You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2015

Testimonials 2015

“Brasov Trip - 01-04 JAN 2015”

01-04JAN2015 - I was in Romania and Marian of active travel , he arranged everything for me. Bucharest halfday City tour after my city tour , I travel from Bucharest to Brasov. Day trip with Marian is lifetime experience. Bran Castle, trekking and Rasnov Fortress, we eat together on romanian cuisine and drinking beer. Following day, I had skiing lesson with Christian, he is a good man , we do alot of fun in the snow. He is very good skii instructor, funny guy. He take care of me..

Thank you guys, Marian (he is a male) for making my Romanian trip as a lifetime experience.

Please maintain your professionalism and your exceptional Romanian hospitality .Keep it up guys. It's priceless when I chose Active Travel , name what you need and they arranged it for you... see you soon on summer.

Visited January 2015
 
“Video from the day trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Here is my GoPro video from the different day trips I booked with Marian at Active Travel. Fantastic guide. Very informative & treated us like family! Amazing experience. Thank you again Marian for these memories! - Craig&Rachel. http://youtu.be/Zdjo2ZUU2jQ
 

“Recomendo a empresa Active Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Eu visitei Brasov em Maio/2014 e utilizei os serviços da Active Travel para DayTour por Sibiu, Sighisoara, Bran, Castle Peles e transfer de Brasov-Bucareste. Fiz o contato com Marian que foi muito gentil e eficiente; e me auxiliou na elaboração dos roteiros. Ele respondia meus emails em nos de 30min. Nos DayTour, nosso guia foi o Vlad, outra pessoa experiente e muito educado. Eramos só 2 pessoas na maioria dos tour e nem por isso tivemos menos atenção. Em alguns tour sobrava tempo então Vlad nos sugeria algumas paradas em pontos turísticos poucos visitados no caminho para conhecermos mais a região. Recomendo a empresa para seus tour.
 

“Great, simple way to see the area!” Henry
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We arrived in Brasov by train and were keen to do some trekking and bear watching. We emailed Marian and he was really helpful and efficient: He designed a walking tour just for the two of us, showing us local culture, beautiful mountain scenery, and talking about the history of Romania. We wish we had more time (and proper walking boots!) so we could do more. He also arranged through a local park ranger to go bear-watching, which again was a fantastic experience. In both cases we were picked up in the main square, and everything was really easy and well organised. I would definitely use Active Travel again!

Visited August 2014
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Marian is a fantastic guide and great guy, we spent Thursday the 19th of Feb with him visiting Libearty the bear sanctuary followed by a trip to Bran castle and Rasnov fortress, nothing is too much trouble for Marian he even went out of his way to arrange the visit to the bear sanctuary. Romania and the Carpathian Mountains are beautiful and you'll be in safe hands with Marian and he's got some great jokes to tell.

Visited February 2015

“Amazing guided trek!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I booked with Marian at Active Travel because of the recommendations on here, and I was not disappointed! I organised everything via email from the UK, was kept well informed and it was great value! Marian was wonderful on the day, the trek in the National Park was beautiful and it was clear how much he loves the outdoors and sharing this with others. Very knowledgeable and told us lots about his country, lovely to see how proud he is of the place and his people, will definitely keep in touch with him!

Visited February 2015
 

“Stag Do ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Organising activities for a stag party of 12 in Romania was something I was apprehensive about, there is a certain expectation as the best man to deliver... I got in touch with Marian back in Nov. and he has been invaluable to the success of our trip. Marian came forward with a menu of tailored activities suitable for our group, his replies were prompt (often immediate), and knowledge of Brasov second to none. Anyone who has organised a stag or hen will be familiar with having plans change, people dropping out/ joining last minute and chasing money! - We experienced all of these hassles, a Marian was always complety flexible.

 

As for the activity- we chose to do an afternoon of snowmobiling, which was excellent! We had 6 snowmobiles between the group and were led by two guides plus Marian. The route took us into the forest following narrow trails up the mountain, the scenery was stunning!

 

In summary I can not rate Marian highly enough, he is friendly, knowledgable and professional. I hope to return in the future and will definitely use his services again.

Visited March 2015
 

“A perfect tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My partner and I wanted to know a bit more about Brasov and surroundings, and we saw this company advertised in a map handed by the tourist info people, so we called them for their Bran castle - Rasnov fortress tour. We couldn't be happier about it; the service was excellent from the very moment we got on the phone with them, and our guide Bogdan was just perfect! Punctual, knowledgeable, friendly and patient, he taught us a whole mountain of facts and fun about not only the fortresses but the whole Romania.

I just wish we had time for more of their activities :D Very highly recommended!

Visited March 2015
 
“Half day tour of brasov area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I emailed Marian one day before our visit to Romania after seeing reviews on this site, and told him we were planning a day trip to Brasov. He emailed straigh back and kept in continual contact while our plans evolved and changed. We were met by Vlad at Brasov station and he took us to Bran Castle and Rasnov. Very knowledageable and enthusuastic.

Visited March 2015

 

“Bran / Rasov / Zarnesti Bear Sanctury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We chose to take a guided tour of some sights around Brasov because we had a very limited amount of time to spend there, and needed to cram a lot into a short space of time. So I made a last minute call to Active Travel to enquire about a tour, and an hour later my girlfriend and I were on our way.

Price was €70 for both of us which is seemed a bit on the expensive side, but i suppose if you consider the cost of hiring a car and sat nav, paying for petrol and then trying to find your own way around the countryside, €70 for two people to be driven around all day doesn't seem like such bad value after all!

Our guide Kartsi is obviously a guy who likes his job a lot. He has excellent English, and he was very professional, very friendly, and hugely informative, - a veritable mine of information both on the castles we visited, as well as lots as other interesting anecdotes and information. We chatted to him all day - asking all about Romania - how the country has changed over the years, and what life was like there for locals in the country and for city people today and in years gone by.

I knew relatively little about Transylvania and Romania before my visit, this is another part of the reason I chose to take this kind of tour, and I have to say, i would strongly recomend it for this reason. You get a fantastic feel for the place and its people this way - something not possible from simply reading a guide book and taking busses around. Well worth the price of the tour.

Thanks Kartsi for a great tour and for taking lots of great photos :)

Visited March 2015
 
“A fantastic day hike near Brasov”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Marian was fantastic in organising a day trip into the mountains at only a few hours notice, we emailed him at 9pm and a guide was waiting for us at our hotel at 9am. Christian was abreast guide and took us on a wonderful and at times challenging day hike, pointing out animal tacks and providing all sorts of insights into the mountains and Romania. We finished off with a traditional lunch at a local guesthouse on our way down. Thanks for the day

Visited April 2015
 
“Affordable, tailor-made, lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I had only a few hours in Brasov in the evening time. In order to see as much as possible in the short time I had, I booked an individual tour with the Active Travel. My designated guide was Kartsi, who is a local to Brasov.

Kartsi met me with his car. The tour was 70% walking, and the rest driving around the city. I think we pretty much covered all the main sights. With the time left Kartsi invited me for a cup of tea near the train station, so I could go directly to get my luggage from the storage room and then take the train.

After the tea, Kartsi walked me to the luggage storage room only to find that the train station employee was not there and I could not get the luggage, while my train was about to leave. I and Kartsi were running around like crazy asking everyone around for this irresponsible employee. Two minutes before my train he finally appeared and I raced to the train track. I managed to get my train. But I was so so thankful to Kartsi for not leaving me alone.

Recommended!

Visited March 2015
 
Reviewed May 12, 2015 NEW via mobile

I booked my 1-day trekking with Active Travel while I was in Singapore 6 weeks ahead and Marian was very responsive and helpful in choosing the appropriate route for the season. He convinced me to do the Piatra Craiului moderate level as I just came from running the Prague Marathon. The trek was sensational! It was moderately challenging at first (about 700m elevation gained in the first 90min) then it became easier as we reached a plateau where I had good view of the Piatra Craului ridge and then further walk in the woods you will see a sheep farm, several gorges, streams, limestone rock formations, spring flowers, evidence of where wild boars have been foraging, etc. Marian is a licensed mountain guide and knows the area very well (and how to avoid bear encounters!). He was also very knowledgeable in geology (explained why the rock formations are such), flora and fauna. It was a beautiful 1-day trek that exceeded my expectations. So good I wouldn’t mind doing it again with Active Travel -- from the planning to the execution, it was just flawless. Very professionally done!
 

 Reviewed May 25, 2015

A great walk with excellent guide Marian, starting from Bran and heading towards Piatra Craiului. Very varied through woods, hills and small villages. Great views throughout, very tranquil and lots of interest to see. Really benefited from being accompanied by Marian, who is very knowledgeable about the area and good company. Stayed in vg guesthouse where food included fresh cheese and hams etc from the owners' farm. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2015
 
Reviewed May 25, 2015

We booked a day hike and weren't sure what to expect, our expectations were exceeded! Marian customized our hike based on what we were looking to do and we had an excellent day of hiking on all different types of terrain. On the way back to Brasov we stopped and Marian toured us through the Bran Castle (an unexpected bonus). It was a fun filled day, not only did we see and do a lot, we learned a lot too! Whatever type of adventure you're looking for in Romania, Active Travel can make it happen.

Visited May 2015
 
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Even though we only gave a day’s notice to Active Travel, they where able to arrange us private hike to Piatra Craiului National Park. Our mountain guide Christian picked us up from the Hotel at 9am from Brasov old town. We had about 1 hours car ride to the park which flew by very quickly with him filling time with stories about Brasov, Transylvania and Romania.

Hike had challenging climbs for someone from a flat country but on the other hand it lead us to breathtaking views. We even saw bear footprints on the trail. He gave us amazing local experience by taking us to a farm where we had traditional Romanian food and got some rest.
On the way back we took another road to Brasov and found our the more about the areas close by. Later on I checked from gps tracker that total ascent was 831m and length of the trail was about 16,5km.
Thank you Cristian for being great guide and storyteller. You made our trip to Transylvania unforgettable.

Visited May 2015
 
Reviewed May 26, 2015

We recently finished a day long trek with Marian in Piatra Craiului National Park in Transylvania. My partner and I and our daughter (age 11) joined Marian on a lovely day hiking in the mountains. The day was gorgeous and we saw stunning mountain scenery, having lunch at Curmatura Hut before heading back down through sheep meadows and forests.

Marian was a supremely knowledgeable and fun guide for all of us. He knew the mountains well and was a great source of information and local wisdom. He offered really good natural history details covering things from wildflowers and wild edibles, to geology, mammals, and finding small springs to fill our water bottles. One thing that touched our daughter (and ourselves) was that when we found a snail along the park road, Marian moved it to the side so it wouldn't get hurt. He is an advocate for the mountains and shows his passion in his work and the wild beauty of Romania.

Marian was extremely helpful setting up the trip and was super responsive to all our inquiries. He picked us up right on time from the flat we were renting in Brasov and was happy to spend as much time as we liked during the day, even suggesting other places of interest to visit. He was great with our daughter, has a great sense of humor and was a lot of fun to be with. It was a brilliant day. After we returned he helped us sort out an airport shuttle back to Bucharest while standing along a street in Brasov.

Marian has several tours of various difficulties across Romania and we would return without hesitation to spend more time with him on any his treks. Thanks Marian for top notch guide services in the Carpathians.

Visited May 2015

 

Reviewed June 13, 2015

Trekking the Piatra Craiului National Park is one of the finest way to spend your time while visiting the Brasov area. What's even more great about this tour is that we had alongside with us Marian, a great person and a true professional who made our trip a lasting memory.

We were picked by Marian in the morning from the railway station and then travelled by car to the Piatra Craiului National Park base camp. From this point we initiated our one day long journey in the reservation. We started our ascending with our first stop at the Curmatura hut, a great place to take a short break and enjoy the surrounding landscape. Here we also had a great lunch and this should not be missed as the hut has a great and tasty menu.

Our journey rolled on by arriving at the highest point in the reservation and then beginning our descending. Throughout this time Marian shared us useful information and stories about mountain life.

We ended the tour around 18:00 pm with Marian taking us back to Brasov while stopping for a quick visit at the Rasnov castle.

This tour should not be missed. It's a MUST. Thank you again Marian for a great day. I will be returning soon for a new mountain trekking session.

Cheers,
Alex

Visited May 2015
 

My day trip with Marian was excellent! Highly recommended for everyone.
From my first contact with Marian, everything was perfect. His quick responses meant I was able to plan out my trip to Brasov easily and quickly.
The tour itself was better than I could have imagined. This was my first time hiking with a mountain guide. Because Marian was there I didnt have to spend my time searching for the next sign to direct me where to go and instead I could just absorb the amazingly beautiful scenery Transylvania has to offer!
Marian is very knowledgeable, funny and goes that extra mile to make you feel comfortable and enjoy every minute of your tour. Thank you Marian for a terrific day! I will be back for more hiking adventures with you in the near future.

Visited June 2015
 
Reviewed June 27, 2015

We were in Brasov and wanted to hike in the 7 Ladders Canyon. We are used to doing things by ourselves but transport requirements made this one impossible. Then we found Active Travel on the web. We visited their shop at Str. Toamnei 2 and met Marian who advised us that in two days time he was taking another hiker to 7 Ladders Canyon and Peles Castle. Would we like to come also for just 35 euro each + entry fees? Marian collected us up from our accommodation in his late model SUV and off we went - first for a tour of Peles Castle and then to hike the 7 Ladders Canyon. He was knowledgable and informative and of course new all the tricks and tracks. We couldn't have done it without Marian and active Travel Romania. Check them out here - www.activetravel.ro - very highly recommended.

Visited June 2015
 
Reviewed July 7, 2015

We had never been in the mountains before, except a short drive into the Italian Dolomites, and are not particularly sporty, so we were looking for a more leisurely (but not lazy) trek in the mountains that our young daughter could complete and that would not dilute the joy of interacting with nature by difficult trekking. Marian (our Active Travel guide) offered us a trail that took all day but was not too tiring. Yes, we were pretty exhausted at the end of the 6-hour walk, but Marian had explained the route beforehand and offered an easier alternative so that we could make a decision before it was too late to turn back. This was a multi-generation trip for us, including a 7-year old girl, her 56-year old grandma and two mid-30 adults without any special training or equipment (the only prerequisite was having proper hiking boots). Marian was very friendly and established a good connection with our daughter, which helped her overcome tiredness at the end of the trek and keep on walking. The scenery was absolutely amazing, impossible to describe with words. We passed a canyon, climbed flower-filled hills, walked in wild forests, even stopped by some shepherds and tasted fresh cheese and a yoghurt drink (reminded us of Kefir) that you'll never find in stores. This visit was not planned, but Marian said that it is generally possible to book a more extensive stay with shepherds in advance. Marian knows the area well and provided interesting facts about it. He was extremely patient with us (we had to stop quite frequently because of our daughter). He also had booked a B&B in a mountain village for us and kept us company for the rest of the evening, which we found very pleasant. Our whole family was utterly impressed by both the natural beauty of the trail and the support provided by Marian. We definitely want to walk with Marian again and would highly recommend Active Travel!

Visited June 2015
 
Reviewed July 21, 2015

We booked 3 excursions with Marian: visits to Bran & Peles Castles, the Transfagarasan road and trekking Piatra Craiului. It was worth every cent. We had a fantastic time. The excursions were not that difficult (we were a couple and a 12 year old son). For the trekking it's a must a good pair of walking boots and a camera to take in the beautiful scenery. Our guide Bogdan was very kind and helpful and went out of his way to show us the beauty of the region. His knowledge of Romania and everything Romanian is vast and we learnt a lot of things from him. Thanks for everything and we recommend these tours to anyone visiting Brasov.

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed July 25, 2015

I really enjoyed much doing 3 Active Travel Day Tours, when I was in Brasov. It is simply the easiest and best way to explore the wonderful mountain regions around Brasov or the cultural highlights around. For example you can see real beautiful rural villages like Viscri (with its beautiful fortified church) or do a hike trip to the 7-ladders-canyon, where you can even go into an ice cave.

All guides (Bogdan, Balasz) are really nice, experienced, entertaining and can give a lot of interesting informations.
The organisation of Marian was always perfekt - friendly and quick replies.

I can recommand everyone in Brasov to try this out. It's worth the money. Just note, that at least 2 people are required to book such a tour.

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed July 27, 2015

Travelling with a group of friends we booked a day of hiking and then going to look at the Bears. Our guide was Bogdan and he made the trip as he was friendly, funny and very knowledgable. We had a mixture of fitness and hiking experience in the group so Bogdan tailored the walk to suit us. The views were absolutely breathtaking and we absolutely loved the day. I would recommend these trips to all as it was the best part of my week in Romania. Thanks Bogdan

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed July 27, 2015

I booked the active tour online. I picked the 3 castles in one day ( Rasnov Fortress, Bran Castle, Pelles Castle) leaving from the historic old town Piata in Brasov. Our tour guide was Cristian Caprioara and he was incredible! He had so much information on what we saw and showed us other sites as we drove along. We only had 4 on our tour so it was a very personalized and friendly experience. I was amazed at how much knowledge Cristian provided our group. Excellent tour and amazing guide - highly recommend!

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed July 29, 2015 

Kartsi was like a new friend from the beginning. Very personable and very knowledgable. He picked us up from our hotel and showed us whatever it was we wanted. He took us to an out of the way cheese and sausage shop, pointed out the post office, and showed us where to catch the shuttle to the airport. In between, he was happy to talk about many subjects, all with enthusiasm. He introduced us to my favorite restaurant in Brasov (Festival) and a cool place to get drinks (Jekelius). Check them out! I was lucky enough to have an additional tour with Kartsi. We went to Peles Palace and to the monastery. It was like he had seen these places for the first time along side me. I was impressed with his great attitude. He was awesome enough to tell me a few Romanian ghost stories on our trip. We got a lot of walking in, as we had to navigate around a speed rally happening in the streets. He's a great photographer too. Then when the tour was over, he helped me with the times for the organ concert at the Black Church and where to go horseback riding. He went above and beyond! My trip was all the better for it! I will contact him again when I return to Romania.

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed August 1, 2015

Had a great time hiking the National Park. Marian was a great guide that tailors the hike according to your experience level. For me, I was a beginner, so Marian was patient and understanding along the way if I needed to slow down or stop for a rest. The weather was quite warm, but the scenery more than made up for it. The park was really beautiful.

Because I decided not to hike to the peak of the mountain and we had some time to spare, Marian was kind enough to show me Poiana Brasov and Rasnov Citadel on the way back. Highly recommend this company, I will definitely use them again. Although I was very sore the next day, I'm inspired to start hiking more regularly!

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed August 7, 2015

No estoy en forma, lo pasé físicamente fatal, pero la experiencia fue formidable. me siento muy contento de haber conocido a Marian y una parte de los Carpatos.

Visited July 2015
 
Reviewed August 9, 2015

We took the Rupea - Viscri - Sighisoara trip last minute. We were going to take the train and were so glad we didn't as we had a fantastic day. Our guide (Kartsi I think, he let me call him Charlie) really made our day. He was excellent and we laughed through much of the day. Thank you so much Charlie! :)

Visited August 2015
 
Reviewed August 12, 2015

We had a great tour of Bran Castle, the Rasnov Fortress and (optional) Peles palace. Felt that Peles was the best of the day as it was full of fascinating weapons, intricate carved wooden pieces and an architecturally stunning setting both inside and out. Our guide was the best and he went above and beyond and had our tickets ahead of time for us, saving a ton of time! Perfect!

Visited August 2015
 
Reviewed August 25, 2015

"Marian and Daniel put together two days for my girlfriend and I while we were staying in Brasov.
We emailed in advance, suggesting the things we wanted to see and do around Brasov: mostly hiking, but other aspects as well.
They put together two perfect days, appropriate for our fitness level and broader interests. The plan was also flexible as we went, Daniel adding in things when we had time.
In two days, we covered Piatra Crailului, the Seven Ladders (and zip-lining down), local shepherd's cheese, a local Romanian village, Rasnov castle, and a tour of the centre of Brasov.
Daniel was was friendly and engaging. He proved to be a fantastic guide who knew everything about: Brasov/Transylvanian/Saxon/Romanian history; the hiking trails around Brasov; and the local flora and fauna.
Active Travel will ensure that you get to see and do exactly what you want to."

Visited August 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

"The guide, Balazs was so relaxed but yet knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the sights we visited. He provided so much information not only about the sites but about Transylvania and Romanian life in general. He was very patient and helpful as I have a balance disability."
 

Reviewed September 22, 2015

"We booked a 7 day hiking and cultural tour with active travel in the mountains with our base in Moeciu which was really excellent. The scenery and hiking was stunning. Our guide Christian was brilliant, very knowledgeable, honest and helpful (any request we had for him was met with the answer "anything is possible"). The accommodation was superb in a beautiful guest house with very warm and welcoming hosts where we were really made feel at home. The whole trip was flawless and we really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it."

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed September 24, 2015

"My girlfriend and I booked 3 day tours with Active Travel. The first tour was the castles tour, we had a lot of fun with our guide Kirtsi, who has tremendous knowledge about the places we visited (history, geography and more...). We saw Bran Castle, Peleș Castle and also Râșnov Citadel. He's really cool, he offered to take our picture whenever we wanted to (I think he's an expert with my camera now...).

The next day we took the tour to Sighișoara, Viscri and Rupea, our guide was Imola. We had lots of fun with her as well, again very knowledgeable on many topics. We really explored the beautiful old town of Sighișoara and got all the info about the town and about the Saxon traditions and way of life in Transylvania.

Our third and last tour was the one with the most beautiful scenery as we climbed up the Carpathian Mountains on the beautiful Transfăgărășan road. The view from Balea lake was spectacular and our guide was... our friend Kirtsi. We really enjoyed ourselves (despite quite a bit of stair climbing in Poienari Fortress, although on our way down seeing the faces of the people climbing up was amusing :-) ). We can't thank Kirtsi enough as he took our pictures (again), and was helpful with every question or need we had.

They were 3 incredible days, with lots of beautiful places and scenery, a lot of knowledge acquired and lots of laughs with Kirtsi and Imola from Active Travel Day Tours. We highly recommend the tours for anyone visiting Brașov and if you are visiting Romania for a short period like we were go for it for sure!"

Visited September 2015
Reviewed September 25, 2015

"The day tour begins at Bran Castle known as Dracula's Castle, a very beautiful Castle in a very beautiful place. The Castle that Regina Maria of Romania spend a lot of her time. After there is a visit at Rasnov fortress a "peoples" small city fortress for protection of Othomans invasions.Finally we visit Peles Palace at the wonderfull small city of Sinaia. This is a "recent"monument used by the first King of Romania as a summer Palace. There was a fantastic day plenty of nature and experiences. Our guide Kartsi an excellent knower of this places and with deep education. At the end of our tour there was an extra surprise for us. Kartsi drive us to a typical Romanian restaurant at the mountains with excelleny view and kitchen.A day to remember !"

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed September 26, 2015

"Prompt, friendly, reputable company/guide with an emphasis on sustainable tourism/Eco-tourism. We emailed last minute and asked Marian about taking a tour (with a customized twist). He was very flexible, helpful, and friendly! Had a wonderful day seeing Bran Castle, sampling homemade cheese at a local guest house, exploring a hidden cave with bats, and finally bear watching. It was all we could hope for and more. I would highly recommend this reputable company!"

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed September 29, 2015

"Christian was our guide and he was really excellent - great English, extremely knowledgeable and very honest. He guided us in line with our ability and always checked in to make sure that we were doing well and having a good time. The mountains of Bucegi are very beautiful but to enjoy them to the max and for piece of mind I recommend a guide. I couldn't recommend Active Travel and Christian enough - Super team."

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed October 7, 2015

"My wife and I got a chance to take a tour for a day with Marian. He is an amazing guide! We ended up not having the right gear for the tour we booked. He went with the flow and quickly made a plan for the day. We got to see a beautiful national park and drive to Dracula's Castle. Thanks for an excellent day!"

Visited October 2015
 
 Reviewed October 11, 2015

"We went with 2 other families for a (light) treck weekend close to Bran, which Marian had organized for us - 6 adults, and 9 children, aged 4-14.
Program was: walk, bat cave visit (really cool and not touristy at all), cheese tasting, overnight stay in a guest house, and mushrooms picking.
Marian was very flexible so all could enjoy the stay, he taught us lots about the area and beyond, told us about what to do/not to do with regards to bears, etc.
It has been a very pleasant weekend for all, and as he proposes many different activities -all nature related, and as sporty as you wish- we recommend Marian to anyone wanting to discover the beautiful wildness of Romania!
Diane and family"

Visited October 2015
 
 Reviewed October 13, 2015

"We did two tours with Active Travel and both of them were fantastic. Two-days tour in the Carpathians mountains was a perfect. Our guide was very nice, good-talking and cool. He discover us fantastic places in that days. The guesthouse where we sleep that night was awesome.
The bear-watching experience was great too.
The communication with the agency is simply perfect, quick and watchful."

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed October 15, 2015

We are very satisfied with the services of the tour. The tour guide, Andras, was rather attentive and friendly, he even invited us to have the typical sweet snack of the area.
His English was perfectly understandable, he gave us very curious information and he was willing to answer every question about the country.

Both Bran and Rasnov are worth visiting.

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 16, 2015

"I went to active travel to see if I could join a group for a hiking tour and luckily a couple was going as well. We had a great time hiking. Also, I could leave my luggage with Marian and he picked me up from The endpoint of the tour and brought me to the train station. Great service! We went with guide Cristian. Highly recommended."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 16, 2015

"Active Travel helped us to make our trip to Romania a successful one. They picked us up from Bucharest airport, drove to Brasov where we stayed for 5 days, had daytrips to medieval towns and places and saw a lot more. We are very happy with their services and recommend them to all visiting Brasov.
Edward Azavedo, Stockholm, Sweden, October 2015"

Visited October 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Booked a trip with Marian (Active Travel) who was really helpful and always available to answer questions. Went on a trip in the Bugeci montains with Cristian mid-October and it was amazing. I would really recommend it. Cristian was always willing to answer our questions and was guiding us through Romanian's history and lanscapes. Really interesting.

Visited October 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

"Active travel made my experience unforgettable. My tour guide at Brasov was amazing and super friendly. I got to know places I never dream of. Please do not doubt to book any tours with them."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 26, 2015

"We went on a medium trek hike with Bogdan. It was a wonderful experience. We were able to experience the beauty of Romania in the fall and hear Romania's history as we were not very familiar. Bogdan and Marian did an excellent job of answering all our questions and tailoring the hike to our specific experience level. The only advice I would give is to bring all the equipment suggested in the trek online this is not a suggestion you will need it depending on how much trekking you want to do."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 27, 2015

"I give our tour guide, Cristian C. an excellent review. Full of knowledge and an interesting and engaging guide. Our tour to Rasnov and Bran was well organized, the guide was punctual, drove us through various local places on the way to our destination explaining things thoroughly. He chose an excellent local traditional Romanian restaurant for lunch. It could not have been any better. Highly recommend!"

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 29, 2015

"This was our first visit to Transylvania. We had a relatively large group of about a dozen people with varying physical capabilities. Marian was able to tailor a day hike to accommodate everyone. We had a really wonderful hike – Nice sceneries, enough elevations to get a good workout, and learning about the lifestyles of the locals.

Both tour guides, Marian and Charlie, were very hospitable and attentive to our needs. We paused at many scenic spots to take pictures. We were never rushed. They were eager to introduce anything of historic or cultural significance along the way, which helped us appreciate what we saw and made the trip immensely more enjoyable.

I highly recommend Active Travel for your travel needs in Romania. Its staff exhibited energy, dedication, and professionalism throughout our journey. That certainly made a difference between a good and great trip."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 29, 2015

"Our group have had a fanatic time in Brasov. We had lots of fun and also a chance to get to know the country, history, culture and mingle with local people. Unforgettable wine tasting and hiking around the local village where we had close encounter with the cows and sheep herd.

All of these will not be made possible without our tour guide Kartsi (Charlie) and Marian the owner who acted more like a local friend than a guide. They went extra miles by giving us the attention to minute details and extending their hours escorting us touring the city at night.

I highly recommend them to anyone who demands nothing but the best service...and friendship."

Justin

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed October 30, 2015

"We went with Active Travel Day Tours for our first time in Romania and that was a wise choice. The owner Marian is very accommodating to our last minute change and needs. He really demonstrates professionalism and we appreciate that. Together with our guide Charlie, they went out of their way to help us with luggage (a group of over a dozen) to three floors up without elevators. During the day tour on Transylvanian Road, Charlie suggested frequent stops at nice spots for us to take pictures. He explains the history of it along the way. He accompanied us to hike up the fortress in order to get a spectacular view of Transylvanian Road and the town below. With the fall foliage along the way, breathtaking scenaries as well as smooth ride by our driver, we enjoyed the day to its fullest. We will never forget the friendliness and smiling faces of Marian and Charlie which make the trip most enjoyable. I would highly recommend Active Travel for anyone seeking a pleasant and memorable tour in Romania."

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed November 3, 2015

"This tour was wonderful! The tour guide Balazs Karoly, was very helpful, friendly and his knowledge about Romania and these specific sights was incredible. He went above and beyond for us and was very patient with us and our two children of under 3 years. He made us feel very comfortable being in a foreign country. This tour was definitely worth it. The sights were beautiful and rich with history. I would encourage others to add the Peles castle, it was extraordinarily beautiful and definitely worth it. I would definitely recommend this trip to anybody. I wish i can go back!! Thanks Balaz! You were awesome!"

Visited October 2015
 

Reviewed November 7, 2015

"We used Active Travel for our first visit to Romania--we wanted to do independent hiking in the Carpathian mountains but needed support with accommodations, where to hike and so forth. Active Travel provided trail maps, detailed instructions, and transportation to the trails as needed. We were also very pleased with the accommodations Active Travel organized for us. We enjoyed meeting Marian and Kartsi--very personable and accommodating to work with. Highly recommend Active Travel."

Visited October 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

"Marian was extremely responsive to our enquiry. moise was a great guide. We drove through the autumn foliage along transfagaran road and up to belea lake. great hike up to one of the mountains bedside, beautiful trek with a little snow and ended with autumn lakes."

 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

"Had a lovely day with Cristian! He picked us up at our accommodations on time and was a pleasant and knowledgable guide. Great to explore with someone so experienced and who really loves what he does!"
 

Reviewed 1 week ago

"Got a tour with Karoly and it was completely perfect! he was so enthusiastic about the tour, explaining everything around me, a great lover of Romania and proud Brasov citizen. We visited Peles, Bran Castle and the medieval fortress in Rasov, he was very kind, one thing that was really great was that he explained me a lot of things that the guides in the castles didn't mentioned, he´s so well prepared, that made so rich my visit, he told me a lot of the Romania´s history and when I got to my hotel I started to do a research! a lovely day!! thank you very much!!!"

Visited October 2015
 
Reviewed 2 days ago

"We were fortunate indeed to have Charley as our guide to explore Bran Castle and the Rasnov Fortress. But before we left Brasov, Charley was happy to include the Black Church and a visit to the local market. Charley proved himself to be a relaxed, knowledgable and friendly guide. The day was well planned: time to see the sights, but also to spend a lovely time chatting over lunch! We thoroughly enjoyed the day: the sights, the countryside, Charley's interesting information and anecdotes and the incidentals along the way! I have no hesitation in recommending Active Travel to help you organise the tour or sightseeing you're looking for. Will look to this company if travelling in Romania once more."

Visited November 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

"We had a wonderful time with Karoly! The first day he took us to Bran, Rasnov and the Valea Cetati cave. On the second day, we went to Sinaia and visited the marvellous Peles Castle. What to say... Karoly was handful and very experienced!"
 

Reviewed December 10, 2015

"I found Active Travel Day Tours while researching places to hike around Brasov. We're normally comfortable heading out on our own, but wanted to maximize our limited time in town. Marian responded to my email inquiries immediately (always under an hour) and planned a day hike for us. Our guide Cristoph was fantastic and prompt, knowledgeable about the area, and a true outdoorsman. When we got back to our hotel, we decided to take a tour the following day of Bran Castle, and Marian set us up with another great guide, Moire, on short notice. Excellent service, trustworthy company and people."

Visited November 2015
 
Reviewed December 29, 2015

"We had a great time with our guide Kartsi in Sibiu. He was not only very knowledgeable and friendly, but very punctual as well! He recommended me a book to read when I shared with him that I am very interested to know more about Romania and even tried to help me find it during the trip but unfortunately, it was unavailable. We also enjoyed our many conversation with him!
As for the tour itself, it was very well planned and we managed to cover many grounds and attractions. Kartsi was very nice to bring us to the Orthodox church which wasn't part of the tour. He also brought us to a wonderful restaurant for lunch and to a nice cafe for cakes after!
We had a great day in Sibiu thanks to Kartsi and Active Travel. Highly recommended and will definitely look to this company the next time we visit Romania!"

Visited December 2015
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

"We did two day tours with Christian. He was great, told us about the history of Romania, particularly the Transylvania region, had good restaurant and food recommendations, and answered all the questions we could think of."

 
Reviewed December 29, 2015

"I'm a few months behind in writing this review, but wanted to share the great experience I had with Active Travel day tours. I booked a private tour very last minute to the Transfagarasan, Balea Lac & Poenari Fortress. Charlie was a fantastic guide, very personable and knowledgeable about Romania. Although this was a very long day, Charlie never tired of sharing his experiences with me. I hope to return to Brasov in the future and would love to take another tour with Active Travel - likely one of their recommended hiking tours!"

Visited September 2015
 
Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

"Booked trip to Bran and Rasnov through Viator. Ended up being picked up from hotel and dropped at the bus stop for our bus home. Traveled in a car with partner and guide as only the 2 of us. Opted for additional trip to Peles and well worth it. Guide not only drove us but gave tour of Bran and Rasnov. Also great photos and great advice on entrance options etc."

Visited December 2015
Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners