You are here: » About us » Testimonials » Testimonials 2014

Testimonials 2014

“A great way of seeing real Romania in a few days”

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Have just returned from a great week organised by Active Travel. Two majestic mountain treks, and a pleasant half day hike in Transylvania followed by a relaxing three days exploring (by boat) the impressive Danube delta. Cristian and Marian did a great job in ensuring that we stayed in high quality accommodation which typified the areas in which we travelled, as such we were able to sample the best local cuisine and spend time with REAL people. Every day was planned to perfection and Cristian even managed to give us an un-scheduled tour of Bucharest on our day of departure (because we arrived early for our flight home), further evidence that Active Travel have a very high commitment to ensuring their customers leave Romania with very positive memories.

Visited June 2014

“Amazing experience in Transilvania”

Reviewed July 4, 2014

My mother and I took 4 consecutive tours from Active Travel Day Tours - Transfagarasan road and Poienari Fortress, Sibiu, Sighisoara / Viscri / Rupea Fortress, and Bran Castle / Rasnov Fortress / Pele Castle. Everything was great, the visits were very interesting and our guide Cristian was very nice. We had a feeling that we were guided in the country by an old local friend :) and Cristian shared with us a lot of information about the culture and history, in addition to being very flexible with our interests. We enjoyed very much our experience in Romenia / Transilvania.

Visited June 2014

“Authentic Transylvania at your fingertips!”

Reviewed July 7, 2014

I took two day trips with Cristian from Active Travel Day Tours and both were absolutely fantastic! Cristian was incredibly friendly and really went the extra mile during the tours even tailoring a special day tour to include a place I really wanted to visit. I particularly enjoyed how he worked hard to show me aspects of everyday romanian culture outside of the touristic spots. It enabled me to better appreciate the beauty of the culture of Transylvania. As for the booking, Marian was extremely responsive via email and helped arrange everything at a short notice. Active Travel really did a great job! I would highly recommend them to anyone visiting Brasov.


“2 days mountain climbing.”

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Marian Tirla made our Romanian experience even better than we thought it would be. He quickly adapted to our enthusiasm and willingness for physical activity and exploring, so pretty soon we found ourselves in really amazing places tourists often don't even reach. Together with him we met really helpful, nice and warm - hearted Romanian people who made our trip to Romania unforgettable. Marian also helped to solve our accidental problem - we had our tyre broken, but with his help we could continue our trip without any problems. So we truly advise Marian to everyone willing to experience the best of Romania.


Thank you!
Gunta and Laura

Visited July 2014

“Castles and citadels”

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had two tours, two days in a row, Friday with Vlad and Saturday with Christian. Both tours were good, both guides were good. First tour was to Sighisoara, Rupea fortress and viscri Saxon village. Second tour to Rasnov and Bram's Castle. The Guides knew the history well.

There are many options to choose from on tours... and I really suggest that those wanting the tours to do some background reading on the history to make the best choice. We did so, and we're able to understand the history better.

By the way, you need to pay for all entrances to museums , castles and churches, since the tour fee does not cover these entry tickets nor lunch.

Strongly not recommend if you we using a wheelchair. A lot of climbing involved, if not slopes.

Visited August 2014


"Wonderful Transylvania”

Reviewed August 24, 2014

Active Travel arranged a superb itinerary for our four days walking in the Carpathians, and looked after the four of us , incredibly well, from picking us up at Bucharest and dropping us off at Zalanpatak. Christian ensured that we were fully prepared for each of the walks, and met us at the end of each day to introduce us to our guest house hosts. We really appreciated his attention to detail, sense of humour and huge patience answering all our questions about his fascinating country. Transylvania is stunning and the Romanians are very welcoming so we hope to walk in Romania again, and definitely recommend Active Travel for their excellent service.

Visited August 2014


“Amazing family trek”

Reviewed August 29, 2014

This two day trek in the mountains was the best experience we had in lovely Romania. Marian organised a trek that perfectly suited our family of parents and 3 kids (the youngest in a backpack), constantly adapting the route to our needs. We experienced the most beautiful scenery, fantastic views and very interesting and diverse landscapes. We visited a working sheep farm, and slept in a charming and simple guesthouse in a small village. Hiking the whole way was sometimes a challenging experience with the little one on the back, but totally worth it. The older boys (9,11 y) were very happy to walk and to pick wild strawberries and blueberries on their way. Marian was kind and attentive to all our needs, and a great person to talk to on the way. I highly recommend this experience to anyone.


“Lovely!”

Reviewed September 8, 2014

We booked 4 tours through this company for our visit to Brasov:
* Bran Castle (a.k.a. Dracula's Castle)& Rasnov Fortress
* Rhein Azuga Cellar 1892 & Sinaia
* Transfagarasan road & Poienari Fortress
* Sighisoara, Viscri & Rupea Fortress

All correspondence arranging the tour from the UK was very straightforward and our guide Christian was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about everywhere we visited and went out of his way to be helpful (e.g. taking us to the right shop when the memory card for the camera ran out and we needed a new one)


We loved the tours so much we even added on a 5th tour for bear watching!

Highly recommended – Transylvania is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever visited and we couldn’t have seen anything near as much on our own. Good value for money too!

Visited September 2014


“Wonderful time exploring Romania”

Reviewed September 18, 2014

We greatly enjoyed 2 tours and a bear watching evening with Christian. The first day (in the Piatra Craiului National park) was a brilliant 5 hour walk up the stunning Zarnesti gorge, across the high pastures to a sheep farm then down through the very pretty villages of Pestera and Magura. We stopped for lunch at one of the farmhouses. The second day was a drive with Christian to Sighisoara (via the Rupea fortress and the beautiful village of Viscri). We returned through a gorgeous landscape of quiet back roads and visited a family with an old water mill. Both these days were fantastic - a highlight of our holiday - and we learned much about Romania talking to Christian. The bear watching at a hide one evening was also a success; we saw 10 bears, one of them with 2 cubs. We thoroughly recommend Christian as a very safe, conscientious and considerate guide.

Visited September 2014

“Amazing”

Reviewed September 18, 2014

I did two day-treks on the most astonishing landscapes of the Transilvanian mountains. I would recommend this company for everybody looking for an unforgettable experience: the guides are experienced, and the tours can be adapted at any time to the particular needs of anyone, and most of all, you will feel like hiking with a friend.

A good investment if you are planning to discover the Rumanian mountains.

Visited September 2014


I miss Romania so much. We still can't believe how beautiful everyday was. We were so lucky to have you with us. I wish we had more pictures with you-we tell everyone how great you were to us!

Rachel and Craig - USA
Visited October 2014

Book day tours in the agency or at our Preferred Partners