016 la agencia maravillosa y el trato espectacular... nos mando guía Español Nacho y Joanna no se puede pedir mas fantasticos."

Visited December 2016
 
Reviewed January 5, 2017

"I booked the tour through viator for a day tour to Sighisora on Dec-25. Soon after that Marian contacted me to inform me that due to x'mas, most of the sights will be closed and offer the option to refund in case we would like to cancel the tour. In the end, we still decided to go as that's the only day we were available for the tour, and Marian went all the way to call all the sights to check if any of them will be opened on 25 so we can at least see some of them!

Then on our tour day, we were lucky enough to have a private tour as we were the only person who booked on 25. Our guide, Charlie, is super nice, friendly and funny! He's so knowledgeable about the sights, and did everything he can to ensure our trip is a nice and pleasant one. He showed us hidden places too and even got me a real mistletoe (I've only seen the fake ones made of plastic since I grew up in HK...). I also mentioned that I would like to see a real fox, and he really did remember that and spotted a fox on our way back to Brasov! Charlie is more of a friend than a guide to us for sure.

This tour was simply amazing and I highly recommend anyone who's looking for a day tour from Brasov. Last but not least, the little gift we received at the end of the tour was really cute too.

Thanks Marian and Charlie for making our Romanian X'mas a wonderful one."

Visited December 2016

Reviewed January 6, 2017

"This was a wonderful tour. Dan is a lovely man and very fun, he knows the area inside out and brings a mix of good humour and information to the day. It's one of the best tours I've ever done. I don't want to spoil any of the surprises, but dan provides a few charming surprises along the way which really make the day special. Thanks dan and please look us up if you're ever in London!"

Visited December 2016
 
Reviewed January 11, 2017

"To anyone interested; I highly recommand this tour. Not only is it beautiful: some of the views were absolutely breathtaking - But we were really lucky too, because our guide, Mr Balazs Karoly ANDRAS was excellent. Very professional, has an exhaustive knowledge about Romanian history, architecture, arts, wild life and cultural facts. The tour lasted for about 4.30 hours and it went so fast. Our guide took the time to explain and would even stop his van so we could enjoy the best sights. I certainly enjoyed that little glimpse into romanian history and culture, and will definitely visit again soon. Mr guide: you're a real gentleman, I wish you the best and hope to come back to Brasov soon. BF"

Visited December 2016
Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners